BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Magic Finger

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Book!!!!

I loved the book! I would rate it a million stars if I could. I just LOVED the plot and the extreme illustrations. I believe this is an awesome book. I read all the other Roald Dahl books, and this was a wonderful success! It was beautiful written. I recommend this book...
I loved the book! I would rate it a million stars if I could. I just LOVED the plot and the extreme illustrations. I believe this is an awesome book. I read all the other Roald Dahl books, and this was a wonderful success! It was beautiful written. I recommend this book for everyone.

posted by 698651 on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

good book

I would recommend the Magic Finger to anybody because it is funny like a fairy tale. The Magic Finger turns a family into what they hunt. My favorite part is the ending--a good book has a good ending. Read the book to laugh and see what happens to the Gregory family.

posted by shane72 on June 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Awesome Book!!!!

    I loved the book! I would rate it a million stars if I could. I just LOVED the plot and the extreme illustrations. I believe this is an awesome book. I read all the other Roald Dahl books, and this was a wonderful success! It was beautiful written. I recommend this book for everyone.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    good book

    I would recommend the Magic Finger to anybody because it is funny like a fairy tale. The Magic Finger turns a family into what they hunt. My favorite part is the ending--a good book has a good ending. Read the book to laugh and see what happens to the Gregory family.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    The Magic Finger

    The Magic Finger is a very interesting book about a girl with a magic finger that does very weird things to people who kill animals. I liked that the Gregg/Egg family build the nest. I liked that they turned into birds. I liked that birds turned into people. The author wanted us to learn not to kill animals and to be careful that the magic finger won¿t turn you into a bird. --MK

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    RIP OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    A good book, but still...$7 for such a short book????????????

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2007

    An Easy Read and a great story

    Just the title alone, The Magic Finger, makes you want to read the book. This is the story about an eight year old girl who has friends that love to hunt animals. The girl tries her best to convince them not to hunt, but they laugh at her. This makes the girl angry, so angry she points her magic finger at them. Magical things start to happen. I enjoyed this book and I recommend it to anyone wishing to read a short, easy, fun story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    The Magic Finger is Wonderful!!!!!!

    It would be great for 1st grade,2nd grade and 3rd grade students!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Magic Finger

    Eleven is such a fantastic age. Unfortunately, most recommended reading material for today's eleven year old doesn't match up to the imagination and unbridled potential this age possesses. That is why Roald Dahl should be required reading for all eleven year olds. Even if his books were read previously, it is time to revisit them once again. The Magic Finger should be sitting on every bookshelf. It's importance may be easy to overlook. Afterall, it only requires a short amount of time to read it cover to cover, but there is no other tale that builds empathy quite so effectively.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    This is the best book!

    There is this book called the Magic Finger. In this story a girl that turns the Gregg family into birds and turn back to people. It is so weird!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    $7 for a 22 page book???? I am very disappointed with Nook. I ca

    $7 for a 22 page book???? I am very disappointed with Nook. I can't wait for my Kindle for the holidays. This is the 2nd time this has happened too where I have gotten a book for my son for over $7 for a 10-20 page book. that is ridiculous. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Ooooooh.........

    Sounds gooooooood...........

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Me too im disapointd to see a 20page book cast 7 dooler

    But it was bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    TERRIFIC!!!!

    Not.
    - tarrantules

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    So So

    Do you like stories about magic? Well then The Magic Finger is the book for you. This book was great with magic. It was a great fantasy. This book was about a girl with a special power and she turns the Gregg family upside down. The characters include a little girl and the Gregg family. My opinion is I would give this book a 3 star rating. I thought it was a bit dull. I didn¿t really like it. Even though this book was packed with magic I still thought it was going to be a better book than what it turned out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    good

    This is a good short read. It's not my favorite Dahl book, but if you want a quick story then I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    Recommended

    The book is about a family that loves to go hunting, and they hunt just for fun. But there is a girl who gets very mad, and when she gets mad and 'sees red,' something happens... The book is about trust, respect and honesty. The moral of the story is this: Animals are living things and they deserve respect. We should treat others the way we would like to be treated. The book was good, but it might have been better if it were longer. We liked the book's humor, Quentin Blake's illustrations, and Roald Dahl's vivid and quirky writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    A funny book

    This book is about a girl who has a magic finger. My favorite part was when a family changed thier last name to Egg. That's why it's funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2003

    It is very funny!

    I like this story because the girl in the story has a magic finger.So when she gets mad she accidently makes wierd things happen to them and that makes it funny. For example,she gets mad at her teacher and turns her into a cat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2002

    The Best Book Ever

    Its a AWSOME AWSOME AWSOME(repet until mouth gets sore)Its such a good book that if you are reading it and people are trying to get your atention then you wont notice because.......ITS SO GOOD THAT YOU HAVE TO KEEP READING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    The Hunters Become the Hunted

    This book is about empathy and fairness. An 8 year-old girl is annoyed when she sees people causing hurt. She zaps her teacher for telling the girl she is stupid when she misspells cat (kat). The teacher starts to turn into a feline-like creature with whiskers and a tail. The girl also 'can't stand hunting.' Annoyed by the Greggs who hunt for deer and ducks, suddenly the Greggs find themselves changing places, roles, and body features with a duck family. The Greggs quickly decide they don't like being prey very much. Most young people will relate well to this book during their period when they think carefully through the implications of eating meat. The book contains many black-and-white pen and pencil sketches by Quentin Blake to illustrate the key shifts taking place. I thought that the story and the illustrations just didn't quite pull off the theme. It's clearly bad to hurt people's feelings and to hunt, as this story evolves. But what about having a hamburger? The book needs to broaden its message in order to make it clear what is being condemned. I wasn't sure where the book intended to draw limits on what people can do to animals. The illustrations sometimes look like scribbles done by someone in the back of a car that was hitting potholes. I suspect that the intent was to mimic a child's style. I would have preferred choosing a better child artist as a model, if that is the case. The beneficial changes occur because the girl has a magic finger. Well, I didn't have one when I was 8. What should an 8 year-old really do? When you and your child read this book together, I suggest that you plan to spend some time describing or developing a moral system that makes sense to both of you. This book's strength is that it will raise many valuable questions, that require better answers than are provided here. For example, if someone makes an error, what is the best way to respond in various situations? What are the rights of animals in terms of providing food and medicines for humans and as experimental subjects? What is each person's responsibility in this regard? Always ask yourself, would I like others to do unto me as I do unto them now? Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2000

    Great book

    I love this book. I have read it like 10 times and i am still reading it and enjoying it everytime, I am so glad that he wrote the book. See yah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2