Customer Reviews for

The Mage in Black (Sabina Kane Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The Mage in Black further defines the fascinating unique "Wellsian" mythos

In a world when mortals don't know that vampires, werewolves, faeries, and mages exist, Sabina Kane is an unusual hybrid offspring of a vampire and a mage. Her vampiric grandmother Lavinia the Alpha of the Dominae raised her though she loathed her as an abomination of ...
In a world when mortals don't know that vampires, werewolves, faeries, and mages exist, Sabina Kane is an unusual hybrid offspring of a vampire and a mage. Her vampiric grandmother Lavinia the Alpha of the Dominae raised her though she loathed her as an abomination of nature. When Grandma Dearest tried to kill her, she escapes with the mage Adam. They head to New York for her to meet her mage blood side of her heritage especially her twin sister Maise, head of the Hekate Council.

Maise opens up her heart to her sibling, but as an enforcer and a Dominae assassin, to stay alive she has trust issues. Her goal is to destroy her grandmother, but to do she needs to learn magic. She never expected to get involved with the mages nor anticipate an unknown enemy will come after her, but Sabina has no choice. She must deal with the leader of the pack and try to survive the assault of Eurynome the demon summoned from beyond to specifically kill her. Evidence surfaces that prove Sabina betrayed the mages costing them their alliance with Queen Maeve of the faeries at a time when the mages consider open war with the vamps. Sabina escapes incarceration with plans to go it alone until she finds proof that her heart is right about the mages especially Maise.

Jaye Wells' latest urban fantasy picks up where the Red-Headed Stepchild ended, but goes in a different direction as the heroine leaves behind the vamps to connect she hopes with the mages. She holds the exciting story line together as she struggles with backstabbing political intrigue (talk about realism) and making new relationships especially with ever trusting Maise. Filled with plenty of action focused on Sabina as well as humor mostly by her familiar Giguhl who has never found a moment in which he is not causing trouble without trying. The Mage in Black further defines the fascinating unique "Wellsian" mythos.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good read

Much better than the last one. This one is my fav so far

posted by Airth on September 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Mage in Black further defines the fascinating unique "Wellsian" mythos

    In a world when mortals don't know that vampires, werewolves, faeries, and mages exist, Sabina Kane is an unusual hybrid offspring of a vampire and a mage. Her vampiric grandmother Lavinia the Alpha of the Dominae raised her though she loathed her as an abomination of nature. When Grandma Dearest tried to kill her, she escapes with the mage Adam. They head to New York for her to meet her mage blood side of her heritage especially her twin sister Maise, head of the Hekate Council.

    Maise opens up her heart to her sibling, but as an enforcer and a Dominae assassin, to stay alive she has trust issues. Her goal is to destroy her grandmother, but to do she needs to learn magic. She never expected to get involved with the mages nor anticipate an unknown enemy will come after her, but Sabina has no choice. She must deal with the leader of the pack and try to survive the assault of Eurynome the demon summoned from beyond to specifically kill her. Evidence surfaces that prove Sabina betrayed the mages costing them their alliance with Queen Maeve of the faeries at a time when the mages consider open war with the vamps. Sabina escapes incarceration with plans to go it alone until she finds proof that her heart is right about the mages especially Maise.

    Jaye Wells' latest urban fantasy picks up where the Red-Headed Stepchild ended, but goes in a different direction as the heroine leaves behind the vamps to connect she hopes with the mages. She holds the exciting story line together as she struggles with backstabbing political intrigue (talk about realism) and making new relationships especially with ever trusting Maise. Filled with plenty of action focused on Sabina as well as humor mostly by her familiar Giguhl who has never found a moment in which he is not causing trouble without trying. The Mage in Black further defines the fascinating unique "Wellsian" mythos.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mage in Black is spot on!

    While Sabina is the main character in the story and the ongoing plot from the first book is about her, I really felt this was more about digging into the backgrounds of the support characters. The further I went into the book, the more I felt I was getting to know about Giguhl. He really came into his own in this book and became more than just the comic relief demon that was his stronger focus in the first book. Snark and comedy were still two of his strongest weapons, but he shows off more of his demon skills - not to mention more of his relationship with Sabina.

    There is also the introduction of her twin sister. We get a glimpse of what Sabina might have been like had she been raised by a more supportive and loving family. Also a family that would have taught her to use the innate magical powers she gained from her father. We also see a change coming over Sabina the more time she spends with the mages.

    For my part, the more her rough edges smooth out and she gets more and more human, she becomes a more likable character. You want nothing more than to see her succeed and actually feel the discomfort when she slips up and takes a fall. You go through it all with her.

    You also go through more of the supernatural world in this book. You get a feeling for the other dark races involved in the world. The politics, the intrigue, it's all in there. You leave it getting a feeling of a world deeper than the vampire/mage world that you were introduced to in the first book.

    Mage in Black is a thrill ride of ass kicking, magic flinging and demon snarking. It takes you for a ride and leaves you screaming for more. I give it 4.5 stars out of 5. Well worth the money and I can hardly wait for the next in the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.

    Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    love, Loved, LOVED THIS BOOK/SERIES!!

    I stumbled across this and loved all three books in the series. If you looking for somehting along the lines of Kim Harrison's Hallows series this is it. You will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    The Sabina Kane series

    Excellent reads lots of action right from the beginning. Red Headed Stepchild was awesome. This is book 2...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Awesome series

    A must read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing fast paced full of action UF read!

    ***This summary contains SPOILERS for Book 1***

    Sabina travels with Adam to New York, to be with her twin sister and the mages as she has severed her ties with the Dominae. Sabina is attacked on the trip by Vampire assassins, with the thanks to her Grandma. But through out the book Sabina finds she's under attacked by many different races. Something is a little off here, everyone seems to want Sabina gone...except her sister, Maisie. But Maisie is having her own troubles, not having visions and the mage council is debating about going to war with the Vampires, but they need the support of the faery. Sabina finds she makes some new friends here, and finds an old friend as well. The prophecy of the twins starts to be explained from Maisie and others, but will Sabina and Maisie believe it or not? Sabina is starting to learn more of her Mage magic as well. Will she learn it and accept it?

    Sabina quickly realizes the rules are different here in New York as opposed to LA where the Dominae ruled.
    ~ No fresh catch feeding, with out a tax price.
    ~ There are Werewolves here.
    ~ The Shade and his Laws.
    ~ Hekate Council and their Rules
    ~ And having a sister!

    Sabina came to New York to get back at her Grandmother. But along the way here Sabina starts to grow and things change. Sabina goes through some rough times emotionally and physically but she finds she does have a heart and can care for people, mages at that.

    Jaye Wells has once again done a wonderful book full of action, love (on a few levels), and suspense. The story starts off right where The Red-Headed Stepchild ended and is running fast forward with action, and never stopping. If we aren't in a wonderful action packed fight scene we are learning more of the prophecy and powers that the mages have, which is still full of action.

    We have many of the same cast of main characters we love here. Sabina's wonderful sidekick, Giguhl, is back in full force in this book. He really gets to show off his muscles here. And there is even a nice little surprise for him. And we meet many new characters that add to the mix of fun and action.

    The only part I was a little bummed with, and in NO way did it take from the book - it was just me, was that my hunk Adam wasn't as present as I wanted him to be. ;D But he does have a lovely scene with Sabina. So, now he's back and with those wonderful eyes, for Sabina.

    I can't wait to dig into Green-Eyed Demon!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Much much better

    Jaye Wells really out done herself with this book. The first book, Redheaded step child, had some problems with character development, but Ms. Wells came back with this book with all those issues taken care of!

    This book picks up where the other left off. Sabina and Adam are heading to mage headquarters in New York. Of course nothing is easy for Sabina. Sabina is half mage half vampire but she was raised vampire, while her twin sister, she never knew about, was raised mage. The only reason Sabina is joining the mages now is because her vampire Grandmother has betrayed her and tried to kill her. War between the two races seems inevitable at this point.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Installment

    I strongly suggest you check-out from the library the prequel novella "Vampsploitation" in The Mammoth Book of Vampire Romance 2 and also read the previous book "Red-Headed Stepchild" before tackling this book.

    This has been my most anticipated April 2010 release and I was not disappointed. Half mage/half vampire Sabina Kane is officially a retired assassin. Sabina Kane knows violence and danger almost as well as she knows the tips of her fangs. Adjusting to her new life of serenity, drinking herbal tea concoctions, meditating and taking time to breathe, is proving to be harder than she anticipated.

    I enjoyed this book even more than the first book; this installment pretty much had it all. The action was intense, the magic was creative and this book was chock full of hilarious scenes that stayed on my mind well after I finished reading this book!

    I highly recommend this dark urban fantasy to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and I can't wait for the next book Green Eyed Demon due out in 2011.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Love it!

    One of my favorite. Great take on the vampire, mage story. Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    Sabina Kane

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Addictive

    Sabina grows each step of the way, got to love a book that keeps thing realistic while in a fantasy world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    I really enjoyed these books.

    The title of the first book kept me from purchasing it for a few months, but I kept coming across it. I bought it, read it, and loved it. The second book did not dissapoint either. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Excellent read !

    This book not only has a good storyline, it is a fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

    Good book...quick read...couldnt put it down..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Loved it

    This one of my favorite series. Sabina kicks butt. Wish i had known about this series earlier

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    One of my favorite series

    You just want to root for Sabina!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Good

    Lots of action. Fast paced. Looking forward to next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    Great series

    Loved the whole series ... Couldn't read them fast enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Another great read!

    I"m loving getting to know all the characters better and am so into the realistic dialogue-start with book one-you won"t be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5