Customer Reviews for

Magic Lost, Trouble Found (Raine Benares Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding Read!

    I have never read anything by Lisa Shearin before and after reading just the first 4 pages I knew she was a keeper and that I would purchase the other books. It was quite refreshing to pick up a book that engaged you in the story all the way through with humor, action, a bit of suspense and lots of sexy and charasmatic characters. I look forward to reading more of Lisa Shearin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun fantasy

    It apparently has been a little while since I've read fantasy of such intricate world-building. It took me a little while to get into the story as I first had to get used to the world of Mermeia where Raine and her cohorts and family live. The names of the characters gave me the most difficulty...once I got used to how they sounded out in my cranium, I was fine and the story moved along like gang-busters.
    Raine is my type of lead character. She has some flaws, but ultimately she has common sense, street smarts and cares deeply for her family and friends and woe be unto whoever tries to harm them.
    There's a new goblin king in town and he has as his evil advisor, Sarad Nukpana, a goblin grand shaman of immense power. These goblins want the Saghred, an ancient stone of unfathomable power.
    Now Raine has become the inadvertant contact for the stone and many will do whatever necessary to get her, thereby the power.
    Raine has help and the good street smarts and magic she maintains keeps her in good stead.
    This is a good set up for the next in the series, ARMED AND MAGICAL . I have the third in the series, THE TROUBLE WITH DEMONS, thanks to Lisa Shearin and BittenByBooks.
    Four not all goblins are mean & ugly beans.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angieville: MAGIC LOST, TROUBLE FOUND

    This series seems to be most often described as regular fantasy with a decidedly urban fantasy heroine, complete with charming (at times self deprecating) sense of humor. I would agree with this assessment. Raine's internal dialogue is very much in keeping with urban fantasy trends. She'll be the first one to tell you, she's one part disreputable imp, two parts defender of all that is good. And she can handle anything that comes her way.<BR/><BR/>And the excellent part is--all kinds of heinousness comes her way and she handles it with aplomb (and the aforementioned sense of humor). Raine Benares is a seeker, finder of lost things and/or people. Raine's family name is a bit on the infamous side and, for the most part, Raine is just fine with that. In the opening scene of the book, she and her rake of a cousin Phaelan find themselves fighting off goblin shamans in an attempt to protect Raine's sometime partner and thief extraordinaire Quentin. Just what Quentin has stolen remains a mystery, but it soon becomes crystal clear every agent of evil in the vicinity would like to get their paws on it. Turns out the object is an ancient amulet which finds its way around Raine's neck and refuses (rather gruesomely) to be removed. Enter the Conclave Guardians, an elite force of healer-magicians whose job it is to retrieve the amulet and stash it back under lock and key. Stat. Dangerous and colorful characters abound, including the powerful Mychael Eilieson--Paladin of the Guardians--and Raine's friend Tamnais Nathrach--shady nightclub proprietor and former member of the goblin royal family. Oh and, by the way, these aren't your run-of-the-mill goblins. You want these goblins to sit down and stay awhile. <BR/><BR/>What a pleasant surprise this book was and how well-timed a read. A funny, delectable treat smack dab in the middle of winter. Raine is extremely likeable and I appreciated that she always seemed fully cognizant of her own motivations and never persisted in sugar-coating them or in being stubborn beyond all reason. In that way she reminded me of Kate Daniels from Ilona Andrews' MAGIC BITES. Like Kate, Raine appears to have a few secrets she's not interested in revealing, even to her closest confidantes. I have a few suspicions and look forward to finding out more as the series progresses. All of the side characters felt fully formed and like people/elves/goblins/what have you that I'd like to have around, and certainly want to read more about. And, while I would really rather the love triangle not drag out anywhere near as long as the whole Morelli-Stephanie-Ranger fiasco has, I have to say I am a hopeless Babe and am therefore (unsurprisingly) firmly in the Team Tam camp. Mychael is nice. Of this there is no doubt. But, aqua eyes aside, there's just no contest. This really is a delightful, addictive debut novel and I am very happy to have the sequel sitting on my nightstand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE &amp; posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    It was fun, exciting and full of adventure with a dash of humour, and kept me eagerly reading to see what would happen next. ~ Under the Covers

    Raine Benares is a Seeker with enough magic to get her by and a close family of smugglers and thieves who taught her every trick they knew. However, that all changes when she finds herself in possession of an amulet, the amulet doesn’t look all that impressive…except she now has a psychotic goblin shaman chasing her, as well as an exiled Prince and a Paladin. Raine’s sudden popularity has puts her and her family in mortal danger; she may have got herself in far more trouble than her street smarts and magic can get her out of.

    This book has been collecting dust on my shelf for a while now (years!) and I am so glad that I gave into impulse, dusted it off and finally started reading it. It was fun, exciting and full of adventure with a dash of humour, and kept me eagerly reading to see what would happen next.

    If, you are looking for a more traditional fantasy though, I would avoid this one as it did remind me more of a modern Urban Fantasy, maybe because it was set in one city and told from first person POV. It didn’t make me enjoy it any less but it is something to keep in mind before you start.

    But at its core Magic Lost, Trouble Found was a fast paced adventure story full of magic and swords an interesting, though not intricate, plot, a bit of romance and a likable heroine. It has also stated building up a fantasy world of which we have only seen a small part of in this book and I look forward to Lisa Shearin expending and building up her world in the next book.

    A good read, it was a well written and lighthearted fantasy that kept me turning the pages and I can’t wait to read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    A Solid Read

    Good characters. Developed storyline. Enjoyed the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    I didn't like it at all

    I was unable to get past 50 pages & it took several sit-downs just to get there, whereas I usually finish a book in a day or two at most. It was dreadful and pedestrian. Don't waste your money. If you like uninteresting plots and characters go for it. The cover says it all, frankly, atrocious. I only gave it one star because I couldn't give it a negative star rating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    Magic Lost - where when?

    I'm still wondering about the title because I don't see where she lost any of her magic. I really did enjoy this story and I hope she doesn't play the 2 male interests against each other. The lead character Raine, an elf, lives in a world of magic with goblins and all the other mythical magical creatures that go with it. it's a fantasy world, but every now and again she uses a current colloquilism that doesn't fit their world maybe. But I am buying the next couple of books to see what happens next! I can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Very cute, totaly recommend it!

    This was a very cute, entertaining, refreshing book. I totally recommend it to fantasy readers who are looking for the nice, quick, fun read. It¿s a page turner and you will always wonder what Raine (the main charater) is going to get into next. Get it, you will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2