Customer Reviews for

The Magician's Elephant

Average Rating 4
( 326 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

The Magicians Elephant is a magical book

The Magician's Elephant
By: Kate Dicamillo

Peter is just trying to get the answer to the simple question, "Does she live?" What Peter does not know is that this one question will lead him on a search for his missing sister. His mom trusted him to keep his sister s...
The Magician's Elephant
By: Kate Dicamillo

Peter is just trying to get the answer to the simple question, "Does she live?" What Peter does not know is that this one question will lead him on a search for his missing sister. His mom trusted him to keep his sister safe but the he had to let her go. On an errand he found a fortuneteller and asked her. The fortuneteller said to follow the elephant. Then when an unexpected visitor comes to town, peter figures out the way.

The suspenseful chapters make you feel like you cannot put the book down. The clever descriptions draw a very clear picture in your mind. It is easy to see the gloomy snow covered days that spread across the town day after day and the beggar with his black dog Iddo. The elephant, magician, and Madam La Vaughn, all play very important rolls to help tell the reader that you can trust others. All these characters join together to help the elephant go home and Peter find his sister. It was very difficult for Madam to help and join with the magician that crippled her legs. What does she choose?

(Published by candlewick press, copyright 2009)
Recommended for ages 7 - 12

posted by 2381418 on December 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

left wondering

i truly loved her tales of despereaux how ever this does not compare. the book has words too difficult for children and some adults. the sentences are too repetitive and do not catch attention. the story is dry and drags on. i am truly sadden especially after reading a ...
i truly loved her tales of despereaux how ever this does not compare. the book has words too difficult for children and some adults. the sentences are too repetitive and do not catch attention. the story is dry and drags on. i am truly sadden especially after reading a book as great as despereaux. :(

posted by slaydon on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    The Magicians Elephant is a magical book

    The Magician's Elephant
    By: Kate Dicamillo

    Peter is just trying to get the answer to the simple question, "Does she live?" What Peter does not know is that this one question will lead him on a search for his missing sister. His mom trusted him to keep his sister safe but the he had to let her go. On an errand he found a fortuneteller and asked her. The fortuneteller said to follow the elephant. Then when an unexpected visitor comes to town, peter figures out the way.

    The suspenseful chapters make you feel like you cannot put the book down. The clever descriptions draw a very clear picture in your mind. It is easy to see the gloomy snow covered days that spread across the town day after day and the beggar with his black dog Iddo. The elephant, magician, and Madam La Vaughn, all play very important rolls to help tell the reader that you can trust others. All these characters join together to help the elephant go home and Peter find his sister. It was very difficult for Madam to help and join with the magician that crippled her legs. What does she choose?

    (Published by candlewick press, copyright 2009)
    Recommended for ages 7 - 12

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    left wondering

    i truly loved her tales of despereaux how ever this does not compare. the book has words too difficult for children and some adults. the sentences are too repetitive and do not catch attention. the story is dry and drags on. i am truly sadden especially after reading a book as great as despereaux. :(

    11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome awesome awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

    i loved this book i read it like 10 times lol i loved the tale of desperaux so i thought "hey i guess i will read this one too" well good thing i did haha. i think this book is good for ppl at the ages of about 7 to 11 0r 12

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pulling a winner out of the hat

    A heartfelt, timeless fable about the power of wonder and the magic of "What if?". DiCamillo's been working in the style of faux fairytale since Desperaux, and the lessons she's learned in her previous books help here: she keeps it short, sweet, and to the point. I feel, as the people of Baltese say, as though I were in the presence of the elephant.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Hope, Belonging, Forgiveness

    Kate DiCamillo has written another outstanding book! The Magician's Elephant is a story about hope, belonging, and forgiveness. One can easily identify with each character in her book and their struggles in life! A little boy longs to find his "lost" sister and to belong to someone and be loved. A childless couple longs to have children. A magician longs to be recognized and noticed for extraordinary magic. An elephant who is "homesick" longs to return home. All of us want to feel loved, noticed, and that we "belong" to someone. This is what makes us human. Kate DiCamillo not only appeals to children, but to adults as well. This book was a page turner and I read it in one day!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What if ... Why Not ... Could it Be?

    Kate DiCamillo's newest novel the Magician's Elephant is a hauntingly beautiful tale with rich characters that focus on hope and making the impossible possible. The mood lavishly set with DiCamillo's writing style and Yoko Tanaka's brilliant illustrations.

    Young Peter lives with an old soldier that knew his father when they were in battle together. When sent to the market to get bread and fish, Peter uses his only money to ask a fortuneteller if his sister is still alive. He receives a mysterious answer about following an elephant and is shocked to later discover an elephant was conjured up accidentally by a magician during his recent performance. With the help of a policeman named Leo, Peter sets out to rescue the elephant and find is sister

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Not that good

    Funny and a very high vocabulary(6th grade) good book for teachers to read to their students

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    AWESOME BOOK!!!

    This book is a really good!!! Recommend that 4-6 grade read it...

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Weird but I enjoyed it.

    It's kind of a old world, classic story that wraps around several charactors. I liked it, thought it charming. It was a quick read. I liked it, but I don't think my 11-yr-old would stay interested in the story.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not her best!

    I did not enjoy this book. It was actually pretty dumb.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Pages

    How many pages is this book? Someone please answer :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    ...

    it is awesome so far

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Liked this book...

    This book was entertaining, but at first, I thought I might not like it - there was no introduction to the characters - they just came alive with a big bang. Not as good as The Tale of Despereaux", but still good reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    Absolutely awesome

    I bought two copies of this book and liked almost as much as the nine year old I bought it for. This book is not only good to help bridge learning vocabulary and reading vocabulary, but the story in itself is great for everyone in the family. I've actually recommended this book to my adult friends to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fun book for all ages

    As always, DiCamillo introduces her readers to a beautiful world full of interesting characters. Not quite the allegorical social commentary of The Tale of Despereaux, The Magician's Elephant is still an engaging journey through what seems to be a small European town at the turn of the century. The magic is not an end to itself, but rather is the catalyst in bringing about a chain of events that cause various characters to shift from their comfort zones and move onto something greater. In this way, DiCamillo is subtle, but powerful, and it can be both a fun book for younger readers as well as a book with multiple layers for older ones. I recommend this book to all readers 8+.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    ~`|¿??¿¿{}[=_^¿¿¿¿¿?¿¿¿\<>]$!@

    QUAR GAR BLARBO!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    The magicians elephant is a great read for 6th graders

    I read this book when i was in 5th grade and it was a good read. Although i think that a 6th grader would enjoy the book more. It can be a little slow at first but once one gets into the story it is difficult to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    For 3rd grader

    Poop

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Jap to Mimi

    Hi

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Lydia

    Hi

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17