Customer Reviews for

The Magic Half

Average Rating 4.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I absoulutely loved this book. This book makes you want to believe in magic.It takes you into a place where anything is possible. You can relate to the main character and to her situation. It is a truly inspiring and terrific story. Great for any student wanting to bel...
I absoulutely loved this book. This book makes you want to believe in magic.It takes you into a place where anything is possible. You can relate to the main character and to her situation. It is a truly inspiring and terrific story. Great for any student wanting to believe in magic once again. Although the book seems pretty childish at first it becomes very interesting soon enough. So interesting in fact it will be unbelievablely hard to put down until you find yourself at the last period.

posted by Anonymous on December 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love

Its a shame this book isnt more widely read!!! It captivated me from the start and couldnt put it down, even as 12 year old. Please read. Its a keeper.

posted by EmmaChampion on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    I absoulutely loved this book. This book makes you want to believe in magic.It takes you into a place where anything is possible. You can relate to the main character and to her situation. It is a truly inspiring and terrific story. Great for any student wanting to believe in magic once again. Although the book seems pretty childish at first it becomes very interesting soon enough. So interesting in fact it will be unbelievablely hard to put down until you find yourself at the last period.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book. Loved it. Will read more by this talented author

    Great Book. Loved it. Will read more by this talented author

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's great!

    I love magic and fun and exciting things to learn about in books. This book conbines magic, fun and a wonderful happy ending for Miri and Molly!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Read it to believe it

    This book is pure imagination Magic is woven so well into reality in The Magic Half This is a must read So far, nobody has given a bad review about this book The extra long spaces are where a period should be

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Nicole summers

    Personaly i believe this is a very amazing book. It captures intrest right away.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What more could a kid want?

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Angie

    For Ages 9-12

    Miri is the middle child… not so unique. But she’s the middle child sandwiched in between two sets of twins. On one side are her older brothers who like to tease her and on the other side are her younger sisters who are toddlers so they’re just a lot of work. Miri feels left out. When her family relocates they move into an old farm house. An elderly neighbor informs them that there’s buried treasure somewhere on the property. While searching for the treasure, Miri clobbers her brother over the head with a shovel and is sent to her room.

    While sulking she discovers a lens out of a pair of glasses taped to her wall. When she looks through it she suddenly finds herself transported through time into her bedroom in 1935 where she meets Molly. Miri quickly realizes that it’s up to her to rescue Molly from a desperate situation, but before she can help she’s accidentally transported back to her time. Will she find the buried treasure and solve the mystery in time to save Molly?

    This book has time travel, magic, and hidden treasure. What more could a kid ask for!?

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Ya

    So i read this before and my friend lent it to me and i loved it like i loved it before.....its kinda a 11 year olds book but its still very good!!!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Good book

    This book is a really good mystery book. Its about this girl named miri who gets transported back in time to the family who used to live in her house before. She mets a girl her age there whos family treats her bad. And there is a really good ending to the story.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Ddnt think id like it

    I really didnt think i would like this bt i took a chance d it turned out i loved it. It does revolve around mahic but it isnt like one of those stuoid things when it is corny magic because this book is really good!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Love

    Love this book. It's fantastic and I have read it many times. It's very captivating how these two worlds come together.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Amazing book for a tween!

    This book is really good! I'm eleven years old and read it at school. I was addicted! Miri and Molly are just like me and I always like books that involve somethng out of the ordinary. Thanks Annie Barrows! :-)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    So Creative!!!!!!

    Annie Barrows reallly outdid herself in this impressive story about twins from different time periods.Everyone knows what it's like to be the "odd man out" so they all can relate to Miri-the only "alone one" in a family of two twins. It's easy to feel her enthusiasm at finding someone just like her. Whether you're 8 or 58 this is a perfect read to devour!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Abc12315

    I'm adicted! I read this book for a school program contest thing and i absolutly adore it. It is definetly in my top 3 picks.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Very pleasant read

    An entertaining book, well plotted, good character development. Time travel is always such an intriguing idea.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Luv it

    Thus book definitely deserved its sunshine state book title

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Awesome

    Awezome

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Hi

    Hi. This book is a sunshine state book rfor my school

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Reviewer unknown

    The magic half is a clever story full of twists and turns and full of fantasy whimsical characters who travel through time through glasses and try to bring a girl named molly back to miri's home so horst wont kill molly but they have many hardships along the way

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    :)

    Its pretty good.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    This is awsome READ IT

    U MUST REAF THIS BOOK ITS LIKE THE BOMB DIGGITY IF U READ THIS I WILL TELL U MY SECRET

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6