Customer Reviews for

Magic Under Glass

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok

The book started out pretty good and it just got better and better and i couldn't put it down the last few pages but the ending was really abrupt and i felt i could have lasted longer

posted by 18576023 on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Courtesy of Flamingnet.com Teen Book Reviews-enjoyed reading this fantasy

In the magical world of Lorinar, Nimira is an exotic and
dark-skinned trouser-girl who sings and dances in music
halls for money. She's away from her homeland of Tiansher
and is extremely poor, so when wealthy Hollin Parry offers
her a job singing with an automaton,...
In the magical world of Lorinar, Nimira is an exotic and
dark-skinned trouser-girl who sings and dances in music
halls for money. She's away from her homeland of Tiansher
and is extremely poor, so when wealthy Hollin Parry offers
her a job singing with an automaton, she readily accepts.
But rumors that the automaton is haunted cause Nimira to
closely examine it and she discovers that a fairy is trapped
in the mechanical body! As she talks to Erris, the fairy, he
tells her how the current Ambassador of Magic killed the
previous Ambassador and how fairies are being tortured by a
council of sorcerers that Hollin is a part of. As Nimira
tries to help Erris, she can't help falling in love with
him, and is determined to find a way to save him.

Ithought that Magic Under Glass was an okay book. The
synopsis makes it sound like it will be an action-packed
romantic fantasy, but I think it fell short of its
expectations. I liked how the author created a new magical
world, but it had parallels to history, like Lorinar
resembling England and Tiansher, where Nimira was born,
resembling India or Africa. I also liked the similarities to
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, which I am currently reading.
However, I didn't think the relationship between Nimira and
Erris, the automaton, was believable. She was supposed to be
in love with him, but there wasn't much development,
character- and relationship-wise, between the two of them.
Even though there were things I disliked about Magic Under
Glass, I still enjoyed reading it, and I think fans of
fantasy will find this book to their liking.


Reviewed by a young adult student reviewer
Flamingnet Book Reviews
Teen books reviewed by teen reviewers

posted by Flamingnet on March 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Courtesy of Flamingnet.com Teen Book Reviews-enjoyed reading this fantasy

    In the magical world of Lorinar, Nimira is an exotic and
    dark-skinned trouser-girl who sings and dances in music
    halls for money. She's away from her homeland of Tiansher
    and is extremely poor, so when wealthy Hollin Parry offers
    her a job singing with an automaton, she readily accepts.
    But rumors that the automaton is haunted cause Nimira to
    closely examine it and she discovers that a fairy is trapped
    in the mechanical body! As she talks to Erris, the fairy, he
    tells her how the current Ambassador of Magic killed the
    previous Ambassador and how fairies are being tortured by a
    council of sorcerers that Hollin is a part of. As Nimira
    tries to help Erris, she can't help falling in love with
    him, and is determined to find a way to save him.

    Ithought that Magic Under Glass was an okay book. The
    synopsis makes it sound like it will be an action-packed
    romantic fantasy, but I think it fell short of its
    expectations. I liked how the author created a new magical
    world, but it had parallels to history, like Lorinar
    resembling England and Tiansher, where Nimira was born,
    resembling India or Africa. I also liked the similarities to
    Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, which I am currently reading.
    However, I didn't think the relationship between Nimira and
    Erris, the automaton, was believable. She was supposed to be
    in love with him, but there wasn't much development,
    character- and relationship-wise, between the two of them.
    Even though there were things I disliked about Magic Under
    Glass, I still enjoyed reading it, and I think fans of
    fantasy will find this book to their liking.


    Reviewed by a young adult student reviewer
    Flamingnet Book Reviews
    Teen books reviewed by teen reviewers

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Magical Delight

    Magic Under Glass is a magical delight from debut author Jaclyn Dolamore. I've been excited for this one for a while, and happy to have finally read it. I was not really disappointed with it. It's a quick, easy read that was enjoyable. It was a bit predictable in areas, and I though Nimira's world could have been more laid out (example; a map would be nice). I also thought the love relationship between Erris and Nimira could of been more developed, it felt a bit to rush and unrealistic. Also the dialogue was a bit impractical, making the emotion lack in some areas. But even through all that, it was a amazing, interesting read. The story line was well put together and I was excited for every chapter. I loved all the characters, even the antagonist. I can't really choose a favorite, it's too hard. Maybe Nimira & Erris. I also thought it was pretty strong of how Nimira took the racism in a different country. She showed a lot of her culture in the book, by showing the difference of what is acceptable in one country and what is not in another. Which goes to show that what we take for granted, other cultures might not. I really noticed how much I take for granted in my country, when I went to Japan for two weeks.
    The ending hinted at a sequel, and I'm hoping there will be one because this book would feel uncompleted without it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Break Into this Glass

    Fantasy has never been one of my genres of choice but I have to say that I really enjoyed this book. It was a very quick read and loads of fun.

    The fairy world Dolamore created seemed to be just within the readers grasp yet still so far away in time. It most definitely had an Asian vibe for me, kinda Memoirs of a Geisha lite, which made it feel more exotic and mystical. A definite asset to the story for sure.

    Nimira and the automaton were both extremely compelling characters. In fact, for a virtually inanimate object the automaton was the most animated of them all. He seemed to be so much more alive and outspoken than Mr. Parry and in many cases Nim herself. His personality shone despite the rigid circumstances of his body, making him a really complex and dynamic character.

    Dolamore also did a spectacular job relationship building. Nim was the center of everything. In particular, I liked the way Nim's relationships with both Mr. Parry and the automaton developed and how Dolamore kept the reader guessing about where her loyalties ultimately lied. I'll add in here that I have to admit I was worried about how the relationship between she and the automaton would develop and expand but was pleasantly surprised by their interactions and the ultimate outcome.

    It's difficult to really speak to some of what happened in the book as I am not a fan of spoiling twists and turns. I will say that there were some interesting aspects to the story - some I anticipated and others that caught me off guard. A fun and interesting ride with lots of great twists and turns I would advise people to definitely pick this one up. It's an excellent book to dip your toe into the realm of fantasy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Misleading

    I read a lot of reviews about this book before getting it myself so my expectations were rather high. I adore the cover but find it slightly misleading after reading the book.
    The story begins with lots of background information on the main character, Namira, within a short space and I was unsure as to where the story was leading.
    It is set in what can only be described as a Victorian period, which is brought to life by the wonderful descriptions given. However, I did feel that I could not relate to any of the characters within the story which was a great disappointment to me.
    There is lots of tense drama within the story countered by some tender, touching moments between Namira and Erris (the automaton). The imagery had thoughts of the King & I popping into my imagination. I did giggle at one point where a statue which is described comparably to the image of the Statue of Liberty as the 'goddess of wisdom'.
    Cliff-hanger ending has paved the way for a sequel or sequels. I am curious to see where the story goes and how the characters develop.
    On the whole, unfortunately, this was not the book for me. Which just goes to prove that you have to read something for yourself and not just take other people opinions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable

    If you are looking for a quick paced story that pulls you in from page one with a main charactor that is easy to love then you have found your book. Parents there is a little violence but nothing in graphic detail with a lure of romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Okay

    I liked this book alot. It did take me more than once to read it and understand it completely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1