Customer Reviews for

Magic Study

Average Rating 4.5
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 269 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    absolutely loved it

    This book was so interesting I would get irritated each time there would be interruptions to my reading. It was that good. I had to keep reading until the final page. I just had to. If you thought Poison Study was good, Magic Study gets even better.

    Yelena is thrown into a brand new situation, and now has to re-adjust accordingly. This brings about a new set of characters, a good solid character development within Yelena, and more Valek (my favorite part!). As in the previous novel, there's mystery and intrigue thrown into the story but the mystery aspect of the book is more violent and much darker than Poison Study. The romance between Yelena and Valek is still there, and it was nice to see them together as they do compliment each other well as a couple. There was an interesting chemistry between Yelena and Cahil - although Cahil acted like a spoiled selfish brat in the end and that does pave the way towards the third book.

    It was nice to see Ari and Jaco back, and while they were out of the picture, Yelena's horse Kiki provided some of the comic relief. It was also nice to see Yelena hasn't really changed, although I did notice she had really great comebacks and her wit was still there, sharp as ever. I enjoyed the connection between Kiki and Yelena. Better yet, Kiki's requests for peppermints and apples always generated a smile from me.

    I'm not sure if I like Leif or not. I hated him at first because of his treatment of Yelena, and once you found out his dirty little secret, I still hated him even more. As his behavior changed, I'm still not sure what to think about him. I'd have to say, all the characters in the books are very well done and each one memorable so they're not just any character that you'll forget later as you progress further into the book. They had distinct personalities which helps to memorize who is who (as the cast in this book is a bit big).

    The fantasy aspect of the book is good and the magic is easy to understand. I liked how characters had a specific specialization in a certain aspect of magic - in that way they're not too overpowered and they have their weaknesses as well. Yelena seems to be the jack of all trades when it comes to magic but her talents also has risks and consequences as well.

    Magic Study did live up to its predecessor and achieved more. It had an interesting plot filled with mystery, fantasy, and intrigue but it also featured well written memorable characters (horses included!). The ending prepares the reader for the third book and I'm definitely going to be reading that one soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Amazing sequel

    Magic Study is almost as good as its predecessor. I liked how the author put together some loose ends without wrapping up the entire story. I like the mystery mixed with fantasy and romance. That was the only thing that I wanted more of in this book, more Yelena and Valek time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fantastic fantasy

    Yelena has left Ixia where she was under an order of execution to return to her birth home of Sitia where she once was kidnapped when she was just a child. She wants to meet her birth family and study magic at the Citadel under the tutelage of her mentor, Master Magician Irys. Her first disappointment comes when her brother Leif thinks she is an lxian spy. When she kidnapped by the only living royal who has a claim to the Ixian throne, Leif sides with him. --- When she arrives at the Citadel, she is mind raped by the First Magician who admits she is not a spy. Yelena¿s magic is powerful and doesn¿t always work the way it is supposed to because she lacks experience and training. Her lover in Ixia, Valek, second only to the leader Commander Ambrose journeys into Sitia as part of the delegation and since he is immune to magic he is the perfect person to save her from two kidnappers and an attempt on her life. However, to save the life of an innocent, Yelena must risk everything. She also knows that failure means rebels will overthrow the lawful government. --- Picking up where POISON STUDY left off, MAGIC STUDY is a fantastic fantasy set in a world where magic exists in some countries and banned in others. Yelena¿s adventures have forced her to mature and though she doesn¿t know the extent of her powers, she knows that she wants to learn to use them to help people. Her time in lxia and her roots in Sitia give her an understanding of both countries that nobody else has which means she has plenty of options for her future. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2015

    I really have enjoyed this series so far. This is the second in

    I really have enjoyed this series so far. This is the second in the Study series (I reviewed the first Poison Study here). It’s interesting because I really do enjoy them and hope to continue on with the series, but neither has made it to a 4 star rating in my brain. Poison Study I gave 3 1/2 stars and I’m giving Magic Study just 3. Here’s why:

    I really like Yelena. She’s relatable despite having lived through a ton of things that I cannot even begin to imagine. But I enjoy her voice and I enjoy following her story.

    Despite that, this book almost lacked plot for me. What I thought was a subplot about a third of the way into the book turned out to be practically the entire plot. And that just kind of confused me. The basic premise is that Yelena moves to Sitia, where magic abounds, to be taught to control her magic. So she starts taking classes and things and not until well into the book does the real plot happen. I think a lot of things are being set up to happen in later books, which is good. But this book didn’t feel completely together for me.

    And then there was almost a subplot within that subplot/main plot. Just randomly placed in there and it didn’t get a very satisfying resolution. Sure it was smaller compared to the other events of the book, but I didn’t feel satisfied with what was happening because it came so quickly and then it was over so quickly. I’m being so vague trying to avoid spoilers so I don’t know if any of this is even making sense.

    Those were my two problems with the book. But overall, I really do enjoy reading about Yelena and Valek and this world that Maria Snyder created and I’m excited to continue because there seem to be quite a few books in this world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2015

    Great addition to series. Audio review. 4.5 *Book source ~ Pur

    Great addition to series. Audio review.

    4.5

    *Book source ~ Purchased from Audible

    Guest Reviewers 
    A ~ My 17-yr-old daughter
    T ~ My 15-yr-old son
    K ~ My 14-yr-old son

    Yelena has vanquished her enemies and is on her way to Sitia to meet the family she doesn’t remember and learn how to control her magic. But growing up in Ixia and being the Commander’s food taster has made her ways strange and suspicious to the people of Sitia. Still, she perseveres. However, soon she is embroiled in a bad situation and must use her newfound abilities, her new friends and the unexpected arrival of old friends to get ahead of the game. And stay alive. Will her life ever be simple?

    While not as rousing as the first book, this story has a decent plot with a new world, new enemies, new friends and an appearance of old friends. Everyone still likes Yelena and Valek is still a favorite. Though T said Yelena and Valek having sex all the time is bad. I had to laugh because they aren’t doing it like bunnies. In fact, it’s closed door, not described at all and it’s only a few times. It’s just the fact that when Valek is around they do what couples in love do especially since they’ve been separated for months, but it’s not to the detriment of the plot. LOL Anyway, the magic is fascinating and the Sitia world is interesting. We all loved having the Power Twins back for a bit and the addition of horses is cool. T & K love that the horses call Valek “Ghost.”  An apt name indeed. No one likes Yelena’s brother Leif. I agree that he’s an ass though by the end of the book he’s a bit better. T likes Yelena’s dad Esau because he knows so much cool stuff about the jungle. And everyone wants Cahil to die. That would be nice. We’re looking forward to book 3, Fire Study.

    Favorite quotes:

    “Pushing magic toward the candle, I willed it to light. Nothing happened.
    Irys made a strangled sound and the candle burned. “Are you directing your magic to the candle?”
    “Yes. Why?”
    “You just ordered me to light the candle for you,” Irys said in exasperation. “And I did it.”
    ********************************************************************************
    “I gave him a bored look. I had been threatened many times before and had learned that the men who didn’t make verbal threats were the most dangerous.”
    ******************************************************************************
    “Of course, you didn't want our help. Now I have to go beat up some soldier just to keep my ego intact.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2015

    4.5 Stars MAGIC STUDY was a spiraling world of magic, love, sur

    4.5 Stars

    MAGIC STUDY was a spiraling world of magic, love, survival, determination, all weaved around the magical elements of danger, betrayal, drama, lies, and murder...

    MAGIC STUDY was just about everything I hoped for, almost... This book was so much fun and introduced a whole new world to this series that I couldn't get enough of.

    But the downside to MAGIC STUDY was that I wanted, no, NEED, more of VALEK!! He didn't show up until more then halfway though the book, then when we did, he wasn't there a lot. And that drove me CRAZY. Granted, it all still played out amazing, and had twist and turns that I loved, but I would of enjoyed them a lot more if Valek was there through most of them! ;)

    Another small issue I had was that in POISON STUDY Yelena and Valek didn't act on they're feelings until almost the end of the book, but when they finally did express they're true feelings for each other, it felt rushed and not as developed as I hoped for. But in a way it was understandable because they were in a dire situation where they weren't able to fully express their-selves.

    But in MAGIC STUDY, it still didn't really develop the way I wanted. They just picked up with how much they loved each other, but not a lot of talking about their feelings. Really, every time they got together they hardly even talked at all. And that drove me INSANE!!! I LOVE them as a couple. I think they're both awesome characters, and are well developed, but their relationship is not. I know they love each other, I mean it's definitely obvious. Because in POISON STUDY they're feelings built up from the beginning to almost the end, and had plenty of time for those feelings to progress and truly blossom into the love that they have for each other. But once they got together, I wanted more feelings, more talk, more togetherness, MORE OF THEM!! I don't know if that makes any sense, but nevertheless, I LOVE them together and apart, I just wish they had more time together to develop their feels for each other.

    That aside, the rest of the book was AMAZING!! I loved all the new and old characters that came into play in MAGIC STUDY, and the direction that the plot took. I loved all the magic and adventure, and meeting Yelena's family, and the strong bonds and allies she built. And the new enemies she established in Sitia. I would of liked to visit Ixia again, but that's okay I'm sure we will in the next book, FIRE STUDY!

    THE PLOT

    Yelena has left Ixia behind, forced to flea or face execution from the Commander for being a magician and having the power of magic pulse through her veins. She's eager, but nervous about returning to her homeland of Sitia, where she will learn how to wield her magic and reunite with her long-lost-family that she was stolen from all those years ago. But Yelena realizes very quickly that not everyone is willing to accept her with open arms in the magical city. Some think she has ulterior motives, some are even willing to kill her for it...

    Now in Sitia and no longer forced to shield her powers, Yelena is able to let go and let free. But Yelena magic is stronger then she or her magician teacher and closet friend Iris, ever thought. Some are even threatened by her and the power she possesses, which happens to be progressing and becoming stronger with each passing day.

    But the power is not the problem, she has an enormous power within, what she is struggling with is the control. With her power quickly strengthening at alarming rate, and her displaying unique powers that were once feared, it makes grasping and controlling all this power unsteady and very dangerous. Yelena must learn to wield and control her magic quickly if she has any chance of surviving her homecoming to Sitia.

    Theirs a powerful magician stealing the souls of lesser magicians and claiming their magic for themselves. And if they're not stopped, not only will innocent lives be lost, but all of Sitia will fall under the control of the Soul Stealers power. Once the Soul Stealer claims enough souls and magical powers, he will be nearly unstoppable...

    With Yelena's strengthening power, and her unique abilities, she may be the only one equipped enough to stop the Soul Stealer before all of the Country plunges into darkness and evil...

    Yelena will have to dig deep within to discover who she really is and what she's actually capable of to complete the mission she's set out for. But she's unequipped to go at it alone. She must call on some old friends, including her most strongest ally of all, Valek, and build bonds with new allies in her hometown country of Sitia if she has any chance at stopping this madman before it's too late. But every step she takes seems like their is always someone there trying to keep her from conquering her goal. She will have to be prepared to face all, and determined to overcome the unthinkable if she's going to defeat the evil threatening to claim the country she's grown to love.

    MAGIC STUDY was almost as good as I hoped for, minus the issue I had with the relationship development, it was perfect! I only knocked a half of star off my rating for the lack of development in Yelena and Valek's relationship. BUT... I STILL LOVED THEM BOTH. No matter how much time they spent together or apart and how deep they're feelings were talked about with each other. I still enjoyed their time together and can't wait to see them reunite again in FIRE STUDY!!

    Overall, MAGIC STUDY was a magically alluring, and utterly addicting read from beginning to end. Maria V. Snyder captured my heart in POISON STUDY, and owned it with MAGIC STUDY, and I'm sure FIRE STUDY will be the link that ties them all together and completes my heart as whole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2015

    This is the second book in the Study series by Snyder and I love

    This is the second book in the Study series by Snyder and I loved it as much as the first! And that's saying a lot when it comes to books in series (usually I'm disappointed with the second book).

    What I liked the most was that we got to follow Yelena's continuing story, with some familiar characters along with a whole group of new characters. As with her first book in the series, Magic Study is a fast paced read. There is plenty of action and tense moments. That, along with Yelena's development as a character made it hard for me to put down. I was keen to see what would happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Your opinion

    I think you should rely on your own opinion and expieriences with other books. Just because somebody doesnt like this book doesnt mean you wont. No matter how you look at you wont know if you truly like the book until you read it. You can take in other peoples opinions but when it comes down to it, it is only your opinion that matters. Personally i loved the book and it was great along with the other series Maria V. Snyder wrote. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Loved it!

    This book was great, it had an amazing storyline, it had romance but wasn't stifled by it and action and intrigue keep you on the edge of your seat. This was a real page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    a rollercoaster ride

    I really enjoyed this book. The following 2 books in the series as well were a great adventure. i even started the next Trilogy by the same author. the heroine in this Study series is a perfect sTory of orphan to murderer to prisoner to yet more adventure. Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great strory telling

    Harrd to put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    :)

    This book was amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    This book was just as wild as the first one! so many twists and

    This book was just as wild as the first one! so many twists and turns, some you might see coming but others you never would have thought. love the new characters and relationships. As the main character Yelena finds out who she is and how magic is a part of her, you cant put the book down. i love the little details as well. i cant wait to read the final book in the series - Fire Study, im pretty sure its going to be amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    This book is very good. The plot, the story, the characters. I c

    This book is very good. The plot, the story, the characters. I couldn't help but to fall in love with it, from the very first book. Her writing itself isn't the best, but more than makes up for it in the story itself. This series is such a refreshing breath away from what I will call the dystopian fad right now. While it is a dystopian novel, its plot is completely different and more original than the hunger games, divergent, matched and the other popular dystopian novels that are hitting it big right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    eh... the writing improved.

    I thought id give thiseres one more chnce sincthe premise in the first was intriguing. The writing in this book is much better than the first but its still pretty amateur.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good but at as Good as the First

    I love the Poison Study series. I could read them over and over again and never get tired of them. I love the characters, the world, the writing, everything. If you haven¿t read my Poison Study review, you should. I gave it rave reviews and consider it among my favorites. Comparing the two books, I have to say that I liked Poison Study more than Magic Study but I still enjoyed it nonetheless.

    In Magic Study, Yelena leaves Ixia and returns to her homeland, Sitia, to study magic from Master Magician Irys. Yelena must control her magical abilities or risk her life and everything she knows. Prior to her magic studies at the Citadel, she meets her family for the first time since she was a littler girl. All might sound like things are going well for Yelena but despite her returning to her home country she is still technically a foreigner. She doesn¿t receive as warm of welcome as you would expect from her brother. On top of that, upon arrival at the citadel, she is met with distrust from the other Master Magicians for her connections to Ixia. Even her classmates, who are a few years younger than her, give her hard time.

    Despite the not so good start to her life in Sitia, Yelena earns respect from the others through her actions. She is a talented magician, skilled fighter, and among the few who can stop a magician that¿s been killing young girls for power.

    Magic Study is a fun fantasy read. Yelena is a strong heroine and one of my favorite heroines of all time. Only in this book her actions are a little more frustrating for the reader. She frequently does things that she shouldn¿t which often results in her being kidnapped. And that¿s another thing, kidnappings seem to be a common theme through the Poison Study series and it does get a little old after awhile. With Poison Study being as awesome as it was, book two fell a little short of what I was hoping for. Regardless, I still had a ton of fun reading it and had a hard time putting the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Awesome Dystopian Series

    Love this book! I've read the three books in the series about 5 times already. The first book, "Poison Study", hooks you from the very beginning by getting you to identify and pity the heroine, despite her past. "Magic Study" has the same quick-paced plot, laced with intense twists and turns, just like the first book. And "Fire Study" is just as intense, tying it all together. The reader really connects with the Heroine, Yelena, in a way that most novelists can't anymore: emotionally. I find myself looking for Snyder's characters in many of the books I read now, but nothing really compares. I never read anything "science-fiction/fantasy" until I picked up this series. It's opened me to a whole new world of things other than the H.G. Wells/Bradbury/Asimov types of sci-fi. If you like dystopian novels, realistic fantasy, a bit of science-fiction, or a mixture of all three, you're going to love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Good...but still missing something

    I really enjoyed this because it sucked my in from the very beginning. However, i felt it was lacking in the romance department. The relationship seem to be rushed and did not developed naturally. I think if this had been written for an adult audience with a romantic passion, it would have pushed the book to it's potential. But for a YA novel it's good and clean. I recommend reading the short story "Assassin Study" before picking this book up. It can be found on the author's website for free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Amazing%21

    I+have+been+reading+the+%22Study%22+series+over+and+over+again.+They%27re+fun+and+refreshing.+These+series+are+quite+the+easy+read%2C+yet+so+very+detailed.+If+you+like+fantasy+and+adventure+then+these+books+are+like+a+new+found+treasure%2C+just+waiting+to+be+devoured.%0AREAD+THEM%21+They+won%27+t+let+you+down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 269 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14