Customer Reviews for

Magic Hour

Average Rating 4.5
( 393 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(239)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 397 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    The title says it all--MAGIC!!!

    I am a long time fan of Kristin Hannah's. I've read everything she's written and unlike some multi-published authors, Hannah just gets better and better with each book she writes. And MAGIC HOUR is no exception. The title says it all---this book is pure MAGIC!! I don't like to read reviews that give away the plot and so I'm not going to comment on that except to say that this story blew me away. It was everything I'd come to expect (and love) from a Hannah novel--true emotion, deep characters--but it was also a story line so unique and fresh, I could not put the book down. If you've never read Kristin Hannah give yourself a huge treat with Magic Hour. And, if you're a Hannah fan like me, I'm sure you've already pre-ordered the book!! Another winner from an extremely talented writer.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    deep character driven tale

    The media and the parents of the victims and even the survivors hold child psychiatrist Dr. Julia Cates culpable after a teenage patient of three years Amber Zuniga went on a rampage killing four peers. However, no one holds Julia to task more than she does herself as she keeps looking over what she did, trying to figure out what she could have done different to prevent the tragedy. --- In between the Pacific and the Olympic National Forest, Rain Valley is a tiny insulated town, but has a problem. Chief of Police Ellie Barton pleads with her sister Julia to come to the northwest to help a mute little girl who came out of the nearby woods local assumption is the child was raised by wolves. Julia heads north to work with the child she names Alice. Local Dr. Max Cerrasin assists her as she tries to reach Alice and learn who her parents are while also rejecting the persistent courting advances of her new medical partner. --- MAGIC HOUR is a deep character driven tale that grips the audience once the depressed Julia leaves Los Angeles for the Pacific Northwest and never slows down until the final encounter. The exciting story line is driven by the emotional needs of Julia as much as by Alice. Who the child is and who her parents are lead to a fine mystery (similar to a real story from the early twentieth century) to a superb drama. --- Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ENRICHING AND HEARTWARMING!

    This heartwarming one is all about hope, love, and the human spirit. The reader will fall in love with the child, Alice, who had been silenced by many horrors in her life, seemingly left unable to speak. Julia, a psychiatrist, burdened with her own problems and guilt, along with other townspeople form a protective family circle for the little girl. This is a transforming, enriching novel that will be a keeper to anyone who reads it.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    Very Touching Story

    All I can say is Wow!I picked this up in the bargain book section at Barnes and Noble figuring it was really inexpensive so if I didn't like it oh well. I could now say I would have paid full price for it if I had to. It is outstanding. One of my new favorite books. I spent an entire rainy Saturday reading this book and am glad I did. I could not stop reading. This book has everything Drama, family,heartbreak, friendships(old and new), and a little bit of romance mixed in. I felt like I knew these characters so well and the way the author describes the area they live in you feel like you have really visited there while reading this book. I was sad it was over. I have read Comfort and Joy by Kristin Hannah and also loved that book. I will now look for more of her novels.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    WHAT A GREAT READ!!!

    This was my first Kristin Hannah book, bought it online as a bargain book. I loved everything about it. I wanted the book to go on forever, and was sad when it ended. I look forward to reading more by this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    This book is exceptional

    I did not want this book to end. The subject matter is so different from anything I've read. Miss Hannah has yet to disappoint.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    Hannah's best yet!

    Congratulations, Kristin Hannah. I have read other books by Hannah, but Magic Hour is by far her best. The topic, the characters, the story lines make the book her best by far. I suggest, Kristin, that you think seriously about a sequel. It has great potential. When I finished the book, I could not begin reading another. I had to continue living with the characters of Magic Hour for just a little while longer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great!

    It kept me reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Loved it.

    Kind of slow in the beginning, fell in love with Alice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Must summer read

    The characters are endearing and you feel as though you are living through the trouble with them. The relationships and conflicts bring such emotion. Reommended highly...you won't be able to put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Wow

    This is by far the best book i have ever read! You wont put it down one you start.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Beautiful Story

    This is a touching story about a woman and a girl learning to trust & love. Beautiful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend

    I really liked this book, however, the ending was a little flat. The story was well developed. I loved the characters and their relationships.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    loved it!

    I absolutely loved this book, I never wanted to put it down! Kirsten is a wonderful writer, I would recommend her to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Fantastic!

    Great book! I would highly recommend it. Keep the tissues handy as you will need them. Great for a book club.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Can't-put-downer!

    Must read... This is the 3rd one of Kristin Hannah's books and probably the most intense, or equal to intensity as Firefly Lane. Wonderful author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    just read it

    it was amazing. I bawled my eyes out. just read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Moving story

    Kristin Hannah is my new favorite author. What an interesting situation to resolve.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    Incredible

    This is the first time I've ever written a review, but this book deserves one. It was so beautiful and heartwrenching. I could not put this book down and finished it in two nights. I will definitely read the rest of this author's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Amazing

    This was a great story. I am not one to shed tears for fiction but this story made me laugh, cry, and every emotion in between. I LOVED IT!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 397 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20