BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Magic of Thinking Big

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Abaracadabra-The Magic of Thinking Big

    What's it about? Changing your thinking patterns to get the things you want such as a higher income, financial security, or greater enjoyment in living. <BR/><BR/>What's the main idea? Success is determined not so much by the size of your brain as it is by the size of your thinking. <BR/><BR/>How does it accomplish this? In every chapter of the book, the reader will find many practical ideas, techniques, and principles that willl enable them to harness the power of thinking big. Every technique is illustrated by a case history. In this way, the reader will not only figure out what to do, but see exactly how to apply each principle to actual problems and situations. <BR/><BR/>Give me an example. In the chapter titled "How to Think Big", an example is used of a successful realtor to illustrate the principle "see what can be, not just what is." In this example, the realtor has a knack for selling rundown, unattractive property- not by selling it for what it is, but for what it COULD be. <BR/><BR/>Is the writing style boring or technical? Absolutely not. The writing style reminds me of Dale Carnegie's How to Win Friends & Influence People. Also, the many examples make it an interesting read which holds your attention. <BR/><BR/>Who should get it? Everyone who wants to do better in life! So if you want to live "big" it all starts with thinking that way. And remember, think BIG!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    A must read!

    This is a fantastic book. If you are a person seeking to grow yourself, your business, or improve your life circumstances, then this is a book you want to read. It will change the way you look at things. Don't let this book pass you by!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    Upbeat ode to confidence and a positive attitude

    David J. Schwartz wrote this book nearly 50 years ago, but its principles are as fresh as the latest positive thinking seminar. Attitude, says the author, determines whether people embrace opportunities in life, and how they handle difficulties and challenges. He teaches that professional and personal success is rooted in self-confidence, conviction and optimism. Schwartz¿s advice and recommendations hold up, though you may wonder what planet you¿re on when he refers to $65 weekly salaries and $1,200 down payments on homes. Life obviously has changed dramatically in the past half-century and, considering the vast number of self-help books on the market, Schwartz's ideas hardly seem revolutionary, though they may have been at the time. We believe this classic retains its valuable foundation: A basic, useable approach to pursuing a happy, purposeful life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Great motivator

    A good friend of mine encouraged me to read this book and now I'm glad I accepted it. Me and the author has a lot in common when it comes to life, but he also gave me a few pointers that I could improve on. I recommend this book to both everyone I know, and anyone I don't know. This book will give you so many reasons to enjoy life from here on out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    Worth Buying

    To all readers and fellow members. I read this book. This book is worth purchasing. It will change your mind for the better. It will motivate you. It will open up your horizon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Think Big!

    This is a very good book. I learned a lot of ways to stay motivated and stay focused with a lot of important things in my life. I suggest anyone looking to become a leader or starting up a business should read this book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    WHY NOT, DOESN'T YOU ANYTHING

    Excusitis we all suffer from in some form or another. We need to be like children again and think BIG. Such is the Kingdom of Heaven!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    solid advice

    I learned about this book by reading about it in another by someone I admire. It is not new but provides simple, easy to read advice to reinforce positive thinking.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    Absolutely wonderful book!

    It appears that this book was written about 50 years ago, but the principles in it are as applicable today as they were back then. I learned alot about myself, especially my "short comings". Happily, the book also gives you concrete, easy to follow, steps to correct deficiencies and how to create a successful life for yourself and those around you. This book is worth every penny... and then some!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Great Book

    It changed my thinking. 'Life is too short to be little, and live first class' has stuck in my head. I feel better and enlarge my horizon due to this great book. Read it and you will see....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2006

    A book that promotes optimism

    This book is great to inspire optimism, hoping for and going for what you really want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2004

    The best book that teaches you how to think

    After reading this book i dont have to read any more books on how to think big.This book is incredible i loved reading it and i would suggest you who is reading this right now to get it because it will help you out alot. One more thing, read this book more than once its that powerful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    OUTSTANDING!!

    What an awesome book - this book will help you no matter where you are in your life. Whatever career you are in, this will help you in that but more importantly - it will help you with your relationships too. Get it, read it and read it again. Pass it on to others... what a great gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    Successful people are not supermen

    One important purpose of this book is to help you train yourself to observe, to develop deep insight into human action. You'll want to ask yourself questions like 'Why is John so successful and Tom just getting by?' 'Why do some people have many friends and other people have only few friends?' 'Why will people gladly accept what one person tells them but ignore another person who tells them the same thing?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    Great Book

    i would have to say, 'that this is an incredible book.' It really does help you think big. dont think twice, buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    sets the standard

    'Sow a thought and you reap an action. Sow an act and you reap a habit. Sow a habit and you reap a character. Sow a character and you reap a destiny.' The Magic of Thinking Big sets the standard by which all other self-help books should be measured. In this classic, dozens of timeless principles are brought to life through the author's personal stories and vivid analogies. Not just empty theory, these are working principles with sound applications. This book contains far too much substance to be a quick read. Each of the 13 chapters deserves to be read, re-read, digested and applied over time. One chapter per week will allow you to read it four times per year. Extreme? Perhaps, but if any book is worth such an exercise, this is one. Start to sow big thoughts...and reap a big destiny. Larry Hehn, Author of Get the Prize: Nine Keys for a Life of Victory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2003

    Thinking to produce the best results

    This is a great book with lots of great advice... and there is more. Read Optimal Thinking and learn to make the most of every situation, minimize unwanted behaviors and take the best actions to achieve what is most important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2002

    Think big and you will achieve big success

    I enjoyed Mr. Schwartz book because he taught me how to help others build their self esteem. I also enjoyed how Mr. Schwartz explains how to became a positive thinker and how to be a observer of people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2002

    Think Big by Learning to Think the Unthinkable

    Great success comes most often to those who think big, as the story of the 1879 fire at Notre Dame illustrates. The University had grown to include many important structures. One night in April, 1879, the work of nearly forty years went up in smoke as a raging fire wiped out all the university's major buildings, save its stone church. In the aftermath, Father Edward Sorin, founder of Notre Dame, gathered his despondent colleagues and students in the church for mass. 'The fire is really my fault,' he said. 'I came here as a young man and dreamed of building a great university in honor of Our Lady. But I built it too small, and she had to burn it to the ground to make that point. So, tomorrow, as soon as the bricks cool, we will rebuild it, bigger and better than ever.' And so they did. Brick by glorious brick, Father Sorin and those who followed in his footsteps, built Notre Dame into the grand American institution we see today. The Magic of Thinking Big will help you think as Father Sorin did. Read the full story of the Notre Dame fire and the superb creative thinking of Father Sorin in Why Didn't I Think of That? - Think the Unthinkable and Achieve Creative Greatness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    He was my college professor

    Dave Schwarz was a professor at Georgia State for years, I took several classes from him, became a friend. He referred me to the job that led to a most enjoyable career. His book is excellent; it helps us review our life and set goals for greater achievement and satisfaction. It has stood the test of time; it was originally published about 1955, almost 50 years ago! I met a man on Lanai, Hawaii a few months ago who said this book was the single most important book he ever read! He was able to retire to Hawaii in his 50s based on the success this book helped him achieve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2