Customer Reviews for

Magic Burns (Kate Daniels Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 490 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(350)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 491 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WONDERFUL READ

    In this second installment, Kate reluctantly agrees to do a favor for the local Pack and investigate the disappearance of some valuable maps. While hunting down the culprit, Kate gets called in on another favor. This time she winds up shackled with a teenage street urchin whose mother recently joined an amateur witch coven and went missing shortly after. Kate promises to find the girl's mother and, in the process, is caught in the crossfire between two ancient deities vying for power. So pretty much an average day for Kate and the city of Atlanta.

    The highlights of MAGIC BURNS are definitely the increased personal interactions between Kate and the various people and creatures who've come into her life. The growing attachment between Kate and Julie (the young girl in her care) develops quickly and the protective stance Kate takes throughout the course of the book is quite touching . Equally compelling is the more slowly developing connection between Curran, the Pack alpha, and Kate. Despite their mutual attempts to avoid each other. The reader gains several insights into these two almost painfully private people and the ending promises more good things to come. In fact, these quiet character-driven scenes were so interesting that I wished there were just a few more. The plentiful action and fighting sequences seem to always take center stage and, though we do get a little more information on Kate's background, it is a very little, and I am (of course) anxious for more. A solid second book, I'm looking forward to the third one.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark & gritty urban fantasy

    In Magic Burns, the sequel to Andrews' Magic Bites, the magic in Kate Daniels' world is going crazy. More specifically, it is leading up to a flare, a period of time where the magic overtakes tech and holds steady and strong. During a flare all kinds of things can happen - including the manifestation of deities into the mortal world, bringing all their squabbles and wars with them.<BR/><BR/>I'm really liking this series, and cannot wait for the next installment! There are still a few issues in this book which I mentioned in my review of the previous book: namely, twists of storytelling which go too fast for me to follow (I could have used a turning signal, or at least a few more paragraphs) and a few editing and proofreading errors. Nonetheless, this is definitely an entertaining world which Ilona Andrews has crafted, and I enjoy reading Kate's viewpoint of her world.<BR/><BR/>I am glad that more of Kate's background is coming to light in this book. I have my guesses as to some of her secrets, and am sure that in the next book (or two or three) they will be confirmed. I am also loving the subtle, slowly growing romance between Kate and Curran, the Beast Lord.<BR/><BR/>I definitely recommend Magic Bites and Magic Burns to lovers of urban fantasy - especially dark urban fantasy, as this series is certainly not light, happy-go-lucky fare. It is real and gritty, with death and blood as much a part of Kate's world as (if not more than) love and happy endings.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This urban fantasy is a spellbinding compelling read

    Magic has returned to the world, but it comes in waves. When it flares, it is out of control when it flows it works. The world obviously has changed since the return with cities devastated as the magic hates tech and skyscrapers and either destroys them or changes them into something else.------------- In Atlanta Kate Daniels works for the Order and the Mercenary¿s Guild who helps people in need. She takes dowwn a killer in an underground garage but an unknown person does the actual kill using a special dart. A member of the shapeshifting Pack asks her to find maps stolen from them. The thief used the same dart that killed the man in the garage.. Kate returns to the scene where she got the dart. There she follows a clue to a child Julie, who is looking for her mom, a witch belonging to a nearby coven. Each vanished without a trace. Kate takes Julie home with her, but that proves no haven as sea demons attack. She next brings the child to the Order. She finally meets the dart thrower Bran who informs her that she, the witches and the shifters are caught in the middle of a war between two gods.----------------- This urban fantasy is a spellbinding compelling read. On this alternate earth, vampires, shifters and other paranormals co-exist with humans often not in harmony. Kate has a secret agenda and apparently has powers and a secret that are hinted at throughout the exciting story line. She makes the tale work as this alternate Atlanta seems genuine as a fascinating culture built around magic feels plausible. However it is Kate who will bring fans back for future tales. P Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Great


    The series continues to get better. Kate is definitely all that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    A Great Read for Urban Fantasy Lovers

    Much excitement, many laughs and even a few tears. Can't wait for the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good sequel

    Well, book you honestly something aren't you? I was going to rate this a 4 but you just had to be awesome. Looks this is 5 stars now.

    When I first heard about the series, I was thinking eh I'll read it. And after a while I hadn't read it. Until finally, freaking finally begun the first book and loved it. And this one, love even more.

    We got tension, we got different supernatural creatures, we got hilarious quotes, which I might add are awesome and uh quote worthy, we got quite the ending and we got, well a pretty good sequel.

    I do believe this is becoming my new favorite series that I won't be bored and want to actually read the next book until I'm caught up with the recent addition in the series. Oh and did I mention this has quite the tension moments between Curran and Kate? And Bran has his moments as well, which you can't help but like the guy in a way. Bad boy characters am I right?

    Anyway, what I'm saying is, give this series a read if you like urban fantasy and well, why haven't you read this series yet?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Great Author

    This series is fun to read. I like the world, the characters and the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    HOSPITAL WING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    To all

    Cloudbeauty and dragon are locked out!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Wolfheart and Co.

    Wolfheart rests her head against him and closes her eyes as well. <br> Cinderpaw grins. "Lets take them back to camp!" <br> Kestrelpaw's eyes widen. "Wow... I want to see that!"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Moonphase

    Ok but i was hope in it was moonlight

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Pebblepaw

    He padded back into camp, his first prey in his mouth. It was a small trout and he held his head high, full of pride.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Couragepaw and Lionpaw

    She lifted her head,"Really.! Ok!"
    <p> Lionpaw padded to LeafDapple

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Spiritheart

    She padded in, aware of the fight, and sad she couldnt help. "What was with that battle?" She asked any cat listening.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Melodyriver to Cloudbeauty

    (I know youre locked out of TDN, so go to the next res down there.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    MelonLeaf

    Gtg bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Hawkmoon to all

    CAMP IS AT ASHCLAN RESULT ONE!!!!!! JUST IN CASE NOBODY KNEW!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Sparkfire to Burrgleam

    Hey my sister is Racoonleaf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Sparrowstar to all

    Im sick of moving. Move to ashclan res 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Striking

    Go to res one and post your response. I just saw that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 491 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25