Customer Reviews for

MagicCalc Lite, Graphing Calculator

Average Rating 2.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

66 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Finally!

Finally and halleluja, a free calculator app for the NOOK! Sure, my cell phone performs these operations, but I don't always want to shift devices when using my NOOK to study, teach, or tutor quantitative subjects or to perform personal finance-related tasks.

To perfo...
Finally and halleluja, a free calculator app for the NOOK! Sure, my cell phone performs these operations, but I don't always want to shift devices when using my NOOK to study, teach, or tutor quantitative subjects or to perform personal finance-related tasks.

To perform simple math operations, use the app in Console Mode; then make the necessary entries in the appropriate order as you would on any simple calculator. Press the "=" sign on the app or "Return" on your NOOK keypad to display the answer on the next line. For example, press "2x3=" to get the answer ("6") on the next line, or press "3*5*2/6=" to get the answer ("5").

To perform strings of operations, apply MDAS (My Dear Aunt Sally) rules and use parentheses to get your answer. For example, press "(2+198)/100=" to get the answer ("2").

For more complicated quantitative, scientific, or graphic tasks, read the help resources on the publisher's website.

posted by Froide on January 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Caculater

I can not figer out how to use this

posted by 17151628 on January 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Finally!

    Finally and halleluja, a free calculator app for the NOOK! Sure, my cell phone performs these operations, but I don't always want to shift devices when using my NOOK to study, teach, or tutor quantitative subjects or to perform personal finance-related tasks.

    To perform simple math operations, use the app in Console Mode; then make the necessary entries in the appropriate order as you would on any simple calculator. Press the "=" sign on the app or "Return" on your NOOK keypad to display the answer on the next line. For example, press "2x3=" to get the answer ("6") on the next line, or press "3*5*2/6=" to get the answer ("5").

    To perform strings of operations, apply MDAS (My Dear Aunt Sally) rules and use parentheses to get your answer. For example, press "(2+198)/100=" to get the answer ("2").

    For more complicated quantitative, scientific, or graphic tasks, read the help resources on the publisher's website.

    66 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great

    If your a math smart....this is great!! Its kind of confusing because things are different then an actual calculator but when you get use to it its amazing!!!! Its awsome!!!

    43 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Yay!

    Finally a free calculator app!

    It's more complex than it need be, and it's got a clunky interface, but it's a calculator!

    To be honest, it doesn't really deserve the 5 stars I've given it, but it get's them anyway because it fills a niche that's been screaming to be filled since the first Nook appeared.

    --------

    For those having trouble figuring out how to use it:

    1) For those who who are saying they don't know how to clear the last computed value: You don't need to.

    Once you press the = / <-l key, the calculation is done, and there is no left over value. So, if you type in the equation "12+(6/3)*2=", you will get the result "16" on the next line. And if you follow that up with a "+8=", the result will be 8. Like so:

    12+(6/3)*2=
    16
    +8=
    8

    As you can see, the two calculations are totally seprate, with "+8" translating into "0+8".

    2) If you are bothered by the clutter of finished calculations, and are missing a C or Clr button, simply press the Cls button followed by the = button, and it will CLear the Screen:

    Cls=

    --------

    Problems and drawbacks, and confusions:

    o The first thing I noticed was that it forces you to use it in "lanscape" mode, and can not be used in "portrait" mode, the most common orientation of calculators, be they decimal, hex, vanilla, scientific, business, or programmable.

    o The landscape orientation makes wide equations easier to read (because of less 'wrapping' to the next line down), at the expense of having a shorter "tape" or history of recently compleated equations that you can see.

    o Most bothersome is that the keys are a under-sensitive, often requiring the user to press a key multiple times before it works. This results in a "klunky" feel, and will slow down or introduce errors to anyone trying to hurry through a calculation.

    o The only 'Clear' button is the 'Cls' button.

    o The interface is cluttered, and not intuitive at all. Part of the reason for that is...

    o ... an overly large amount of space is dedicated to keys that don't do anything useful, except to advertise the pay / full version.

    o On the left-hand side, only the top-leftmost key works, the one that brings up the standard keyboard. The rest are disabled. They show you the alternate keyboard, and an error tells you to buy the full version in order to use it. About half the keys in the next column to the right are simerlaly disabled.

    Pros:

    o It's a working calculator.

    o It also apparently gives you access to some advanced features, like 2D and 3D graphing, and the ability to program complex, multi-step equations, a decent number of variables, and the ability to save and load programs so that you can use them later. At least the equation "ABCDEF" produced the result "0". (I did not test all of the features, but encountered no "sales errors" like I did on the left side of the screen.)

    Conclution:

    The interface is clunky and poorly designed.

    I'd have preferred (and judging from a significant percentage of comments, many others would have also) a plain-old 4 function calculator with just Add, Subtract, Multiply, and Divide. And MAYBE with one memory location with M+, M-, MR, and MC functions.

    THEN have an Options menu with selections for Scientific calculators, Programming features and such.

    The Bottom Line:

    In the end it's useable and one-of-a-kind (free). Making it a must for those of us that can't always do the math we need in our head.

    31 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Horrible

    This calculator kept freezing up my nook. I would have to restart the whole nook just to get it to close the application

    18 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Caculater

    I can not figer out how to use this

    18 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Hmmmm...?

    I have some mixed feelings about this app. I cannot figure out how to {after doing a problem} erasing the problem that was just answered on the app. I'm able ti calculate the answer alright, but I just have to close the app and open it again to find out a new answer. Is anyone able to help me figure this out???

    16 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Free is good!

    Don't need all the functionality but free is free! Thank u!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    It was horrible

    DOES MOT WORK DO NOT BUY #&##&#%$$&#&&$&#

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Cool

    It was fun

    9 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    I love it!

    I can't believe this app was free! It's amazing!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Nice free calculator app with some scientific functions.

    Nice free calculator app with some scientific functions.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Not as good

    Do not get this app if it says it is free u haft to buy the full vergain

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    I cant use this thing

    I cant use this!

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Umm...

    It won't load on my NOOK.
    Guess who's not getting their math homework done? :/

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    How

    Im confused on how to use it.

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Middle school student

    Im in the 7th grade and im 14 and i like this app. It helps me with all the algebra that i have for homework. The only problem there is, is that after im done with all my calculations, my nook freezes up.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Not Recommended for young students

    Tough to use for a young student.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Did not order this!

    Added on, did not order

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    What

    It may be a free graphing calculator, but it wont let me use an x or y key and it doesn't do powers without purchasing the "premium full" version. This app is basically useless for what I need to do. I don't really recommend this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    anonymous

    awful calculator yout better off buying one this app really deserves no stars i t is just horrible. help yorself and just off this app page.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3