Customer Reviews for

Magic Tree House Collection: Books 5-8 (Magic Tree House Series)

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great read

    That was great. I enjoyed every minute reading this.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    MAGIC TREE HOUSE - MOTIVATIONAL AND BACKGROUND BUILDING

    I am a teacher who teaches in an urban setting with a high percentage of "at-risk" students. Reading motivation, comprehension and instruction has always been a challenge. Any reading teacher knows that background knowledge and motivation are key factors in reading comprehension. My students often lack both. I have found the Magic Tree House books to be highly motivating and a good provider of background knowledge. My students beg me to let them read this series. Thank you, Mary Pope Osborne and Random House, for helping me reach these previously reluctant readers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Kids Book

    My daughters love these books enough to but them. they have done book reports on them for school and is one of the better series' written in a while that keeps a kid reading in the technology age. Dr. Sues is a fun series for little ones also but hard to keep older ones interested. these books do the trick. Chet hudson and loch tresure a good read too for older preteen kids.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    They are perfect for ages 6 or 7

    It is a wonderful introduction to chapter books. Children can keep focused because the stories flow fast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    Again, nice series

    Posted 12/28/09: My 6-year-old son enjoys this series. He borrowed his first book from a friend and then we continued to buy the additional books. He's a good reader for his age and these books give him a nice push. They're not too easy or too difficult. They're good for both girls and boys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    Jack and Annie are Great!!!

    I liked Magic Tree House #7 because the ice age that they went to was cool. It was exciting when they almost got eaten by a sabertooth cat but the wooly mammoth saved them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    my 4 year old loves these books

    We read these to our daughter and she loves them. They really get her asking questions about the things they en outer in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    NEVER AGAIN ORDERING ONLINE FROM BARNES & NOBLE

    I will purchase books from Barnes & Noble again but NEVER again online. This was my first and last time. I had ordered this collection (5-8) for a 8 year old's birthday along with 1-4. I had specified that I did not want one collection to be delivered to her without the other. Then I get an e-mail saying that 5-8 was being shipped while 1-4 was cancelled. After an hour long conversation with customer service on the phone I found out that 5-8 was already shipped and that upon checking my local store I could get 1-4 there. Needless to say I would have preferred if it were the other way around so it would be in number order. After demanding to speak to the supervisor I was even more mortified to find out that there were hundreds of 1-4 in the warehouse! So, why in the world didn't both collections go out at the same time? I e-mailed the corporate office with my disappointing experience but I have yet to hear back from them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Love it!

    Being a children's book author myself, I am quite judgmental when it comes to what my 6 year old reads! I can say though, I love this series. Also, like the author, we are a military family - so I love the concept of travel! My son has been to 3 schools, in 3 years - and so having stories that make this a dream come true - helps keep things positive in the house! I did start backwards, ordering stories 5-8 - so I cannot wait to present 1-4 for Christmas this year!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Recommend

    These books are great for those kids just starting the reading journey. After book 12 my Daughter just broke out. She has struggles but kept at it and these books helped keep her interest and mine too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love these books!

    My children just can't get enough of them. Great summer reading! They really enjoy action adventure, fantasy type books.

    And if you are looking for another wonderful book that your child will love reading that is also written with a great moral overtone, then I'd like to recommend a book called, Smitty's Cave Adventures. It is a thrilling action-adventure book about a boy who has incredible cave adventures all while learning valuable life's lessons. It's great for ages 8-12 and will keep the reader glued to the exciting story! I recommend it as a great summer reading book. My 10 yr old can't stop talking about it. He really loved this book! He is part of a book club and this book was the talk of the group!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    great for a second grade reader

    My son is in grade 2 and the magic tree house series is wonderful. He started from the beginning and enjoys the box sets going in order. It's not necessary but he enjoy's the books that way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Love this series!

    My 6 year old cannot wait for bedtime so that we can read a few more chapters of these books. She remembers the clues from one book to another, and these are the perfect reading level for her at this time. I expect she'll outgrow them sometime soon, but right now, these are her favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I won't buy the boxed set again - nor recommend!

    The stories are just as thrilling and well told- but they are broken up over a couple CD's. It makes it difficult to listen to- as well as put on an mp3 player for travel purposes. The disks are also not marked with the individual titles- We just aren't happy with this purchase and will buy them each separately from now on so that we get the whole story on one disk, and have a much easier time finding our favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Magic Tree House series

    I bought my seven year old grandson book #17 about a Titanic adventure that Jack and Annie have. He loved it so much, that I started buying him the boxed sets of four and he devours them the moment he gets them. He's up to #20!! He is what I would consider an advanced reaader for his age, so possible that affects his flying through these 7-12 year category books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    I enjoy all of the books by Mary Pope Osborne...

    I would recommend to everyone to read and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read the research book Tsunamis and Other Natural Disasters and it was great! I also really enjoy all of the Treehouse books that I have read so far. One of my favorites is Dragon of the Red Dawn. My favorite part about the book is the part where Jack and Annie ride the gold dragon with blue flames and help save the city in Japan called Edo, now called Toyko. Jeremiah- a third grader

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2