Customer Reviews for

Magic Street

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    Best of Orson Scott Card

    I've read many books by this author and always respected his imagination but wished his books had better flow. Some ramble on too philosophically, some have flimsy characters. THIS is combines the best of imagination, characterization and writing I could have ever hoped for. If you are a fan of fantasy, especially as entwined with modernday society, don't miss this book! Literate, funny, hip---can't wait for the movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Couldn't finish it

    I'm a huge OSC fan but this one was different. I found this book boring and just plain weird. It also lacked the plausibility of other OSC books. I guess it just wasn't for me; thus, I'm giving it a strictly neutral rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I heard the audio version of this book and enjoyed it so much that I bought a hard copy to read and share with my family. The premise of the book is similar to "Ender's Game." A young boy finds himself in a situation not of his choosing, where he must find a way to overcome obstacles, both internal and external. "Magic Street" is fantasy, with magical characters providing much of the action. If you have enjoyed other books by Card, you will like "Magic Street" too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2008

    unexpected, but good

    before this book, i had only read four or five from the ender universe. based on that, this book was just completely unexpected coming from card. the first quarter or so was pretty darn boring... i had to force myself to go on, but then it started to pick up... and then it got really good. i liked it enough for five stars, but not enough to be on my list of favorites (not enough to read again, like ender's game).<BR/><BR/>i haven't read anything else like this, so i have no recommendations of the same type, but if you liked this book you should try other orson scott card books. he's an excellent author. you may not like one of his books, but you can't argue that it wasn't well written. besides, i've liked them all so far, to varying degrees. least of which, still being four stars to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    Disappointing book from Orson Scott Card

    I've enjoyed almost every other book by Orson Scott Card, especially the Ender series, but this one fell flat. I found it rather dull, I had to force myself to finish it. I expected much better from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    Magic Street A Magical Story

    This is the first time I've ever read one of Orson Scott Card's novel and I'm impressed. This story was full of characters, adventure, and soul. It's a simple story of good verses evil but so much happens during the course of the story, it's almost at a breakneck speed and by the time you've figured it all out, so have the characters, which even the ones that aren't mortal, are so human. Ultimately, that's what this story is about humans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a spellbinding tale

    One day while driving home Dr. Byron Williams acts totally out of character by picking up a homeless person he dubs the Bag Man. This creature tells him his wife is pregnant and when they arrive home, he finds his spouse who wasn¿t pregnant giving birth to a baby boy. The Bag Man puts the baby in a paper bag and orders them to forget what happened which they do. A few hours later Cecil ¿Ceese¿ Tucker finds a baby in a bag by the drainpipe....................... The child called Mack Street is taken in by Una Lee Smitcher who with Ceese raises him will love and the whole neighborhood of Baldwin Hills, an affluent black community, takes him into their hearts. Mack has odd dreams, the ability to see another person¿s deepest desires and give it to them in a perverted way. For years he does his best to suppress the dreams or cut them off before something bad happens. However, he finally learns who and what he is and who he will have to fight if he doesn¿t want true evil, the opposite side of himself to be let loose on an unsuspecting word............................ This is Orson Scott Card¿s first contemporary urban fantasy and he demonstrates his considerable talent with a work that is sure to win him an award nomination. Readers see Mack mature from a baby to an adult who begins to understand he is the essence of all the things good and bad. It is impossible not to care about him and we root for him on when it is time to face his real enemy, himself. MAGIC STREET is a spellbinding tale that engages the audience.................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1