BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Magician's Apprentice (Black Magician Trilogy #4)

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

coming of age young adult fantasy

In isolated Mandryn, Tessia wants to be a chip off the old block by becoming a healer like her father Veran. However, her family including her dad who appreciates his daughter¿s assistance pleads with her to forget that dream as being undesirable for a young girl; her ...
In isolated Mandryn, Tessia wants to be a chip off the old block by becoming a healer like her father Veran. However, her family including her dad who appreciates his daughter¿s assistance pleads with her to forget that dream as being undesirable for a young girl; her father and others fear for her life if Tessia steps out in pursuit of her aspiration.

She Obstinatly refuses to back away from her desire to heal others. Her push to practice healing leads Tessia to haughty Sachakan wizard Ashaki Takado, who scoffs at a young female healer. However, Tessia learns she has great skill in self-defense magic. Hoping to understand her innate ability, she becomes a junior apprentice to master magician Lord Dakon. Her ambition to use her powers to heal remains steadfast even as Sachakan¿s army invades Tessia¿s village.
---
Although similar in tone to many coming of age young adult fantasy mage sagas, THE MAGICIAN¿S APPRENTICE is an exciting thriller especially for fans of the Black Magician Trilogy as readers obtain a glimpse of a much grimmer environs six centuries earlier. Magic at that time came in one flavor, dark as magical healing had not been invented at that time. Tessia in a sense starts a revolution on the level of the Fosbury Flop in high jumping when she reengineers medicine and magic by combining what she learned from her dad helping him on amputations, etc with what she learns from Lord Dakkon. Fans of Trudi Canavan will enjoy this engaging prequel.
---
Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Missing page 38

I started reading only to find that page 38 is missing. The book itself is very good. Nice easy story line. I still want to read this book in it's entirety.

posted by 8655917 on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Great Book

    I know this book was set forth BEFORE the events of The Black Magicians Trilogy but it was printed after that trilogy came out. Personally I think if you read this book first and then read the trilogy it makes a bit more sense to the reader. Either way this book is a must read and a must have. The storyline is exceptional and draws the reader into the world within, you being to associate with the various characters and their lives. The very world itself is a universe of its own you'll be enthralled by the story and the people within never wantign to put down teh book. As magic and sword collide with the politics of kingdoms. This is a truly outstanding author that has a true gift for the art of this genre of book and capturing the imaginations of the reader. I give it 5 stars and strongly suggest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    coming of age young adult fantasy

    In isolated Mandryn, Tessia wants to be a chip off the old block by becoming a healer like her father Veran. However, her family including her dad who appreciates his daughter¿s assistance pleads with her to forget that dream as being undesirable for a young girl; her father and others fear for her life if Tessia steps out in pursuit of her aspiration. <BR/><BR/>She Obstinatly refuses to back away from her desire to heal others. Her push to practice healing leads Tessia to haughty Sachakan wizard Ashaki Takado, who scoffs at a young female healer. However, Tessia learns she has great skill in self-defense magic. Hoping to understand her innate ability, she becomes a junior apprentice to master magician Lord Dakon. Her ambition to use her powers to heal remains steadfast even as Sachakan¿s army invades Tessia¿s village.<BR/>---<BR/>Although similar in tone to many coming of age young adult fantasy mage sagas, THE MAGICIAN¿S APPRENTICE is an exciting thriller especially for fans of the Black Magician Trilogy as readers obtain a glimpse of a much grimmer environs six centuries earlier. Magic at that time came in one flavor, dark as magical healing had not been invented at that time. Tessia in a sense starts a revolution on the level of the Fosbury Flop in high jumping when she reengineers medicine and magic by combining what she learned from her dad helping him on amputations, etc with what she learns from Lord Dakkon. Fans of Trudi Canavan will enjoy this engaging prequel.<BR/>---<BR/>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    great read.

    I inadvertently read this book last, after the first 6 books. I discovered this book explains all of the rest. and. in my opinion should be read first to lay the ground work for the other 6 books. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommended that anyone looking for some enjoyable reading check out all seven off these books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Amazing book!

    I tried this book on a whim and was totally taken aback at the sheer brilliance of the story. After reading a sample i bought the book and read the whole series. I recommend this to anyone who loves a good fantasy story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Good but more of the same.

    If you enjoyed the Black Magician books you will likely enjoy this book as well. My only complaint is that the story is far too simiar. In fact the main characters, sonea and tessia are exactly the same; poor young girls who turn out to be naturals and are obsessed with using magic to heal. This novel is longer than her usual with slightly more action but again it is very very similar.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Missing page 38

    I started reading only to find that page 38 is missing. The book itself is very good. Nice easy story line. I still want to read this book in it's entirety.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Trudi Canavan's 'The Magician's Apprentice'- review

    Though this is the first of Canavan's books I've read, I enjoyed 'The Magician's Apprentice' so much I will undoubtedly continue reading the rest of her series and work. Without giving much away, this novel tells the story of Tessia, a young woman who wishes to become a healer but unexpectedly becomes an apprentice magician. It follows Tessia and the other characters through the Kyralians war against the invading Sachakans. I enjoyed her writing style very much, and the plot had some interesting turns and developments that I enjoyed following. The most enjoyable part of the novel for me was the characters themselves, Tessia is a strong, likeable heroine who engages you, and the other characters are also as interesting, particularly Tessia's kind master Lord Dakon and Jayan, Lord Dakon's other apprentice. Reading different characters' perspective of the events allowed me a deeper understanding of the characters and the two sides, and it was interesting to see Canavan portray the protagonist side, the Kyralians, with some morally grey issus of their own. The Magician's Apprentice was a enjoyable read that explored the effects of prejudice, class structure, patriachal society, revenge, and how cruel societies and war affect individuals and outcomes. It explored these issues in a way I could appreciate, by making them part of the characters' story and thus not "preaching" to the reader. I'd recommend this to all fantasy genre lovers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Well worth the reader's time

    This fantasy novel is about two enemies moving toward war, with a young apprentice stuck in the middle.

    Tessia is a healer's apprentice in the land of Kyralia. It is a place where the only "career" for women is to become a wife and mother, so becoming a healer, on her own, is not an option. One day, in a moment of stress, Tessia shows an amazing natural talent for magic. She becomes a magician's apprentice under Lord Dakon. She joins Jayan, an older male apprentice, with whom she has a difficult relationship. Before Tessia can get used to her new life, war comes to Kyralia.

    Three centuries previously, Kyralia gained its independence from the land of Sachaka. A group of rogue Sachakan magicians vows to do something about that. When they attack a Kyralian village, they suck all the magic out of the residents, then brutally kill everyone, including Tessia's parents. Takado, the leader of the Sachakan magicians, is banking on the Sachakan emperor being forced into approving the invasion, now that it is already in process. When the two armies meet, there are major pitched battles, using magic only. Slowly but surely, the war starts to go Kyralia's way. When the Sachakans are pushed back to the border, do the Kyralians stay there? On the other hand, do the Kyralians continue to the Sachakan capital, to wipe out Sachaka once and for all? If they don't, they know that, one day, Sachaka will attack Kyralia, and finish it, once and for all.

    This is a big book, but it's a really good one. It's a tale full of loyalty, conflict and finding your place in the world when your world has been turned upside down. It is well worth the reader's time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    For fans of the Black Magician Trilogy

    The Magician's Apprentice is set in the same world as Trudi Canavan's The Black Magician trilogy, though many years earlier. Here, we learn how certain events such as the the war between Sachaka and Kyralia as well as the formation of the magician's guild transpired. Some of which are not as clear-cut as remembered by their descendants. But then as we are reminded at the beginning before the story even starts :

    "History is written by the victors." - Winston Churchill


    But more specifically, this tale focuses on one new apprentice magician, Tessia who in time becomes the first to experiment with and teach magical healing. Tessia is a likable heroine. Not only smart enough to realize the difficulties she faces in pursuing her goal to be a healer, but also in recognizing that there are other methods than direct confrontation. And when events occur which would seem to have ended her ambitions, she is patient enough to wait for years if need be to seek another opportunity. Most of all, she truly has the heart of a healer and wants nothing more than to help everyone regardless of their status or nationality should they need it.She is also no pushover and can give as good as she gets when necessary.


    Aside from Tessia, there are also other likable and interesting characters like Lord Dakon, Jayan, Hanara and Stara. Lord Dakon was truly a noble and caring master. One who holds on to his principles even when the lines of right and wrong are seemingly being blurred. As for Jayan, I found him to be rather self-centered and too status conscious at first. He changed over time and so did my opinion. The one I pitied the most was the Sachakan slave Hanara. Perhaps given enough time and understanding, he could have overcomed his conditioning. Finally, there is Stara. I couldn't help wondering what would become of her and the Traitors. And most intriguing of all, what part if any would they play in the future ?


    Recommended reading for anyone who enjoys fantasy fiction populated with strong, likable characters and especially for fans of the Black Magician trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Magicians apretice great prequel

    If you loved the Magicians guild series this is a good prequel though you do not need to read the other books to enjoy this series. It is predictable as the foreshadowing in the beginning lets you know where it is going but it does not get there the way you may expect.
    I was glad i purchased and will keep in my permanent library for re-reed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Great book

    Really great book couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Gripping from beggining to end!

    A story with a different magic point of view. I couldn't put it down! The series get better with every book. Easy to read and flows from one chapter to the next. If you like magic you'll enjoy this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Trudi has done it again!

    Trudi Canavan has done it again with this prequel worthy to be in any fantasy library. She gives a view into the Black Magician's Trilogy that allows one to understand the cultures and situations of that world even more. This book is always on the move taking you from one moment to another with constant anticipation of resolutions. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Magic

    Love Trudi Canavan. She takes you to another time and place. You can escape the everyday trials and tribulations. I love her books and the books by Jennifer Fallon especially the "Demon Child Trilogy".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Wonderful fantasy

    Right in line with the other books of this series, Trudi Canavan does it again -- and what a great read, taking us back into the past to find out what actually caused the events of the last series of books. I hope she does another as I would love to read more about that time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3