Customer Reviews for

Magic

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just keeps getting better

    Bruce continues to evolve as a songwriter, musician and activist. Every song is full of emotion and hits you somewhere. His tribute song to his friend Terry's memory is incredibly beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Album!

    I've played this CD in my car nonstop since I bought the album the day it came out. Cranking it up loud is the best with the windows vibrating. Though I haven't been a huge fan of his work in the early 2000's (except for The Rising), this CD rocks!!!! I can only hope that Bruce and the band keep it going like this and put out a few more albums similar to this! He rocked on the Today show some weeks ago and he deserves his place at #1. Way to go!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thank the Rock'N'Roll Gods

    Having read the many reviews on Bruce's latest effort, I'm struck by something that seems to have escaped every rock critic on the planet. Sure, they'll tell you how behind the bright and sunny up-tempo melodies, there lies a dirtier, more frightening story to be told. And they never fail to mention how the Boss hasn't left his politics out of this record. Even that the title of the album itself is a tease and that Bruce is still as surly and cranky as ever. And they're right on all counts. However, this album fits on the shelf directly next to Darkness, The River, and Tunnel of Love. The Boss has managed to dig up what's left of his tattered rock'n'roll heart and bleed for us once again. There is passion to spare here and the E Street Band hasn't sounded this enthusiastic and down right firey in 20 plus years. This record is living proof that the Boss still cares about you, your country, your town, your family, and I whole heartedly believe him when he sings "I'll Work For Your Love", even if he already has it. Thanks Boss...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Boss is back and he's beter than ever

    Magic is truly magic. The meldies are beautiful. the lyrics are fantastic. Bruce and the band are in top form. It's a Masterpiece and every one should get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bruce & the Band are back better than ever!!!!!!!!!!!

    For true Springsteen fans (Born To Run or The Ghost of Tom Joad), new fans (The Rising), or fans who only like old Bruce (nothing after The River), this is the album you have been waiting for. This is a true rock 'n' roll album. The entire band (Roy, Max, Danny, Clarence, Gary, Nils, Steven, Patty, Bruce, and even Soozie on violin) are back and sound like it's sometime between 1975 & 1980. There are songs that sound like they were leftovers from, Born To Run, Darkness on the Edge of Town, The River, Nebraska, and even The Rising. There's a new story line to listen to and follow along on records (CD's). Listen to them this way: 1) Greetings & Wild 2) Born To Run, Darkness, River, Tunnel, & Magic. 3) Nebraska, Ghost, & Devils 4) USA & Rising 5) LIVE, Seeger, & Dublin 6) Touch & Town This is the life of Bruce Springsteen & the 'E' Street Band. Magic could be, I hope not though, their send off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    radio somewhere

    this album is the best of 2007. not a bad song on it. radio nowhere will rock your socks off. its head-bangin' fun. devil's arcade is brilliant and haunting. this one will be played for a long time. the boss is back and better than ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I feel sorry for the N.Y. musician that didn't get this cd.

    I can't say I've seen Bruce in concert as many times as some folks. For some of us the cd is all we have and yeah there are alot of minivans in the parking lots. I'm not sure what that has to do with music or this cd. "Magic" to my ears is a return to late 70's early 80's sound Bruce and the band created filtered through a man standing firm in the 21st century. Instant classics "Radio Nowhere", "You'll be comin' down" "Girls in their Summer Clothes" "Last to Die" and "Long Walk Home". Unlike "The Rising" the songs don't seem to be reaching out for unattainable heights. Sure there was growth in "The Rising" and I love that cd. However I think this one's even better. So unless you're a cynical N.Y. musician you'll love this music. It is "Magic" afterall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The story goes on...

    First: it´s awsome. I bought Magic as LP " yes, those big black things " and now it´s been spinning around three days and the songs are getting alive. If you´re looking for The River or something else from the past you´ll be disapointted cause there is a 57 not 27 -years old storyteller telling stories in this record. And no way could Bruce have been able to write songs like Radio to nowhere or Long walk home back in 80´s. Listen for example Radio to nowhere: You can feel the pain and fear in the voice of that man in the car. Something is coming and you can´t help it, you´re try to get a connection but at the end you´re alone and you know whatever you´ll do you have to meet it. You know it cause you´re 57. But before that : Let´s hear those thounsand guitars and lets feel the rhythym.. This is a great record and great songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Magic

    On his new album Magic, Bruce Springsteen assembles the E-Street Band for the first time since The Rising, his epic response to the events of September 11th. Brendan O'Brian who helmed The Rising and the solo, mostly-acoustic follow-up Devils and Dust once again produces. Magic finds the Boss righteously pissed off about the current state of affairs,..Mr. Bush, the war in Iraq, and what he sees as the dubious politics that surround them. And so he delivers his sentiments with the usual nuance and good taste, the difference this time around is sonic. Springsteen taps influences not heard prominently since 1980's The River,..The Byrds, The Beach Boys, Phil Spector's Wall of Sound. The style and vocabulary of mid-60's pop music is heard often on Magic. The first-track Radio Nowhere is a no-holds barred rock song that channels The Clash, Nirvana, and the current Indie Rock movement, "The Killers, The Hold Steady, etc.", that worships Bruce. You''ll Be Comin' Down suggests a more muscular version of the Byrds while Livin' In The Future is a subtle anti-Bush rap veiled in a homage to Tenth Avenue Freeze Out. The Girls In Their Summer Clothes and You're Own Worst Enemy invoke the glorious production style of Brian Wilson. I'll Work For Your Love is both Dylan-influenced and Springsteen-influenced if that makes sense. The lyrics recall both Mr. Zimmerman and Beatnik Bruce circa Greetings From Asbury Park with a piano straight out of Thunder Road. Last To Die, Devils Arcade, and Gypsy Biker are overtly political meditations on the cost of living in a country at war. The Long Walk Home is a new Springsteen classic that recalls My Hometown and My City of Ruins. With its chill-inducing lyrics and mournful but hopeful sentiments, it neatly sums up the many themes of the album. With the exception of Girls In Their Summer Clothes, Bruce's lyrics are more political than ever but are often cleverly masked with a shimmering, joyous pop-sound. This is a fine companion to The Rising as Springsteen addresses the state of the union six years after it was shaken to its core.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Magic

    My review of Magic is down below for those interested. I just wanted to comment on the review written by "NY Musician". I read reviews, both professional and consumer-written in the hope that critique is "alive out there" as Bruce would say. I hope to gain some new insight or spin on the material as a music fan. The review by NY Musician seems less a commentary on Bruce Springsteen's new album and more a bitter diatribe on getting older. I am in my mid-30's and have loved Bruce for 25 years. I've seen dozens of his shows and still enjoy them. If you look around the parking lot as he says, you will see not just family mini-vans but many younger fans from teens to twenties who are just as excited as he once was. Springsteen is a master storyteller and performer, but times have changed and there's different stories to tell. I love hearing the Stones sing Satisfaction for the zillionth time, but I see Bruce as an artist who is still relevant and involving, still an artist in transition. I enjoy the Seeger Sessions and Magic as much as I enjoy hearing Darkness or The River because it is Bruce NOW. The pleasure is having him and his talent still with us. I would love to hear more insight into the music in these reviews and not just blanket statements about the artist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I was never a big Bruce fan ...

    yeah, I got caught up in the "Born to Run" hype of my youth. But that was more about buying the hype. That said, there are several songs over the years that I have enjoyed. This CD brings out all those qualities. Deep thought provoking lyrics, rich and easy instrumentals, all blended so none out weigh the others. From first hearing this CD I knew I wanted it, I knew I liked it. After 3 weeks it has not been out of my player.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite CD of 2007

    Been waiting a long time for music this good to come along. Just a great CD. Period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BRUCE AT HIS BEST! NOW YOU KNOW WHY HE'S THE BOSS!

    Bruce is ever evolving. Growing with us and the times we live in. This is an outstanding achievement! Not a bad song on the album. he is a master storyteller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worth Every Penny !

    Plain and simple : I love this CD . Give it a listen and I'm sure you will agree that the Boss still rocks . Some of the "old" sounds some new directions...all of them are exceptional . I especially love "Devil's Arcade" . It grows on you and stays with you .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1