Customer Reviews for

Magic Study

Average Rating 4.5
( 267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(163)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    I love this book series!

    I love this author and her books, this series is amazing. I don't usually like unbelievable fiction but these books really captivate you. This is the story continued with Yelena learning more and more about her magic and how to direct it. Again, I am not into magic but this series is not hokey, it is a great story that is hard to put down. I am excited about the next book in the series, fire study. You will love these books and not be disappointed, a great book! The characters are fun too-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love this series

    I thought that the first book in this trilogy was awsome because of the action and the mytery and the fantasy,(with a hint of romance)! I couldnt wait to read this book and i am glad i picked it up because even though this book has so much going on and there are a lot of names to remember its amazin!You really should read the first book thogh before reading this or else it wont make sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Gem

    In the second installment, Yelena continues to evolve and become stronger. Her ability to adapt and develop more courage as the struggles become bigger is inspiring and very believable. The political intrigue becomes more complex, but her trustworthiness and integrity helps her become a central character with many. Her relationship with Valek also become more intense and deep, which is very satisfying to read. Many new characters are introduced, but you never get lost because of the solid development of each character. The world Snyder creates is most believable, and is wonderfully rich. This whole series is highly recommended. I read this series in one weekend. Not much sleep, but it was worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books i've read

    This series is really great. I love the charaters and wish there where more then three books in this series. Any one considering reading this series should totally go for it. It's worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Maria Snyder is amazing

    Yelena is a AMAZING women! i wish this was a real word because i'd move there !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful second book!

    I am happy to say I loved this book almost as much as the first. I loved reading about Yelena's home land, and her struggle to find her place in it. All my favorite characters from book one make an appearance in this book, and some new ones added. I didn't like Leif at first, but he grew on me. He's got some heavy baggage to bear and it's very evident in his dealing with Yelena. I particularly loved The Moon Man. I don't know if the author intended for him to be so humorous, or if it was just the way I read it. I also really enjoyed Yelena's new found connection with the horses (probably because I have a special fondness for them as well). The book was fast paced and I loved every minute of it. So why did I like it slightly less than the first? Honestly, I don't think I could put my finger on it. Poison Study just had something extra.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Series

    Good second book in the series. Recommend reading Poison Study first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed.

    the 1st book was so good and i couldnt wait to read next, but half way through i found myself just rushing to get get through it so i could be done with the series. i mean it was good but it was terrible compared to the first.
    Valek doesnt show up till the middle of the book. just dont be excited about this book, its okay but nothing like the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    Loved it!

    Great book! Definitely lives up to Poison Study and I can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good stuff!

    IT's not often I have such a positive reaction to an author's work, but I read the first book, Poison Study in an afternoon (in the book store) and took Magic Study home that day. I finished it in one sitting as well and went on to the last, Fire Sudy. All in all, I read all three books in the series in 3 days. The characters are beautifully drawn, the plots totally believeable in her universe, and fascinating enough to keep me reading and ignoring the demands of real life. I cannot recommend this author more highly, and I'd put her right up there with Laurel K. Hamilton and Mercedes Lackey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great read hard to put down.

    This book was so good, like watchin a movie unfold in my head. This books was a truly enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Original Fantasy series

    I picked up Poison study years ago in a Barnes and Nobles store and kept meaning to pick up its sequel. When I finally did I wasn't disappointed. The story line, Characters and setting are completely original. She is a fun sassy heroine. I really enjoy this series. If you're a fantasy fan these are definitely worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    Magic Study

    I started reading Poison Study based on the reviews of the book. I absolutely LOVED it! Snyder's writing showed imagination and style. I related to the all the characters and felt a close connection to them and the experiences that Yelena went through. I was highly anticipating reading Magic Study. The book picks up where Poison Study left off and I still had this connection, but I lost some of it as the story progressed. There was so much hatred there in Sitia. Everyone was trying to control everyone else. They were treacherous at times. At one point, I was ready for Yelena to say forget it, and just go back to Ixia and Valek. Take her chances with being executed. I didn't care for the way certain circumstances were handled. I understand that Yelena's way of doing things was to jump in feet first and go for what she knows. She did this without sometimes thinking of the consequences or the advice of others. But at least in Poison Study, I felt that she did the best she could under the circumstances she was in. She wasn't in those circumstances because of her own choosing. Overall, I did enjoy the story. I definitely recommend it to others. I eagerly anticipate Fire Study. I'm hoping it takes me back to how I felt about Poison Study which had me hook, line, and sinker!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    Looove it!

    I love this second installment way more than the first. Now that the characters are introduced and are more familiar to the reader, it seems the author feels more comfortable in adding more action and intense situations. I love the humor and couldn't help but continue the book till the end. This book I love more than the first because it just seemed that throughout the first book was all introductions to character and loose plots and information that was all over the place. The second book seems to have been written better with different plots twisting and relating to the big picture. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    Magic Study is the perfect follow up to Poison Study, by Maria V. Snyder. It continues the story of Yelena, former poison taster and exile from Ixia. Separated from her lover, she goes south to Sitia to find her family and to study magic. The plot is complex and enchanting, drawing in the reader as the book not only yields exciting adventure and action, but also delves deeper into Yelena's character and magical abilities, setting up a tale that leaves the reader eager for the final book in the series (Fire Study).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Pure magic

    Magic Study is a great follow up to Maria V. Snyder's Poison Study. Yelena is back. With the help of Irys, the fourth magician of Sitia she is reunited with her family after fourteen long years. But with mixed feelings. Some love her and are happy to see her returned, while others including her own brother think she is a Ixia spy. It doesn't help that she prefers to dress like a Ixian. As her magic develops, rare talents soon show that she might be a soul-finder, which doesn't help to levitate any of the unease. Throw in a diplomatic mission from Ixia and life is complete. Valek in disguise just what she needed, as she was sure missing her life in Ixia, or at least the love of her life Valek. Sitia just as it was in Ixia shows to be hard life. With a few snatched moments with Valek she is a bit happier than before. With a rouge magician as a serial killer she is forced to try to stop him with the help of Valek and her other friends. But to what end. Would helping out his lover get him caught and sentenced to death. In the end Yelena is forced to once again stay behin in Sitia. While Valek is forced to return to Ixia. But at least they still are both alive. Their love survived the separation once before. But will it again. Check out Fire Study March 2008 to find out. I know I will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    Great second book in the series

    his book is a great book for adults who want to venture from the ordinary reading of plain romance novels. I usually go for the historical romance novels that all have the set pattern of girl meets guy, girl and guy fall in love but wont admit it, girl or guy gets in bad trouble, and finally they tell each other. This book has turned my attention to a new line of reading. I am compleatly hooked on her books now. And after reading Poison Study, I had to move on to Magic Study and am now trying to patiently wait for the next instalment, Fire Study, to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Fast-paced sequel to 'Magic Study'

    Wow!, what a ride!! Yelena keeps on the edge of my seat waiting for each challenge she faces. The right mixture of romance and magic that combines quite a punch...makes me impatiently wait for the next installment 'Fire Study'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Magical

    Yelena finally got out. Out of Ixia. And out of her job as food taster. Although, now she's not so sure she wants to leave. She leaves Valek behind as she ventures out into Sitia. There she discovers the family that she was stolen from. But Yelena doesn't feel like it's home. Her brother, for reasons she doesn't know, hates her. Others think she's a spy. But only to make matters worse, Yelena discovers the heir to the Ixian throne-who everyone thought was dead- and discovers a chain of murders. Typically, Yelena is drawn in and finds herself caught in a chase for the murderer. The story hurls the reader through the pages at a fast pace. The world building was excellent. Readers will wish for a third book. Something they won't have to wait too long for because the third book 'Fire Study' is being published in March.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Magic Study was incredible. It picks up right where Poison Study left off. Yelena is off to meet the family she never knew and is worried about what they might be like. She soon discovers she has loving parents and a not so loving older brother. As soon as Yelena meets her family she must leave to go to the Magician's Keep in order to learn to harness her powers and basically train. But of course there is so much mroe involved. Something bad is happening to young girls with magical abilities in the area. Yelena suddenly gets involved to help with her friends, some old, some new to assist her. But she cannot help feeling that her brother may be plotting against her. Is he or is it in her head? Yelena will have to try to settle the rift between them while trying to deal with an evil enemy. Unfortunately neither one is going to be easy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14