Customer Reviews for

Magic Lost, Trouble Found (Raine Benares Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great fantasy

    The City of Mermeia is divided into districts each one is home to a different race including elves, goblins, dwarves, humans and sorcerers. Mage practitioners are common Raine Benares, an elf, is a mid-level practitioner who earns her living by seeking lost objects and sometimes people for her clients. Her life changes dramatically when she watches over her friend when he breaks into the house of a powerful necromancer to steal an artifact--------------------. Two sets of goblin warriors, one loyal to the king and a group loyal to the exiled prince want the artifact Raine took. Raine creates a diversion and they escape. Raine puts the artifact around her neck and finds she can¿t take it off or it will kill her. It has powerful magic that enhances her own power and gives her new ones but the price is too high. The goblin king, his sadistic advisor Sarad Nupana and Prince Chigau want the one who wears the artifact because it will lead them to Saghred a weapon of mass destruction. Raine has to find a way to keep it out of evil¿s hands, find a way to remove the artifact and give it to somebody without getting killed.--------------- This is wonderful fantasy tale full of different races and myths and legends who are drawn so perfectly, readers will believe they actually exist. Raine is a strong female, a leader who wants to do the right thing even when she isn¿t sure what that is. She has an elf and a human interested in her and it is fun watching them compete trying to get her interested in them in between near death escapades. Lisa Shearin has the magic touch (keyboard) when it comes to writing good fantasy.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    If you love Poison Study, you will love this book.

    This is a well written book. If you enjoyed books like Poison Study, The Black Magician Trilogy, or any of Tamora Pierce's Books, this is another great read. The main character Raine is strong-willed, mature, and she has a comical side. It also helps that in facing her enemies she has some sexy male allies to help her along the way. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who loves adventure, magical, fantasies. <3

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Well written fantasy

    I am an avid fantasy and fiction reader, and was very pleased by the craftmanship demonstarted by Ms. Shearin in this novel. Her characters were well defined, the plot was cohesive, the villians were despicable. Overall, I highly recommend this book to other readers, and am looking forward to her next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book has just topped the list of my all-time favorite fantasy! Lisa Shearin has that little something about her writing that just grabs you from the first sentence and won't let you go until the very last word. In simple terms, I Loved This Book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Loved It

    Funny, sexy, and exciting could not put them down. My husband would look at me funny as I would burst out laughing at parts in the books. Even got him to read them, and his take on the series was that who ever wrote them must have been around me for some of the creative one liners and sarcastic comments.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding Read!

    I have never read anything by Lisa Shearin before and after reading just the first 4 pages I knew she was a keeper and that I would purchase the other books. It was quite refreshing to pick up a book that engaged you in the story all the way through with humor, action, a bit of suspense and lots of sexy and charasmatic characters. I look forward to reading more of Lisa Shearin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    the story of rain, a women who gets in way over her head.

    Magic lost, trouble found is one of those books you could read a thousnd times( and i have) and still laugh( which i do)at how sarcastic and wry Rain is. she is in trouble up to her pointed ears but still retains her scence of irony and sarcasm. i love her scence of humer. this book is beutifully writen and is an amazing read all the way trough. this is one of my favorite books and love reading it over and over.
    this book is about Rain, a fiesty elf who finds things for a living. she is good with a blade and has a few magical tricks up her sleave thats kept her alive time and time again( singed around the edges dousnt count). however when she finds an amulet that is oviously magical and powerfull, she finds herself in more trouble than ever. she is being hunted by an army of goblins. she likes attention as much as the next girl but this is a little much. and to make matters worse she cant even get ride of the necklace becouse it has magicaly attched itself to her. read this book and find out if she is able to get ride of all the extra trouble she has procured. then read the rest of Rains adventures in Armed and magical, and the trouble with demons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun fantasy

    It apparently has been a little while since I've read fantasy of such intricate world-building. It took me a little while to get into the story as I first had to get used to the world of Mermeia where Raine and her cohorts and family live. The names of the characters gave me the most difficulty...once I got used to how they sounded out in my cranium, I was fine and the story moved along like gang-busters.
    Raine is my type of lead character. She has some flaws, but ultimately she has common sense, street smarts and cares deeply for her family and friends and woe be unto whoever tries to harm them.
    There's a new goblin king in town and he has as his evil advisor, Sarad Nukpana, a goblin grand shaman of immense power. These goblins want the Saghred, an ancient stone of unfathomable power.
    Now Raine has become the inadvertant contact for the stone and many will do whatever necessary to get her, thereby the power.
    Raine has help and the good street smarts and magic she maintains keeps her in good stead.
    This is a good set up for the next in the series, ARMED AND MAGICAL . I have the third in the series, THE TROUBLE WITH DEMONS, thanks to Lisa Shearin and BittenByBooks.
    Four not all goblins are mean & ugly beans.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angieville: MAGIC LOST, TROUBLE FOUND

    This series seems to be most often described as regular fantasy with a decidedly urban fantasy heroine, complete with charming (at times self deprecating) sense of humor. I would agree with this assessment. Raine's internal dialogue is very much in keeping with urban fantasy trends. She'll be the first one to tell you, she's one part disreputable imp, two parts defender of all that is good. And she can handle anything that comes her way.<BR/><BR/>And the excellent part is--all kinds of heinousness comes her way and she handles it with aplomb (and the aforementioned sense of humor). Raine Benares is a seeker, finder of lost things and/or people. Raine's family name is a bit on the infamous side and, for the most part, Raine is just fine with that. In the opening scene of the book, she and her rake of a cousin Phaelan find themselves fighting off goblin shamans in an attempt to protect Raine's sometime partner and thief extraordinaire Quentin. Just what Quentin has stolen remains a mystery, but it soon becomes crystal clear every agent of evil in the vicinity would like to get their paws on it. Turns out the object is an ancient amulet which finds its way around Raine's neck and refuses (rather gruesomely) to be removed. Enter the Conclave Guardians, an elite force of healer-magicians whose job it is to retrieve the amulet and stash it back under lock and key. Stat. Dangerous and colorful characters abound, including the powerful Mychael Eilieson--Paladin of the Guardians--and Raine's friend Tamnais Nathrach--shady nightclub proprietor and former member of the goblin royal family. Oh and, by the way, these aren't your run-of-the-mill goblins. You want these goblins to sit down and stay awhile. <BR/><BR/>What a pleasant surprise this book was and how well-timed a read. A funny, delectable treat smack dab in the middle of winter. Raine is extremely likeable and I appreciated that she always seemed fully cognizant of her own motivations and never persisted in sugar-coating them or in being stubborn beyond all reason. In that way she reminded me of Kate Daniels from Ilona Andrews' MAGIC BITES. Like Kate, Raine appears to have a few secrets she's not interested in revealing, even to her closest confidantes. I have a few suspicions and look forward to finding out more as the series progresses. All of the side characters felt fully formed and like people/elves/goblins/what have you that I'd like to have around, and certainly want to read more about. And, while I would really rather the love triangle not drag out anywhere near as long as the whole Morelli-Stephanie-Ranger fiasco has, I have to say I am a hopeless Babe and am therefore (unsurprisingly) firmly in the Team Tam camp. Mychael is nice. Of this there is no doubt. But, aqua eyes aside, there's just no contest. This really is a delightful, addictive debut novel and I am very happy to have the sequel sitting on my nightstand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE &amp; posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    It was fun, exciting and full of adventure with a dash of humour, and kept me eagerly reading to see what would happen next. ~ Under the Covers

    Raine Benares is a Seeker with enough magic to get her by and a close family of smugglers and thieves who taught her every trick they knew. However, that all changes when she finds herself in possession of an amulet, the amulet doesn’t look all that impressive…except she now has a psychotic goblin shaman chasing her, as well as an exiled Prince and a Paladin. Raine’s sudden popularity has puts her and her family in mortal danger; she may have got herself in far more trouble than her street smarts and magic can get her out of.

    This book has been collecting dust on my shelf for a while now (years!) and I am so glad that I gave into impulse, dusted it off and finally started reading it. It was fun, exciting and full of adventure with a dash of humour, and kept me eagerly reading to see what would happen next.

    If, you are looking for a more traditional fantasy though, I would avoid this one as it did remind me more of a modern Urban Fantasy, maybe because it was set in one city and told from first person POV. It didn’t make me enjoy it any less but it is something to keep in mind before you start.

    But at its core Magic Lost, Trouble Found was a fast paced adventure story full of magic and swords an interesting, though not intricate, plot, a bit of romance and a likable heroine. It has also stated building up a fantasy world of which we have only seen a small part of in this book and I look forward to Lisa Shearin expending and building up her world in the next book.

    A good read, it was a well written and lighthearted fantasy that kept me turning the pages and I can’t wait to read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    A Solid Read

    Good characters. Developed storyline. Enjoyed the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    I didn't like it at all

    I was unable to get past 50 pages & it took several sit-downs just to get there, whereas I usually finish a book in a day or two at most. It was dreadful and pedestrian. Don't waste your money. If you like uninteresting plots and characters go for it. The cover says it all, frankly, atrocious. I only gave it one star because I couldn't give it a negative star rating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Hilarious, brilliant, and suspence-filled

    Superbly imagined and exquisitely written. Every word perfectly chosen; every scene tightly constructed. An amazingly hilarious and gripping debut. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sensationally fabulous coated in yum :)

    While it started off slow, Shearin definitely picks up the pace in her debut Raine Benares novel and continues to deliver momentum in the following book Armed & Magical. Full of witty sentences and a cast of colorful characters, I cannot imagine anyone who could dislike such a fantastic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    Magic Lost - where when?

    I'm still wondering about the title because I don't see where she lost any of her magic. I really did enjoy this story and I hope she doesn't play the 2 male interests against each other. The lead character Raine, an elf, lives in a world of magic with goblins and all the other mythical magical creatures that go with it. it's a fantasy world, but every now and again she uses a current colloquilism that doesn't fit their world maybe. But I am buying the next couple of books to see what happens next! I can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    magic lost, trouble found

    Raine is a seeker - she finds lost things that is - and is no stranger to trouble, but this time even she'll admit she's in over head. Hailing from a family full of thieves, Raine is honest herself but still has friends in the shadier parts of society. When one longtime friend steals an amulet that some powerful and decidedly not-so-nice sorcerers want, it ends up around Raine's neck and she's not about to take if off. Especially since everytime she does, it tries to kill her. More than troubling, that. Completely lost as to why everyone is now after said amulet and her by consequence, Raine turns to her most trusted friends for help and answers which ends up leading to even more trouble.

    This was a great fantasy read with an interesting new world full of goblins, elves, and other magical things friendly and otherwise. Raine is resourceful, witty, and surprising likable. She easily kept my interest as each new page seemed to bring out her personality just a bit more. The secondary characters were a treat too - a young spellsinger who is like a little brother to Raine, a shady but devilishly handsome club owner, and her wizard Godfather among others constantly liven things up. They all leapt off the page and helped to define Raine as a character so much more. I will for sure be checking out the rest of this enjoyable series.
    seemichelleread.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A pretty good novel

    This book is a fantasy novel that follows our heroine, Raine Benares who is a seeker and a sorceress. The story centers on her friend, Quentin who steals and amulet from the home of a powerful necromancer. The entire time she is in possession of the amulet, a group of goblins is trying to chase her. I like that her character can hold her own and take care of herself. I also like how she sticks by her friend, Quentin, even though she knows it is not such a good idea. The novel also has some strong secondary characters as well. My only complaint is that the book was a little too long and the font was very small and as I was reading, it gave me a headache. All in all, it was a pretty good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good rainy day book

    Good rainy day book, good character development, action is very quick - sometimes too quick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    Good story although the voice used wasn't my favorite.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Very cute, totaly recommend it!

    This was a very cute, entertaining, refreshing book. I totally recommend it to fantasy readers who are looking for the nice, quick, fun read. It¿s a page turner and you will always wonder what Raine (the main charater) is going to get into next. Get it, you will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5