Customer Reviews for

Magical Thinking: True Stories

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT

i love him as a writer. my favorite story in this book was the one with the maid. WEIRD! he is so entertaining. i just can not wait for his next book to come out in '06.

posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Seems like it was just written for the check

I've read Running with Scissors and Dry, these books were interesting and made me want to keep reading them until the very end. As for Magical Thinking, I'm forcing myself to finish it. If you're ready Running with Scissors and Dry, stop there. The short stories aren't ...
I've read Running with Scissors and Dry, these books were interesting and made me want to keep reading them until the very end. As for Magical Thinking, I'm forcing myself to finish it. If you're ready Running with Scissors and Dry, stop there. The short stories aren't as interesting and I could have done without them.

posted by 1960889 on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Five Stars

    I loved Augusten Burroughs' "Magical Thinking". A group of short essays jumping in time from childhood to recent adult activities, it has a similar feel to Rikki Lee Travolta's "My Fractured Life" (although with the huge difference that "My Fractured Life" is fiction and "Magical Thinking" is a memoir). Just like "My Fractured Life", in "Magical Thinking" the writing was crisp yet naturally meandering - like a conversation. Some of the stories are a bit sexually graphic so it is not for the easily offended, but I thoughly enjoyed the honesty. Five stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2005

    LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT

    i love him as a writer. my favorite story in this book was the one with the maid. WEIRD! he is so entertaining. i just can not wait for his next book to come out in '06.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Seems like it was just written for the check

    I've read Running with Scissors and Dry, these books were interesting and made me want to keep reading them until the very end. As for Magical Thinking, I'm forcing myself to finish it. If you're ready Running with Scissors and Dry, stop there. The short stories aren't as interesting and I could have done without them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    Open Your Eyes..

    Never have I felt more connected to an author in a uncomfortable world as I do with Augusten Burroughs. A fresh prospective and hard hitting one-liners that make you say 'did I just read that correctly'. Deals and tells of raw situations with a sophisicated humor. This is a must read to everyone. This collection of stories captures what life is all about and how you cannot take ANYTHING too seriously. Please give it a try!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Another Great One By Augusten

    I love this author! He is amazing. This was yet another great book by Augusten. I could not put it down. He has you laughing, crying, and wincing the whole time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Great book!!!

    i love all of Augusten Burrough's work and this is my favorite,besides running with scissors, i just could not put this book down, it is very well done, a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2005

    Tortured, disturbing and hilarious!

    Sometimes this book is uncomfortable to read other times it's laugh out loud funny. Burrough's writes honestly and from the heart about things that most people find politically incorrect. Good for him. I loved the story about the maid, but my favorite part in the book is when he finds his soul mate. Beautiful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    A REALLY HARD TIME CHOOSEING!!!!!

    I had read a few of "VARMENTS''books and yes I am hooked!! I couldn't decide which would be my next because I didn't know in order to"get it"I didn't know if I needed to read the prior book.So I ended up looking them all up so I could read the reviews and chose them in chronical order.Well I passed up Sellivision due to the reviews.CRAZY CRAZY to put so much time in picking out a fricking book knowing that eventually l will read all of them anyway!! Doing all of this kinda shows me why I'm attracted to Aug.in the first place-takes one to know one!!I'll be in touch with my real review when I get done.I know you all just can't wait!!!! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Granny B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Garbage didn't finish! Threw it away...

    Reviews were misleading. Not what I expected, nor was it at all interesting.....Didn't finish threw it away. Wasted my money. Giving it one start because it is required.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Totally disappointed! Did not like it at all. Not interesting s

    Totally disappointed! Did not like it at all. Not interesting subject matter and he didn't make any sense to write about such nonsense. Didn't finish it and I won't be buying any others by him. You have to be kidding to think people would be interested. I will give it one star for spelling and penmanship!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    BOO!!!!!!!!!!!!>P

    Thats not a good book!!!!!!!!!!! BAD WORDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!








    †††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    amazing

    its so good but you must read his first two memoirs first but its so good i can barely handle the greatness radiating off of this book. augusten Burroughs is AMAZING<3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Not For the Prude and Boring Folks!!

    i found myself laughing and gasping through the majority of this book i have a very vulgar and dry sense of humor so its refreshing to read from an author who does as well Its quite possible this book might offend you but i say grow a pair and get over it and enjoy the f**ked up situations in everyday life with a hardy laugh I LOVE YOU AUGUSTEN BURROUGHS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Augusten Burroughs has a very conversational way of writing so that even the most twisted thoughts don't come across in a frightening way. He has a great sense of humor about himself, I love that. His most famous book is "Running with Scissors" but this is my favorite of his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Indeed Magical

    There's something magical about someone baring intimate details of their life in a published document for the world to see. Taking things that are "tabu" and "secret" and recanting them in detail. Mr.Burroughs writing voice and style are very captivating and keep you flipping through the pages. He tells of things that are relatable, like falling in love, and other things the general public has never been through, like going through a rehab center for recovering gay alcoholics and drug addicts. He brings a humor to dark subjects that leaves you laughing and describes things in such detail and comparison that its easy to envision

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    So funny and unique!

    I could not put this book down. I have read "Running with Scissors" and "The Wolf at the Table" but this one is my favorite so far. I will read everything by this author now. I find the character and his strange insights into himself so relatable. I couldn't keep myself form continually writing excerpts of this book outloud to my partner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    Alright.

    I thought that is book was overall a good book. Many of the stories i read were a little mind boggling and hard to read. He had a lot of interesting stories and points that went a long with what he was talking about. If people like true stories about a gay man and what he has gone through then i reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Magical Thinking Review

    Augusten Burroughs never fails to write entertaining true stories from his own insane experiences. It's pretty amazing how many strange things in his life he has to write about.
    The stories are funny, awkward, and uncensored. While Dry was drawn more from reality, Magical Thinking has the same absurd humor as Burrough's first memoir, Running with Scissors. This collection of personal narratives are almost as satisfying as Running with Scissors- in both books, Burroughs makes his real-life experiences seem surreal, hints the name "Magical Thinking". Though, nothing can really compare to the first time one reads of his outrageous life.
    The only criticisms I have of this book is that at times it dragged a little bit, some of the stories seemed out of place. I personally prefer the stories of his childhood; they tend to be the funniest, most outrageous ones. And there are some scattered throughout this book, and to me those are the hilarious treasures of his writings. That's not to say that every story isn't entertaining, because they definitely all are.
    For anyone who hasn't read any Augusten Burroughs, Magical Thinking is not the best introduction to his work. Like I said Running with Scissors just locks you in with its horrifying humor.
    But this is Burrough's second best book. I recommend it for anyone who has read Running with Scissors and is looking for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Unimaginably Funny and Irreverent

    I rarely, if ever, loan out my books . . . too often they get lost among other people's possessions. But I took a chance with Magical Thinking because I really wanted a friend to experience the outrageous humor of Augusten Burroughs. It took a year to get back my well-worn, highlighted, underlined, and starred copy, but I did and I'm grateful.

    I'd say that Magical Thinking, as well as all of Burroughs books, aren't for the faint of heart or prudes. Not everyone will find themselves laughing hysterically as they read about a boy giving a priest a blow job. Not every parent and her children will chuckle as Augusten one-ups his Nazi Housekeeper. But whatever tale Burroughs is sharing, there are no apologies, no details (it seems) spared. And we are lucky readers for that.

    If you can only read one of Burroughs books, skip Running with Scissors and buy this one.
    Marie Etienne, author of Confessions of a Bi-Polar Mardi Gras Queen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Enjoyed it a lot

    Heartwarming and amusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7