Customer Reviews for

Magic Tree House: Books 1-4 Ebook Collection: Mystery of the Tree House

Average Rating 4
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A Great Set !

This is a great set. My children love it and I love it too because now they are reading and they don't mind reading it on their own since they are such good stories. It keeps them very interested in the stories and they are always anxious to read to the next series.

posted by Anonymous on December 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

The Magic Tree House Series by Oscar

Did you ever want to travel the world? Then read The Magic Tree House series. They are great books written and illustrated by Mary Pope Osborne. The stories are about a boy and girl helping a magical librarian. They have to go to different places and a long time ago...
Did you ever want to travel the world? Then read The Magic Tree House series. They are great books written and illustrated by Mary Pope Osborne. The stories are about a boy and girl helping a magical librarian. They have to go to different places and a long time ago too. Some places have a lot of animals because those places are along time ago. They have to meet a lot of people or animals to help them find stuff. They have colorful titles, but inside of the books have barely any pictures and they are black and gray. The books are great. You can learn facts from these books. It also feels like a real adventure. I recommend these books to 1st, 2nd, and 3rd graders, but some 4th and 5th graders can read it if they want to. You can sometimes feel like your Jack the boy or Annie the girl. The setting takes place in Frog Creek Woods and around the world. The main characters are Jack and Annie and supporting character are Morgan Le Fay and sometimes the mom and dad. The books are definitely fiction because the plot is about Jack and Annie going in a tree house that could take them anywhere. The first books only have 10 chapters but when you get to the higher books there are more chapters, and the chapters are longer. Some books have golden words and those books are the higher books. When you get to the books you should finish them in about an hour or half. I hope you read this book because it's a great book.

posted by 1039366 on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    The Magic Tree House Series by Oscar

    Did you ever want to travel the world? Then read The Magic Tree House series. They are great books written and illustrated by Mary Pope Osborne. The stories are about a boy and girl helping a magical librarian. They have to go to different places and a long time ago too. Some places have a lot of animals because those places are along time ago. They have to meet a lot of people or animals to help them find stuff. They have colorful titles, but inside of the books have barely any pictures and they are black and gray. The books are great. You can learn facts from these books. It also feels like a real adventure. I recommend these books to 1st, 2nd, and 3rd graders, but some 4th and 5th graders can read it if they want to. You can sometimes feel like your Jack the boy or Annie the girl. The setting takes place in Frog Creek Woods and around the world. The main characters are Jack and Annie and supporting character are Morgan Le Fay and sometimes the mom and dad. The books are definitely fiction because the plot is about Jack and Annie going in a tree house that could take them anywhere. The first books only have 10 chapters but when you get to the higher books there are more chapters, and the chapters are longer. Some books have golden words and those books are the higher books. When you get to the books you should finish them in about an hour or half. I hope you read this book because it's a great book.

    31 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2004

    A Great Set !

    This is a great set. My children love it and I love it too because now they are reading and they don't mind reading it on their own since they are such good stories. It keeps them very interested in the stories and they are always anxious to read to the next series.

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    One of the best books I have read. I loved every minute reading this

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    mom whos son hated to read until now

    My son hated to read. I bought him his first Tree House book a few months ago and now he loves to read. He loves traveling to different countries with Jack and Annie. He can't wait to get to the next adventure. Great books, highly recommended.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    As a child, these books were the books that helped me become such a fantastic reader:]

    I have to say, I love these books. I read a lot of adult books, including Stephen King, Nicholas Sparks, Nora Roberts, and Danielle Steel, but all of these books were the books that got me 'into' reading. Even to this day, me being 13, I still want to sit down and read a good kid book and everytime I do I think of these books. I highly recommend that you let your children read these series. They are very imaginative and creative. They truly helped me in school. [SRAIGHT A'S TILL THIS DAY.] :]

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My son loved these books!

    I bought this set for my first grader and he absolutely loved them. He is learning new words and things about new places. The stories are very age appropriate and entertaining.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    My grandson and I read the first Magic Treehouse together a coup

    My grandson and I read the first Magic Treehouse together a couple of months before his fifth birthday, and I was surprised that he was totally absorbed in the book, which was the first "real" book without illustrations that he had read to him. Now, a year later, he is on #39 and reading the books to me (with a few requests for help with words and their meanings). As an educator, I am absolutely thrilled that this series is so educational about history and different cultures -- and particularly that the stories are so intriguing that I love them as much as my grandson. I teach at an international school in Beijing and have lived in Japan and Switzerland and Brazil, as well, so I'm just as excited to find cultural references to food, traditions, and people that are accurate and interesting. I highly recommend these books to all parents and grandparents and teachers. These are the kinds of books that will "hook" children into being life-long readers.

    Five Stars for firing up the power of a child's imagination and being a solid book for beginning independent readers. Few illustrations are the whole point of these books, which encourage creativity of the mind!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    I really enjoyed this book...

    I would recommend to my cousin because he is just in first grade and I think he would enjoy it as much as I did.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Madison

    I love Magic Tree House books!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Lili

    4 books all in 1!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Love

    These books are great for any age group, and is very intertaining..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Peanut Kid

    Well if you want to join a chat room search up abe licon gets his chance go to page 2 of 2 and tap the last book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    good for early readers

    This series is geared toward younger kids and very age appropriate.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Mean

    It mean to say that these books are boring to other people because mabey some aother people like these books. One question for you how old are you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    BORING!!!!!

    These are the worst books in my life.......
    The magic tree house books arent good for me it makes me barf to death.
    Sorry Mary Pope Osborn but mabey next time wrighting another series, more intrasting charaters, and not let it be a tree house...
    I need half a star too!
    I dont know how my sister likes these books a least she used to i hope.....

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I bought a few books for my kids this past week as an early X-mas gift, and this set was one of them. would recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Great for beginning chapter books.

    My 5 year loves to read. He just became ready for chapter type books, and we thought this set suited him just fine. It was perfect, he didn't need to ask for help on a single word. He loves the thrill of the storylines, he gets absorbed into their world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Great Pick!

    I started reading these to my five yr old son. Every night he reminds me that we need to read it. THe price is right, and we can NEVER find them in the library. #3 was lost, they said. So it made it difficult. I have reccommended them to all my friends!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    My 5 year old son and I cant get enough

    When I started reading the magical treehouse series to my 5 yr old son, I was honestly surprised when he was able to tell me what chapter we were on, and what was happening in the story from the night before. He is so excited to go to bed now, just to find out what Jack and Annie are going to be discovering next. Even though there arent pictures on every page, he begs me to keep going 'Just to the next chapter, mom, please'. The neatest part of the entire experience is the little facts that are in the books, that i hear him bring up when he's around his friends, 'did you know that a colt is a baby horse' and 'mom, i told timothy about the saber tooth tiger....' the author has worked some incredible lessons that are important for children to learn while their young. the books are amazing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    Loved by Mom and Daughter

    My 7 year old loves this series. I enjoy reading the books with her. Although the books are fiction, they contain alot of facts and interesting information. My daughter is not only improving her reading skills but also learning history and science.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10