Customer Reviews for

Magic Study

Average Rating 4.5
( 263 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    Great second book in the series

    his book is a great book for adults who want to venture from the ordinary reading of plain romance novels. I usually go for the historical romance novels that all have the set pattern of girl meets guy, girl and guy fall in love but wont admit it, girl or guy gets in bad trouble, and finally they tell each other. This book has turned my attention to a new line of reading. I am compleatly hooked on her books now. And after reading Poison Study, I had to move on to Magic Study and am now trying to patiently wait for the next instalment, Fire Study, to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Fast-paced sequel to 'Magic Study'

    Wow!, what a ride!! Yelena keeps on the edge of my seat waiting for each challenge she faces. The right mixture of romance and magic that combines quite a punch...makes me impatiently wait for the next installment 'Fire Study'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Magic Study was incredible. It picks up right where Poison Study left off. Yelena is off to meet the family she never knew and is worried about what they might be like. She soon discovers she has loving parents and a not so loving older brother. As soon as Yelena meets her family she must leave to go to the Magician's Keep in order to learn to harness her powers and basically train. But of course there is so much mroe involved. Something bad is happening to young girls with magical abilities in the area. Yelena suddenly gets involved to help with her friends, some old, some new to assist her. But she cannot help feeling that her brother may be plotting against her. Is he or is it in her head? Yelena will have to try to settle the rift between them while trying to deal with an evil enemy. Unfortunately neither one is going to be easy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    A satisfying Sequel

    This is a very different story from the one found in Poison Study. Poison Study is coming of age story in many ways. It follows a battered 'but by no means broken' girl on her path to herself and her freedom. The second book Magic Study finds her on her own again, this time so she can learn how to wield the power she has found within herself to help others. It is the perfect set up in the sense that the amazing repertoire between Valek and Yelena 'our girl' may be lost for most of the story but we see Yelena truly find her own 'something that would have been hard to do with her highly protective, nearly invincible lover cracking his knuckles over her shoulder...not that Valek would ever be so overt'. I have high hopes that the soon-to-be-released Fire Study will reach the bar set by its predecessors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Magic Study

    After randomly picking Poison Study off the shelf and reading it, I was hooked. And I could not wait until Magic Study came out. Poison Study and Magic Study are must-haves. Maria Snyder is an amazing author. She had me captured in from cover to cover in her books, never wanting to put them down. Her characters are realistic with flaws while the setting and plot are fantasical. Both Poison Study and Magic Study are filled with action and excitement. With every turn of the page new magic is revealed. Maria Snyder is a captivating author. You wont want to miss these books nor will you want to miss out on the excitement of her upcoming novel Fire Study.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Snyder's writing is simply Magical!!!

    Maria Snyder's writing is transcending. Her character development, writing style and personal genre are unparalleled by any writer I've encountered. It's neither romance, fantasy nor sci-fi but a incredible, mind blowing work of fiction that can be enjoyed by all. This writer is going to sore to the top of your reading list. Start at the beginning with 'Poison Study' and enjoy the enchanted ride with Yelena, the prime character, as new worlds, ideas and insights into society wrap your mind with wonder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    A great adventure!

    After reading Poison Study, I couldn't wait to get my hands on the second book. I consumed it in a day and a half and can't wait until March when the next book comes out! I admire the writer for making a book with a lot of death, torture, and murder into a heartwarming adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Let down, it is not,

    When I first read Poison Study, I fell in love with it. [And for all the Valek lovers reading, I know. I love him, too.] I was worried it would be a complete let-down to it's presider, but it was just as amazing. I would recommend Poison/Magic Study to anyone. I already have fellow book-lovers crawling to me for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Delivers on its promise!!

    This book is excellent! I was a bit apprehensive that it would not live up to Poison Study, but those fears were, happily, quickly dispelled. I loved this book. I'm so relieved! I cannot, can NOT, wait for the next one. Kudos to the author!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8