BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Magic Study

Average Rating 4.5
( 265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(162)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 265 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    absolutely loved it

    This book was so interesting I would get irritated each time there would be interruptions to my reading. It was that good. I had to keep reading until the final page. I just had to. If you thought Poison Study was good, Magic Study gets even better.

    Yelena is thrown into a brand new situation, and now has to re-adjust accordingly. This brings about a new set of characters, a good solid character development within Yelena, and more Valek (my favorite part!). As in the previous novel, there's mystery and intrigue thrown into the story but the mystery aspect of the book is more violent and much darker than Poison Study. The romance between Yelena and Valek is still there, and it was nice to see them together as they do compliment each other well as a couple. There was an interesting chemistry between Yelena and Cahil - although Cahil acted like a spoiled selfish brat in the end and that does pave the way towards the third book.

    It was nice to see Ari and Jaco back, and while they were out of the picture, Yelena's horse Kiki provided some of the comic relief. It was also nice to see Yelena hasn't really changed, although I did notice she had really great comebacks and her wit was still there, sharp as ever. I enjoyed the connection between Kiki and Yelena. Better yet, Kiki's requests for peppermints and apples always generated a smile from me.

    I'm not sure if I like Leif or not. I hated him at first because of his treatment of Yelena, and once you found out his dirty little secret, I still hated him even more. As his behavior changed, I'm still not sure what to think about him. I'd have to say, all the characters in the books are very well done and each one memorable so they're not just any character that you'll forget later as you progress further into the book. They had distinct personalities which helps to memorize who is who (as the cast in this book is a bit big).

    The fantasy aspect of the book is good and the magic is easy to understand. I liked how characters had a specific specialization in a certain aspect of magic - in that way they're not too overpowered and they have their weaknesses as well. Yelena seems to be the jack of all trades when it comes to magic but her talents also has risks and consequences as well.

    Magic Study did live up to its predecessor and achieved more. It had an interesting plot filled with mystery, fantasy, and intrigue but it also featured well written memorable characters (horses included!). The ending prepares the reader for the third book and I'm definitely going to be reading that one soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Amazing sequel

    Magic Study is almost as good as its predecessor. I liked how the author put together some loose ends without wrapping up the entire story. I like the mystery mixed with fantasy and romance. That was the only thing that I wanted more of in this book, more Yelena and Valek time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fantastic fantasy

    Yelena has left Ixia where she was under an order of execution to return to her birth home of Sitia where she once was kidnapped when she was just a child. She wants to meet her birth family and study magic at the Citadel under the tutelage of her mentor, Master Magician Irys. Her first disappointment comes when her brother Leif thinks she is an lxian spy. When she kidnapped by the only living royal who has a claim to the Ixian throne, Leif sides with him. --- When she arrives at the Citadel, she is mind raped by the First Magician who admits she is not a spy. Yelena¿s magic is powerful and doesn¿t always work the way it is supposed to because she lacks experience and training. Her lover in Ixia, Valek, second only to the leader Commander Ambrose journeys into Sitia as part of the delegation and since he is immune to magic he is the perfect person to save her from two kidnappers and an attempt on her life. However, to save the life of an innocent, Yelena must risk everything. She also knows that failure means rebels will overthrow the lawful government. --- Picking up where POISON STUDY left off, MAGIC STUDY is a fantastic fantasy set in a world where magic exists in some countries and banned in others. Yelena¿s adventures have forced her to mature and though she doesn¿t know the extent of her powers, she knows that she wants to learn to use them to help people. Her time in lxia and her roots in Sitia give her an understanding of both countries that nobody else has which means she has plenty of options for her future. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Your opinion

    I think you should rely on your own opinion and expieriences with other books. Just because somebody doesnt like this book doesnt mean you wont. No matter how you look at you wont know if you truly like the book until you read it. You can take in other peoples opinions but when it comes down to it, it is only your opinion that matters. Personally i loved the book and it was great along with the other series Maria V. Snyder wrote. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Loved it!

    This book was great, it had an amazing storyline, it had romance but wasn't stifled by it and action and intrigue keep you on the edge of your seat. This was a real page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    a rollercoaster ride

    I really enjoyed this book. The following 2 books in the series as well were a great adventure. i even started the next Trilogy by the same author. the heroine in this Study series is a perfect sTory of orphan to murderer to prisoner to yet more adventure. Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great strory telling

    Harrd to put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    :)

    This book was amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    This book was just as wild as the first one! so many twists and

    This book was just as wild as the first one! so many twists and turns, some you might see coming but others you never would have thought. love the new characters and relationships. As the main character Yelena finds out who she is and how magic is a part of her, you cant put the book down. i love the little details as well. i cant wait to read the final book in the series - Fire Study, im pretty sure its going to be amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    This book is very good. The plot, the story, the characters. I c

    This book is very good. The plot, the story, the characters. I couldn't help but to fall in love with it, from the very first book. Her writing itself isn't the best, but more than makes up for it in the story itself. This series is such a refreshing breath away from what I will call the dystopian fad right now. While it is a dystopian novel, its plot is completely different and more original than the hunger games, divergent, matched and the other popular dystopian novels that are hitting it big right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    eh... the writing improved.

    I thought id give thiseres one more chnce sincthe premise in the first was intriguing. The writing in this book is much better than the first but its still pretty amateur.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good but at as Good as the First

    I love the Poison Study series. I could read them over and over again and never get tired of them. I love the characters, the world, the writing, everything. If you haven¿t read my Poison Study review, you should. I gave it rave reviews and consider it among my favorites. Comparing the two books, I have to say that I liked Poison Study more than Magic Study but I still enjoyed it nonetheless.

    In Magic Study, Yelena leaves Ixia and returns to her homeland, Sitia, to study magic from Master Magician Irys. Yelena must control her magical abilities or risk her life and everything she knows. Prior to her magic studies at the Citadel, she meets her family for the first time since she was a littler girl. All might sound like things are going well for Yelena but despite her returning to her home country she is still technically a foreigner. She doesn¿t receive as warm of welcome as you would expect from her brother. On top of that, upon arrival at the citadel, she is met with distrust from the other Master Magicians for her connections to Ixia. Even her classmates, who are a few years younger than her, give her hard time.

    Despite the not so good start to her life in Sitia, Yelena earns respect from the others through her actions. She is a talented magician, skilled fighter, and among the few who can stop a magician that¿s been killing young girls for power.

    Magic Study is a fun fantasy read. Yelena is a strong heroine and one of my favorite heroines of all time. Only in this book her actions are a little more frustrating for the reader. She frequently does things that she shouldn¿t which often results in her being kidnapped. And that¿s another thing, kidnappings seem to be a common theme through the Poison Study series and it does get a little old after awhile. With Poison Study being as awesome as it was, book two fell a little short of what I was hoping for. Regardless, I still had a ton of fun reading it and had a hard time putting the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Awesome Dystopian Series

    Love this book! I've read the three books in the series about 5 times already. The first book, "Poison Study", hooks you from the very beginning by getting you to identify and pity the heroine, despite her past. "Magic Study" has the same quick-paced plot, laced with intense twists and turns, just like the first book. And "Fire Study" is just as intense, tying it all together. The reader really connects with the Heroine, Yelena, in a way that most novelists can't anymore: emotionally. I find myself looking for Snyder's characters in many of the books I read now, but nothing really compares. I never read anything "science-fiction/fantasy" until I picked up this series. It's opened me to a whole new world of things other than the H.G. Wells/Bradbury/Asimov types of sci-fi. If you like dystopian novels, realistic fantasy, a bit of science-fiction, or a mixture of all three, you're going to love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Good...but still missing something

    I really enjoyed this because it sucked my in from the very beginning. However, i felt it was lacking in the romance department. The relationship seem to be rushed and did not developed naturally. I think if this had been written for an adult audience with a romantic passion, it would have pushed the book to it's potential. But for a YA novel it's good and clean. I recommend reading the short story "Assassin Study" before picking this book up. It can be found on the author's website for free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Amazing%21

    I+have+been+reading+the+%22Study%22+series+over+and+over+again.+They%27re+fun+and+refreshing.+These+series+are+quite+the+easy+read%2C+yet+so+very+detailed.+If+you+like+fantasy+and+adventure+then+these+books+are+like+a+new+found+treasure%2C+just+waiting+to+be+devoured.%0AREAD+THEM%21+They+won%27+t+let+you+down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A sequel that doesn't disappoint.

    Yelena learns of the Zaltana clan and that they may be her family. While her parents are happy to be reunited with her, her brother Leif seems to feel the complete opposite. Soon Yelena meets some new characters including one of royalty it seems. She later arrives at a place that will help her control her magical ability. It's not long till she hears there's been kidnappings happening and that the person is a magician stealing souls. Yelena has more to deal with in this book and like how she didn't give up but kept trying to think of different solutions in certain situations, even if they seem reckless at times. Anyway the setting in both books is cool. Will Yelena learn to control her powers with help from Irys or will they still be uncontrollable and unpredictable? What's with her brother's attitude towards her? For any reader that likes a good fantasy book, with a little romance, action and suspense including a heroine that isn't annoying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Pretty good

    While this second book wasn't QUITE as epic as the first, it was pretty good. The magic was believable and real, though I liked it a bit better when she was hiding from her true self by not even admitting she had it. She advances a little quickly in the ranks of students, which bothered me just a little bit. Despite the book flaws, it was actually really good and believable as a whole. Anyways, definately read it, I highly recommend the series, because the next book is UNBELIEVABLY GOOD. Check it out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    I love this book series!

    I love this author and her books, this series is amazing. I don't usually like unbelievable fiction but these books really captivate you. This is the story continued with Yelena learning more and more about her magic and how to direct it. Again, I am not into magic but this series is not hokey, it is a great story that is hard to put down. I am excited about the next book in the series, fire study. You will love these books and not be disappointed, a great book! The characters are fun too-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love this series

    I thought that the first book in this trilogy was awsome because of the action and the mytery and the fantasy,(with a hint of romance)! I couldnt wait to read this book and i am glad i picked it up because even though this book has so much going on and there are a lot of names to remember its amazin!You really should read the first book thogh before reading this or else it wont make sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 265 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14