Customer Reviews for

The Magic Room: A Story about the Love We Wish for Our Daughters

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Kritters Ramblings

    A book full of stories that made me laugh, cry and hope for the future. Taking place in a coveted room inside a family owned bridal boutique that has been open for many decades and many generations have found their all important wedding dress. Grandmothers are now accompanying their grand daughters on this special shopping trip. Author of The Girls From Ames, Jeffrey Zaslow gets to the heart of how the relationships between women, whether it be mother/daughter, grandmother/granddaughter, or bride/friend; the art of shopping for the wedding dress has changed over the year and the quest for the dress is as important as many of the other wedding decisions that are made.

    This act is something that I have dreamed about for years with my mom, sister and those I hold close to me. I can't wait to try on a few dresses and get some honest opinions from, the big butt to utter perfection - these are what dreams are made of! Zaslow highlights different brides that have entered through their doors and what brought them to this special decision. Not only does he chronicle the history of the store, but the family behind this landmark in Fowler, Michigan.

    Such a great book for women of all ages - young and old and in between will enjoy this book as they remember their own shopping adventures or have had a few dreams about their upcoming shopping adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A touching book with real warmth

    I often read non-fiction but mostly current affairs or history, so I’m not sure what possessed me to request to take part in Crazy Book Tour’s virtual book tour for The Magic Room. I suppose all I can say is that every now and again a book ‘speaks’ to you and cries out to be read (much like the cookies that – ahem – cry out to be eaten).

    The Magic Room was one such book. I was intrigued by the description and the idea of a book that examined such a wide range of relationships: the relationship between marriage and the modern world. The relationship between mothers or fathers and daughters. The relationship between the bridal dream and the fiscal reality.

    Jeffrey Zaslow chose to set his book about “the Love We Wish for Our Daughters” in a bridal shop and I think doing so was a masterstroke. In that one decision he opened up boundless possibilities and the book embraces many of them fully. The Magic Room is a wonderful mix of anecdotes, family history, economic history and statistics. The book is related with warmth and humour, with touching stories interspersed with tongue-in-cheek media story mentions or interesting cultural references. It is neither preachy nor too touchy-feely but instead is a wonderful balance of all the things a marriage is: some ups, downs, worries, good times, cross words, touching speeches, advice, memories and, perhaps most importantly, hope.

    It’s now coming up to two years since I got married. I ordered my gown via the internet and decided to forego the full bridal experience of bridal shop, dress fittings etc. Despite not having had the experience, I can see the magic behind The Magic Room (in terms of both the book itself and the ‘magic’ room within the bridal store Beckers) and understand why it is so important to the people that frequent the store, the owners, the community. Don’t be lured into thinking this is ‘just’ a tale of a bridal store, though. The history of Beckers is, indeed, fascinating but even beyond that, this is a work that offers so very much more.

    **I received a copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review. I did not receive any additional compensation. All views are my own.**

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    It's Not Just About the Dress.....

    I was extremely excited when I found out I had the opportunity to review this book. I loved both of Zaslow's previous books THE LAST LECTURE and THE GIRLS FROM AMES. I had a feeling I would love this one too, and I did. Zaslow wrote this in much the same style as THE GIRLS FROM AMES, giving each bride their own chapter and then coming back to them at the end with their follow-up story. Even though this is non-fiction, it reads smoothly and the emotion of each woman's story is the focus over the research studies that filter thoughout.

    I found all the history of brides, bridal dress shopping and familial relationships extremely interesting and made me think of my own dress shopping days. I myself had two bridal dress shopping days, one when I was 20 and one when I was 25. I never got to wear the first dress as I ended up breaking off the engagement, but the two shopping experiences were vastly different and reflected much of the research and experiences in the book. I am sure you will also reflect on both your dress shopping day and your wedding day as you read the stories in this book. I remember the dress I ended up with was one I never would have picked out, but once I put it on, the tears and the emotions were immediately there. It was THE ONE.

    What I also appreciated about this book was that even though it focuses on the bride, the dress and the big day, through the stories, it reminds you “It’s not just about the dress, the flowers, the reception. It’s about the man and the marriage and the life that will follow” (p. 256).

    Keep the tissue box close by as you travel through the stories in this book. Zaslow knew just whose stories to tell and you will want to know how each bride is doing after finishing the book. By going to the book website, you may be able to see updates and find other information about the book and the author. Even though I have finished the book, I know the marriages and lives featured in this story go on. I am praying all of them are blessed by the telling of their stories and their marriages are long, loving and strong.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    A deep look at brides and the bridal business

    I was first drawn towards this book as I have a love for Bridal gown reality shows. What attracts me to them is the story behind the dress. The family, the bride, the groom, the personalities, the meaning of the marriage etc. So this book is not only about brides but it is also about the bridal gown business in a small town. The story line details a list of brides who come through the shop's doors, some of whom are back for a second time, or they are daughters of brides who purchased their gowns from the same shop many years before. Each story is unique, some tragic, other stories are inspiring and uplifting. The author details each bride in several chapters, and at times, I lost track of which one was the current subject. Beautifully written and detailed, this book will take you to a place you never really gave much of a thought to and you will think about those in your life who are brides, or will become brides.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    A wonderful read

    I enjoy all of Jeffrey Zaslow's books, and The Magic Room did not disappoint. I love the way he mixed facts of weddings in general with the stories of the brides. Also rounding out all the bride's stories really made you feel a part of their weddings.
    I'm very sad that he will not get to walk his love3ly daughters down the isle, but I know they realize how special that time of life is through this book.
    He was a thoughtful author, gone too soon. He will be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    So Confused!

    For some reason I thought this was going to be a story, not a weird documentary about a wedding shop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Like an essay collection

    This is a great group of individual stories, that flow along the common thread of the family that owns the shop.

    If you enjoy hearing interesting human interest type stories about regular (vs celebrities) people, you will probably like this book.

    Michele

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    This is a series of short stories about brides and their stories.

    This book is well written and centers around a Bridal Shop and the women that sell and purchase bridal gowns. Their stories are as varied as their gowns. Very enjoyable for all women as this book deals with the varied ages and stories that about women about to start their marriages and all that entails.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Recommended highly

    Really liked this book. Tragic that it was one of his last, I am now on a mission to read all his books. The best part is the telling about the four generations of family women who run the business. Love the way he ties the stories about each of the brides together, although each one very different. He shares insights about the brides, their personal stories and their weeding days, makes you feel like you knew them personally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    A Beautiful Read!

    Loved this book. A good read for men too with daughters. While reading this book I was saddened to hear that Mr.Zaslow passed away in an accident..and would never see his daughters get married.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Highly Recommend as this book is so personal. Every girl who was or will be a bride will love the way this book was written. It is also with great sadness the Jeffrey Zaslow died yesterday on an icey road in Michigan.

    A wonderful book written for all those brides who will be brides or have been brides in the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    The Magic Room ~ Delivers!

    Story telling as only Jeffery Zaslow can deliver.
    The book contains a historical account of the bridal shop, Becker’s; legacy of how this shop started, and keeps going and will be remembered in the future.
    Tucked between the pages are the lives of brides who come to Becker’s Bridal Shop to purchase their gowns; it is so much more than just the dress. The brides life, their story is told ~ it brings you to that moment when “The” dress is tried-on in the magical room of mirrors and lights to “just knowing” not only that this is the gown, but that life has woven together up-to this moment.
    Be part of the treasure that this story contains; read it with a box of tissues close by and know at the end of the book, you will want to know what happens next to the brides, who stories have been tenderly revealed in ‘The Magic Room’.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    W A great read

    A refreashing story you cry and laugh while reading this
    I recommend it to every mother and father who have a daughter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2