Customer Reviews for

Magic Time

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2005

    Couldn't Put It Down

    At first, I'll admit, it was a little slow. When I first started reading the book, I read about 30 pages and put it down. But when I actually got the initiative to pick it up again, I couldn't put it down. It a very good book. I'm usually not a Sci-Fi fan but this book was defintely a good read. It's recommended to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    SciFi/Fantasy Thriller Delivers the Goods

    I had not realized when I started the novel that this was part of a series, and has a follow-up book, so I kept wondering why we didn't get more explanations about what The Source is. Seems it's part of a top-secret government project that has gotten out of control and has spread through the country causing human mutations - some good, some grotesque. Typical of every good book of this genre, a small group of disparate characters must band together and go on a quest, in this case to find The Source. The story moves right along, taking the reader with it through a series of adventures (and a few misadventures). I enjoyed the book, but am not fascinated enough to read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    Great Book

    I have been searching for a new series that would captivate my attention for a long while now. This book fulfilled my greatest hopes for a new series. The plot, which I will not go into here, was intriguing and imaginative. The characters started quite shallow and almost two-dimensional untill magic regained control of the world and thier destinies took over, from there on out, the characters took on so much depth and turmoil that I could not turn my back on them for a moment as to miss thier next struggle. The ending was as I expected for a trilogy, not there, but it did encourage me to get the next book. Definately a must read. Easily on par with Terry Brooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    A very thought out book

    This book is a great read. This book is the flipside of every other fantasy book written. I am looking foreward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    reminiscent of Stephen King┬┐s THE STAND

    A group of scientists were working on a top secret project known to them as the Source but what they let loose changed the face of America. Technology has ground to a halt and is about the level that existed during the Middle Ages in Europe. It also changed the DNA of some of the population, turning some humans into creatures like Flairs, elf like beings that the Source uses as a power supplement. New York Lawyer Cal Griffin raised his little sister Trina, but when she changed and disappeared, he vowed to find her and stop the Source from using and harming her. He gathers together a small group of traveling companions including the mystical homeless man Herman Golding, Russian Doctor Lysenko who used to run a hot dog stand, and Colleen, an ordinary woman. During their travels, they meet another group of people who can help them in their quest if they risk helping them out on a very dangerous situation. Some of the questions left hanging in the prequel are answered yet there remains many questions that should be answered in the next book in this series. Readers observe more of the revisions and modifications brought about by THE SOURCE to include geographical alterations executed by this perverted energy and more enlightening to the reader the changes happening to Cal and his friends. The authors have written a work that is reminiscent of Stephen King¿s THE STAND. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    Good story but don't be fooled

    "Magic Time" starts with an interesting premise. What if all our technology stopped working and magic regained the upper hand? The cause for this Tolkeinesk Armageddon is a government sponsored experiment gone wrong, but that is less important than the result which is a world where humans are forced to relate to one another on a more human basis without the mechanical aids we have all grown dependant upon. Lawyers become dragons and ex fencing champions become later-day knights on bikes. The concept is great, the problem is that without warning the authors have tricked the reader into thinking he is getting a self contained story while in reality he is getting the first part of a series with no end in sight. I love trilogies too but how about a little warning here guys? There is no clue on the cover or anywhere in the book that this is only the first part of a series. The ending does not even make a pass at creating a sense of closure. Absolutely nothing is resolved. There is no excuse for this other that a blatant scam to sell more books. I feel that if an author wants to sell a trilogy he should warn the readers up front. I find this the worst type of false advertising.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    delicious urban fantasy

    In South Dakota, a group of scientists, mostly physicists, work on an energy field dubbed the ¿Source¿. The Department of Defense and the CIA fund the research. However, the group sends false reports claiming work on a mining project, but the President of the United States McKay has heard whispers of a different agenda and sends an agent to uncover the truth. <P>Agent Teri Belner observes something that frightens her so much she knows she must warn the President that these scientists in South Dakota need to be stopped at any cost. However, before she can accomplish her mission, the scientists unleash the Source, which shuts down all electrical power in the world. Some humans are converted into monsters with New York lawyer Cal Griffin desperately trying to find help for his sister caught in the transformation process. <P>This novel is reminiscent of King¿s The Stand, but clearly leaves threads for a sequel or two. The tale is loaded with high levels of suspense and action but readers will have to buy the next book for the many unanswered questions. The heroes and heroines of MAGIC TIME seem real and many receive empathy for their plight. Marc Scott Zicrea and Barbara Hambly will keep readers enthralled from start to finish with this paranormal work of delicious urban fantasy. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1