Customer Reviews for

The Magician (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 862 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(590)

4 Star

(177)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

excellent read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Should i

Should i get the book a lot say yes but does anyone disagree.

posted by 5586074 on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 874 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    2nd installment keeps you going

    I can't say if I like Book #2 better than Book #1...but I did enjoy it and can't wait to read #3. I'm almost sorry I discovered these books before all five were written because I hate waiting. It's sometimes fun to start a series after it is completely written so you can go from one book to the other.

    I like the new characters that have appeaared in this book. There is more dimension than just (evil) Dr. Dee.

    I'm not always sure I think Josh should be overcome with so much doubt just because he is jealous of his sister's powers, but then that could be I just don't want him in Dr. Dee's hands. Since the balance is evened out in this book, it will be interesting to see what happens in Book #3.

    Compared to some of the other teen series I have read (Harry Potter, Twilight), I definitely put these above the Twilight series and right behind Harry Potter in terms of writing and being a well written book. I love all the combination of myth, fictional and real people. I constantly google someone to read more about them.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Love this series!!

    I absolutely love this book! Its one of those books that you cant put down. I cant stop reading it!! Scott has done an amazing job in both book 1 & 2, I cant wait to star book 3!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    GREAT series!

    I just finished reading the first two books, and the story just keeps getting better and better. I read the first book in 3 days, the second book in 2 days....the third will probably be even quicker! The books are very well written. If you like action-packed adventure and fantasy mixed with mythology, you will really love these books! I can't seem to put them down! Bravo to the author!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    Amazing!!

    I love the books of the Nichoals Flamel series. They are a great work and I can't wait till the next one comes out.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great great great!

    An excellent continuation of a wonderful series. However, I did find one discrepancy regarding the twins relationship to each other, which you are bound to discover for yourself when you read it.

    A much more intense story, better vocabulary, and for intense than the Alchemyst. If you read the first book and are unsure if you want to continue reading the series, CONTINUE!!!! It only gets better :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Should i

    Should i get the book a lot say yes but does anyone disagree.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Highly Recommended-you must check it out!!!

    After running away from Ojai, Nicholas, Sophie, Josh, and Scatty arrive in Paris. This is the home of Nicholas Flamel. Niccolo Machiavelli lives in Paris and is working for the evil Dr. Dee and they're tracking Nicholas around the world. Every day Nicholas and Perenelle spend without the book they age one year. While this is happening in Paris Perenelle is being held captive in a cell in Alcatraz guarded by a Sphinx.
    I would give Michael Scott an A because I loved the way he incorporated magic into a fun exciting story. I also enjoyed all of the surprises the author adds in the book. My favorite part was when Josh went to help save Scatty from the Niddhog because Josh was never a big fan of Scatty. He tended to stay away from Scatty because she was a vampire. That was my favorite surprise and that's why I would give Michael Scott an A.

    I would recommend this book to 4th to 6th graders because there is a lot of magic that will excite kids. It is also good for 6th graders because there is a thrilling story line that will make you want to read the sequel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very vivid characters

    After a narrow escape from California, master Alchemyst Nicholas Flamel, (real) vegetarian vampire Scathach, and the supposedly all-powerful twins Sophie and Josh, find themselves in Paris. Flamel is overjoyed to see the city of his birth in the 1500's, but not everyone is a happy camper. Josh is growing increasingly jealous of his sister's new magic powers. Sophie is growing more and more convinced that the only reason why her little brother (by 26 seconds) is in danger at all is the work of their so-called allies. Like-minded after a disastrous run-in with a ginormous monster, Josh is starting to wonder whether the bad guys might be the good guys after all.

    I'm afraid that my head will explode if I read The Sorceress anytime soon. Well, that's actually a good thing, because Michael Scott's characters, despite being actual mythological creatures and people, are packed with personality and feeling that make them seem real. The plot, however, got a bit confusing during the climax and the some of the characters started acting a lot less believable in the middle, but otherwise, I loved this sequel to The Alchemyst. The best part for me was the blend of modern and magical, which wasn't too different from the style of Percy Jackson.

    -Literary Pizazz, literarypizazz.blogspot.com

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Trying to find out how many books there are in this series

    How many books by nicholas flamel are there

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Anonymo

    I think that the Magician is the best book in the world. Even though i just finished it I went out and bout the whole series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Magician- A Nicely Done Followup

    The Magician is a nice followup to the success of Michael Scott's thrilling novel, The Alchemyst. The book takes place mainly in Paris as the twins (Josh and Sophie Newman) attempt to escape the clutches of Dr. John Dee and Niccolo Machiavelli. This story makes a nice companion to The Alchemyst as Sophie further continues her development of the five magics and Josh begins to wield Clarent, the coward's blade. And Nicholas Flamel further continues his century-old dispute with Dr. John Dee. This thrilling encounter brings in true mythological characters like Nidhogg, the Disir, and other creatures and beings of several multi-cultural myths and legends. All and All, The Magician is a nicely done followup to the roaring success of Michael Scott's first novel in the series, The Alchemyst.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    POTATO

    SPOILER ALERT SCATHATCH DIES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Sweat

    Really good i liked the first book and loves the sample.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    i loved this book and thought that is was pretty well layed out

    i loved this book and thought that is was pretty well layed out and that it had a good stroy line! i love micheal scotts work and hope that he continues to write books and that he will be just as creative as he was in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Hi

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!! really good! Its good mostly for middle schoolars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Michael Scott is a wonderful storyteller and has created a wonderful series for all adults young & old.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    taerg|grear

    ti nwo !KOOB TAERG|GREAT BOOK! own it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Fun

    Eftv

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    I love this book!!!!!!

    So good- definitally makes your mustreading list

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 874 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44