BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Magic

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

If you liked The Secret and The Power, you will like this book. I was excited to read it, excited to do the "Magic Practices" after every chapter, but three days into it, I quit doing them because who has the time? I have a busy life! I kept reading the book though and ...
If you liked The Secret and The Power, you will like this book. I was excited to read it, excited to do the "Magic Practices" after every chapter, but three days into it, I quit doing them because who has the time? I have a busy life! I kept reading the book though and about halfway through, it hit me. I have been looking for the "magic pill" to fix things in my life. This book made me realize that I needed to slow down and make the time to acknowledge what is right in my world and to appreciate everything, everyday. I started it over and am USING this book as opposed to merely reading this book. Don't buy this book if you think just reading it will change anything. It's like buying a gym membership and then expecting to lose weight. You need to put in the effort. I can't guarantee you'll change your life, but I can guarantee you will be happier and more at peace with a lot of things.

posted by joyfulNV on March 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

I think I might like it if the review was not in another language!!!!!!!!

posted by 9952056 on November 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Inspirational and thought provoking. After reading and listening to The Secret and The Power, I find The Magic the perfect way to incorporate them both into my daily life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Amazing!  Let me tell you what I achieved with these gratitude p

    Amazing!
     Let me tell you what I achieved with these gratitude practices ( although have not followed them in order, nor daily) :
    I manifested a former house, renovated, larger and more intimate by giving thanks for the heat and the hours of quietness in my old rented room.
    I have improved my love relationship and made great progress toward the kind of relationship I want, by being grateful for every little thing going right.
    I turned around a difficult relationship with a criticizing manager by giving thanks for the times he gave
    me a break, and by appreciating the great deal of work he gets done. He lets me be now, and we are in
     peace.
    I turned around another relationship with a former work nemesis until the point where we now genuinely
     like each other, by doing the above thing.I cleaned up my teeth cavities that were severe, by giving thanks for my eyes, legs, arms, heart, etc as described in this book.I often find money on the street - 1, 10, 20 dollars bills that I put on my wall and give thanks for them, attracting more money from my job and people giving me service for free or reduced cost.
    I'm telling you, it's working!
    "If you can find nothing to be grateful for, the fault lies within you" - quoting :) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Good exercize in gratitude; shockingly poor in justification

    Did you know that the starving people of the world would not be starving if they appreciated food? Shee says this on page 54- She continually makes similarly stupid claims throughout the book. The only redeeming part of the book is the exercises that help increase your gratitude. So, do the exercises and skip the narative unless you feel like you need a reminder of how even ignorant people can write and sell books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Jenny

    1st block-potions 2nd block-herbology 3rd block-DATDA 4th block-lunch 5th block-study 6th block- chorus 7th block-dance 8th block thourgh 14th-TBA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    JANNETE HOWDRIE SCHEDULE

    1st block- Herbology 2 2nd block - Advanced Potions 2 3rd block- Advanced transfiguration 2 4th block- Lunch 5th block- Defense against the dark arts 2 6th block- Magic Defense and Offense 2 7th block- Study Block 8th block- Ravenclaw Quidditch practice 9th block- Advanced transformation 2 10th block- AP European Monsterology 3 11th block- Advanced Muggle Studies 3 12th block- Dance 13th block- Dinner 14th block- Chorus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Life Changing!

    After reading this book it changed my life forever, and I am soo much more grateful than ever and so many more doors have opend up for me. I encourage anyone who may have faced many obstacles, doubt or lack of faith to not only read this book but apply it to there every day life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Lent me the magic please thank you

    I would love read the magic

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Is it twin of the Secret? Nothing new I didn't find here actuall

    Is it twin of the Secret? Nothing new I didn't find here actually. If you have enough free time - you can read this book. But there are lots of better books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    be thankful

    I have read The Secret and The Power. This book explains how to attract the positive by being grateful for ALL that you have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    The great thing about this book and others with such a peculiar

    The great thing about this book and others with such a peculiar and gratifying line of thinking is the insight they provide into life and the enriching values they offer us. After reading The Grandmothers by Janvier Chando, and The Magic by Rhonda Byrne, I feel more like a better person and have a better concept of how to go about enriching myself and be happy about it at the same time, especially with the special people in our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    This is truly a "magic" book. It develops the idea that when we do not have gratitude, or give thanks for things in our life, we have less and less of those things, including good relationships and well being. It sounds simple, but it is a profound truth that the author presents through very practical steps that are easy to follow and practice. Just reading it lifts your spirits and your vibration!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Reduntant

    I agree w/other reviewer, could have been said in one chapter. Things like saying thank you over and over and over for 90 seconds, etc., *rolls eyes* trying not to be negative here, but just buy THE SECRET and save your money vs lining her pockets everytime she rewords it and puts a new title on it.
    This is just trying to get more cash from its success imho.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    It hits many points that "The Secret" misses through its total commercialism, but not as good as "The Power".

    I understand why she has the exercises in twenty-eight day increments, because it takes twenty one days to change a habit consciousness. Anyhow, with that said, the ideas are presented in a more viable way in my opinion than "The Secret" was in that they are more organized and practical in many ways and presented that way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5