Customer Reviews for

Magic of Thieves

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great book!!

One of my favorite genres is Sci-Fi/Fantasy. This book does not disappoint. It had me on the first page. The characters and the world the author creates comes right off the page. I love most of the characters - especially Ilan and Brig. It would appeal to all ages f...
One of my favorite genres is Sci-Fi/Fantasy. This book does not disappoint. It had me on the first page. The characters and the world the author creates comes right off the page. I love most of the characters - especially Ilan and Brig. It would appeal to all ages from middle school up. It was a fast read and I was very sorry when it ended. I will be getting the next in the series.

I was given this book in exchange for an honest review.

posted by fallafooka on December 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Magic of Thieves has a great premise and it is well written but

Magic of Thieves has a great premise and it is well written but I absolutely hated the main character, Ilna. It is hard to like a book for anything else when you can not stand the person telling the story. Ilna is a whining waste of flesh that treats every one around he...
Magic of Thieves has a great premise and it is well written but I absolutely hated the main character, Ilna. It is hard to like a book for anything else when you can not stand the person telling the story. Ilna is a whining waste of flesh that treats every one around herself poorly. It comes off as snide cruelty for no purpose. The writing is good though.

posted by Goranov on July 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great read! I enjoyed following Ilan while growing up amongst

    A great read! I enjoyed following Ilan while growing up amongst a band of thieves. I found it very easy to slip into the story and connect with the main character. I found this book a great introduction into the series and can't wait to read the next book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Great story. Good introduction to a new series. Leaves me wantin

    Great story. Good introduction to a new series. Leaves me wanting to read the rest.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting!

    The first book in the Legends of Dimmingwood starts out fast and keeps hold of you all the way to the end. I only wish it had been a little bit longer as I didn't want to see the story end where it did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    Book exchanged for an honest review~Ilan has known much tragedy

    Book exchanged for an honest review~Ilan has known much tragedy in her young life. Her parents killed for being magickers or Skeltai by Praetor's men. Ilan becomes apart of Rideon The Red Hand's thieves. Ilan is often called the Hound by her companions. Brig who has raised Ilan like his own daughter tries to keep Ilan out of trouble. Dradac recognized that Ilan needed to be trained how to fight and work along side the band of thieves before Brig. He tells Brig that he's not doing any favors to Ilan by keeping her safely hidden. Dradac and Ilan rescue Terrac, who is training to be a priest, after he's been injured. Terrac and Ilan become relunct friends soon after but he must not reveal that he's not really a priest. Ilan meets Hadrian, a priest that has some knowledge as magicker, becomes curious and intrigued by him. Hadrian presents Ilan with an offer to teach how to use her magic but she refuses him. The band has been betrayed and nothing will ever be the same again. Will Ilan stay with the band? Will Ilan and Terrac remain friends? What will Rideon do about the betrayal? Will Ilan take Hadrian up on his offer? Your answers await you in Magic of Thieves.

    I really enjoyed this story. The creativity was truly unique and complex. Ilan is shown thru many stages of her young life yet always seems to land on her feet much like a cat. Ilan's depth of emotion and instinct is truly amazing. Ilan seems to be doing things the hard way yet seems to find the truth out for herself. I look forward to the next installment in this series. The author did a wonderful job in creating this story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I see a lot of mixed reviews for this book. This adventure follo

    I see a lot of mixed reviews for this book. This adventure follows the harrowing life of a young girl orphaned, then adopted by a band of brigands. She turns out to be quite the brat, but what would you expect after being raised by a bunch of, well, thieving jerks. I'm now quite interested in seeing if/how her character develops in the next books. And what that bow is all about!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Very good book!

    If your into fantasy, this is a very good series! I amost gave it up at one point thinking it was another re-write of Robin Hood. If you think the same keep on reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    Good book.

    I'm going to buy the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Builld up

    This book is abuild up for things to come.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1