Customer Reviews for

Magic Strikes (Kate Daniels Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 459 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(356)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Magic strikes

Kate Daniels is a strong character with a secret past she can't let anyone know about. Her entire purpose in life is to kill her father, but before she can do that she must train and be the best she can be. Most of this novel takes place in an arena, which is pretty int...
Kate Daniels is a strong character with a secret past she can't let anyone know about. Her entire purpose in life is to kill her father, but before she can do that she must train and be the best she can be. Most of this novel takes place in an arena, which is pretty interesting. I hung on every word and every fight described. The rest of the novel was heart felt and intriguing. All of the characters are multidimensional and unique. I'm enjoying every bit of this series. My only qualm about this book is Kate's continuing denial of feelings between her and Curran. I understand that she thinks he just wants to conquer her then leave, but if she is attracted to him too, I'm not sure I understand the problem. There isn't anything in her past that we know about that would make her seem scared to be in a relationship. Hopefully she will get over her fear of actually liking someone in the future. I can't wait until we get to the showdown between Kate and her ultimate enemies, but I'm content to read about her adventures along the way.

posted by Darsey_spudnick on August 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Addition - But Lacks Depth

Like all the books in this series, this installment was fun to read, with plenty of action and a solid plot. Unfortunately, the tournament setting, the obvious good-guy versus bad-guy conflict and the way the heroine, Kate, inexplicably fails to die after receiving a mo...
Like all the books in this series, this installment was fun to read, with plenty of action and a solid plot. Unfortunately, the tournament setting, the obvious good-guy versus bad-guy conflict and the way the heroine, Kate, inexplicably fails to die after receiving a mortal injury screams graphic novel not adult fiction. The only truly intriguing (morally/emotionally obscure) character in this book is Saiman, a magic shapeshifter, who is cowardly but brave, shallow but insightful, faithlessly lascivious but oddly loyal and a trickster who is paradoxically truthful. Kate, the heroine, has become a cliche kick-ass, sword-wielding heroine dedicated to protecting the innocent, (and eventually killing her bad-guy father), and burdened by the typical competing emotions of craving love/friendship but fearing loss. Simply put, I want more complexity, (more gray rather than just black and white), in this series or I'll eventually become bored.

posted by dalnewt on May 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Great Author

    I like this series. Kate is strong, smart, and most importantly not a slut. I like the world and story line(s)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    Ilona Andrews continues to stun readers with Kate Daniels in Magic Strikes

    Kate Daniels lives in a world where magic comes in waves drowning technology in its wake and as unexpectedly as it comes it is gone, leaving monsters behind. In the aftermath of the shift Atlanta is a crumbling ruin of its former glory. Magic Strikes is the third installment of the Kate Daniels series begun by Magic Bites. Although Ilona Andrews includes enough background for new readers that haven't read the previous books, I highly recommend everyone to read the other two novels as each book builds on top of the previous revealing more mysteries of each of the characters.

    Magic Strikes finds Kate Daniels overworked in the aftermath of the magic flare that has passed leaving technology firmly in control for several months, with magic shifts just starting to come back. As a member of the Order of Knights of Merciful Aid and liaison to "The Pack" (Atlanta's society of shape shifting lycanthropes lead by were-lion Curran, the Beast Lord) Daniels is called in after a long day to investigate the death and dismemberment of a shapeshifter in front of one of The Pack's houses. Upon arrival at the scene Kate is brusquely told to not interfere by Curran's head security personal Jim who she has known for years.

    On top of this event comes a call from her werewolf friend Derek who has managed to get himself imprisoned while trying to steal tickets to the Midnight Games, a no holds bar tournament of games enjoyed by the rich and famous that as it turns out all members of The pack are banned from per Curran's rules. These simultaneous events lead Kate on another collision course with deadly foes, and along the way reveals more details of her family heritage, and that secrets have a way to come out and usually in front of the worst possible people.

    The best part of this and the other Kate Daniels novels is that no characters are thrown in to the story to play a single part then be forgotten about. Characters from the first two books continue to play a role in each new story and in the process take on life and definition you rarely see in secondary characters. Each one has there own personal story and it shapes the way they behave and interact with each other. The tempo of the books are always swift, moving the current story arc along while also inserting details that give the reader a glimpse to the overall story and what difficulties Kate will face in future entries to the series.

    Readers will be sure to enjoy the witty repartee between Kate and Curran and the sexual tension between them, but be warned the dialogue will be much more enjoyable to readers of the first two novels. Welcome to the post shift world of Atlanta Georgia, home of vampires, werewolves, demons, gods, and those just trying to live through it all. I for one hope Kate and her world are here to stay for quiet some time and look eagerly forward to the next installment Magic Bleeds. Also for those that want more from the world of Kate Daniels pick up Must Love Hellhounds as it contains the short story Magic Mourns.

    ~ Matthew @ novelmusings.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    amazing third installment

    Coming back from a long-awaited trip to Atlanta (it's been almost two years since I went home!), I settled into the third installment of Ilona Andrew's much loved Kate Daniel's series with more than a little excitement. With the series set in a futuristic Atlanta that has been ravaged by magic, I felt like I was getting to extend my vacation a few more days as Kate described tromping around Buckhead and other notable downtown spots. Also, I've been waiting all summer to snag a copy of this one and the anticipation may have made me a tiny bit antsy. What started off as a pretty good series has now turned into one of my top three current fantasy series, the stories have literally gotten so much better with each book.

    Kate is back to her usual Order of Knights of Merciful Aid day job after the massive magical flare that rocked the city of Atlanta. She's still trying to figure out how to support Julie - the orphan she adopted in the magical aftermath - and most of all how to avoid His Royal Fussiness or Curran, the Beast Lord. Needless to say, she isn't exactly pleased when the ucky Saiman calls her up to say he's got one of Curran's shifters, Derek, captive in his apartment. Derek makes Kate swear not to tell Curran the reason he's broken into Saiman's apartment - to steal tickets to an extremely illegal, extremely dangerous gladiator-type tournament - which leaves her in a place she does not want to be. But when things with Derek go south in a hurry, Kate throws herself in a deadly struggle to save her friends without revealing her true identity (which she actually finally divulges to the reader! FINALLY).

    What I think makes me keeping coming back for more in this series is its constant humor. Kate is a smart-mouth and I love her. I guess I just have a thing for girls who can't keep their mouth shut even to the detriment of their health. Sometimes I would completely bust up while reading and just couldn't wait to see what would happen next. This humor element is especially important to me since there is so much darkness that Kate faces. For starters, her whole life has been centered around killing one big, bad guy for goodness sakes. So, Ilona Andrews strikes a nice balance for me. Another reason I love it is becuase of the relationships between the characters: Kate and Curran, Kate and her 'ward' Julie, Kate and Derek, they are all so real and constantly changing, leaving me breathless with anticipation for what will happen next.

    Does anyone else totally dig the cover? Okay, I know they all have been quite similar: Kate with a sword and Curran as his furry self - but until I saw this book up close and personal and realized that Kate is sporting a set of very colorful bruises along her arms did I think: "Yeah! That's my girl who doesn't know how to stay out of trouble."
    seemichelleread.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    Fun

    I read the 1st 2 books of the series and they were ok but this one was fantastic. A great urban fantasy. Fast pace and butterflies in the tummy sexy! Can't wait for the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4