Customer Reviews for

Magic Rises (Kate Daniels Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST book so far in the Kate Daniels Series, possibly my favorit

    BEST book so far in the Kate Daniels Series, possibly my favorite book ever.. The world this story lives in is gigantic, yet flawless. Kate really was tested in the book, in so many different ways. You're right there with her through it all & i think I need a "I survived Magic Rises" T-Shirt after finishing this. There's a short story at the end of the book called, "An ill-advised Rescue" which features Kate having to rescue Saiman from his captors. Make sure you read that first as it is a root of the main plot, but the authors didn't feel it had a place in the final manuscript. I probably don't have to preach praises of this book too hard as if you're looking at this book, you either have read books 1-5 already or plan too. I kept this series on my to-be read list for way too long. It's top notch! 

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Read this Book

    Ilona Andrews knows how to keep u on the edge of your seat. I had a hate love relationship with Curran. Ugh there were times! No spoilers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    And They've Done It Again!!!

    Magic Rises is one of the crown jewels of the series. I didn't think they could top Magic Slays or Magic Bleeds but...

    Kate, Curran & co. find themselves embroiled in a territory dispute between rival European shifter packs. Normally they wouldn't care but they're being paid in panacea, the only thing that can help child shifters survive puberty.

    Unfortunately it's also a trap with lots of separate jaws, and it will take all their skill and strength to emerge triumphant in the end. There's double crosses, mythical monsters, mad alchemists and not to mention that pack of Dogs!

    It's a fun, fast (& now we wait another year....sob!) read that further develops Kate's character as well as flesh out those of the other people in her world. One spoiler I will mention is that I liked, no matter how hard it was to read, to see how other people really felt about Kate as seen through Kate's eyes. Awesome!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Love the series, love Kate Daniels and Curran (they are perfect

    Love the series, love Kate Daniels and Curran (they are perfect together), and absolutely LOVED this book.  If you like fantasy series...this is a MUST read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    Fantastic series. Well written and the action never stops. The

    Fantastic series. Well written and the action never stops. The ending was both heart breaking and satisfying.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    She never disappoints!

    I love this series, I've read every book several times! The storyline is so original and the characters pull you in!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olso

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:
    *eARC received from the Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

    I am ashamed to say that this was my first foray into the Kate Daniels universe. I have had this series on my TBR forever, but just hadn't
    gotten to it yet. When I set up an Author Event for the Magic Rises release, I really wanted to include a review so I jumped in with two feet.

    Magic Rises follows Kate, Curran, and 10 of their hand picked best on a quest across the Black Sea into what they know is a trap, but
    what they hope may be a coup. It was an action-packed read full of emotion, suspense, drama, and surprise and I was thoroughly
    engaged!

    Ilona and Gordon wrote Magic Rises in such a way that I, as a first time reader, had no issues following the tale. I know that there are
    probably plenty of subtleties that I missed (believe me, I've engaged in enough "OMG you need to read that series now!" debates to
    know that much), but overall in read wonderfully as a stand-alone. The only thing that I feel may have been over my head was the very
    last sentence, but it just makes me want to go back and read the first 5 books of the series now immediately.

    This book is a must read for all Kate Daniels fans - you will laugh, gasp, rail in frustration, mutter in shock, smile contentedly, and hope
    for more - and if you're a new reader, you'll do the same.

    A solid 4 Skull read, and I'm looking forward to much more in the KD-Verse!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Amazing Read!!

    Another great addition to the Kate Daniels Series. Love them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    The best series out there bar none!  This book is of epic propor

    The best series out there bar none!  This book is of epic proportions and must be read to understand how truly great it is.  The series continues to move forward without any feeling that the books are filler.  It's amazing how these authors continue to make each book better than the last.  Many laugh out loud moments and moments of complete emotional breakdown with tons on kick ass, heart pounding moments.  Be warned though, to truly understand it's greatness, you must begin with Book 1; you will not regret it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    One of my favorite series! Loved it!!! Can not wait for more o

    One of my favorite series! Loved it!!! Can not wait for more of this series to come out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    1 page in the sample.......i wont buy!

    1 sample page is rediculous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

     This is one book in the Kate Daniels series. This is a series b

     This is one book in the Kate Daniels series. This is a series best read in order. The first book is Magic Bites.




         This is one of those books in a series where things take a dramatic turn and things really change for the characters. I won't spoil anything, but this installment has ups and downs and twists and turns, soon after the story starts.
         It all starts with an offer the pack can't refuse. An assignment as body guards of a werewolf carrying twins, by different fathers. A pawn used to lure Kate by someone from her past, and that is just the beginning of an intricate weaved story.
         Worth the time to read it. A wonderful installment to the Kate Daniels series.
         

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Great book

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Kate Daniels

    Kate is off to Europe to get a potion the will help prevent loupism in the wereanimals that are part of the Pack. She mets Roland's second, Hugh, and has to outwit him..when that backfires they battle their way out. Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    OF COURSE! Really, Curran, KATE! And over seas. Oh yes, We see Hugh too!

    Julie's best friend and her twin sister go loup. Using the last dose of panacea, split between the twins, Curran call all loupism related terminations to stop and sedate them. Curran is up to something because their contact for the paste was found dead with his murderers shipped away before Curran could get to them. Packs in Europe are having troubles with a pregnant shifter - between her father and the two men she's pregnant too. Curran's history with the father has brought him to the forefront and asked with the payment of panacea to be the neutral party to guard and prove witness to the first born child. It stinks of a trap, but they need the medicine and seeing it so close to home, they want it.

    To the high seas we go!! With Magic! Pirates, weredolphins, Haha! The weredolphins are dangerous but so cool. And ancient creatures. So great to see these! And I love the myths and mythical creatures built on in this world as they surface. Oh yes, there are always thing surfacing in this magic fluxed world.

    No frets! We have our full crew of favorite characters traveling with us. I was worried at first, but how can I be? It's Ilona and Gordon. They wouldn't do that to us and leave out all that we love. Although...there maybe a few who don't make it home...

    A whole regime of emotions felt while reading this one. Hope, jealousy, worry, tears for loss, confusion, and stunned for actions of one I never thought to be kind then paranoid wondering what his plan and game really is. Happy for life, yet there's sadness that one will never fit in, always an outsider. My heart drops at the thought that no matter what they'll never part of the pack.

    This is one that we see another side of Kate. One that Curran brings out in her. Well...maybe a few sides of Kate. Curran. Such a shocker! Thoughts that ran through my head - Curran better not!! He's got a plan. He HAS TOO. Ooooo, then we have a special treat. I reeeeally liked our surprise guest, or host, we get to see. *giggle* Oh he's well played out here. So much great information about Kate and her history too!

    An Ill-Advised Rescue
    We get a bonus story in the back!

    Saiman is kidnapped. The Guild gets the note. The Guild also gets a nice profit for rescuing kidnapped victims. The Guild calls Kate, now she has ownership over the Guild and being it's Saiman.

    I love watching Kate at work. Even when she is amazing at tormenting Saiman too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Ginny

    Sits in a chair by the fire

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    GRYFINDOR TOWER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Racer

    Kk bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Zack

    Thanks ((the game will start tomorrow sorry I'm really tired))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    I love this book!

    This was my favorite in the series. Funny, witty, and just a great read. Even if you haven't read the first 5, you would still relate to the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7