Customer Reviews for

The Magician's Elephant

Average Rating 4
( 326 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

The Magicians Elephant is a magical book

The Magician's Elephant
By: Kate Dicamillo

Peter is just trying to get the answer to the simple question, "Does she live?" What Peter does not know is that this one question will lead him on a search for his missing sister. His mom trusted him to keep his sister s...
The Magician's Elephant
By: Kate Dicamillo

Peter is just trying to get the answer to the simple question, "Does she live?" What Peter does not know is that this one question will lead him on a search for his missing sister. His mom trusted him to keep his sister safe but the he had to let her go. On an errand he found a fortuneteller and asked her. The fortuneteller said to follow the elephant. Then when an unexpected visitor comes to town, peter figures out the way.

The suspenseful chapters make you feel like you cannot put the book down. The clever descriptions draw a very clear picture in your mind. It is easy to see the gloomy snow covered days that spread across the town day after day and the beggar with his black dog Iddo. The elephant, magician, and Madam La Vaughn, all play very important rolls to help tell the reader that you can trust others. All these characters join together to help the elephant go home and Peter find his sister. It was very difficult for Madam to help and join with the magician that crippled her legs. What does she choose?

(Published by candlewick press, copyright 2009)
Recommended for ages 7 - 12

posted by 2381418 on December 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

left wondering

i truly loved her tales of despereaux how ever this does not compare. the book has words too difficult for children and some adults. the sentences are too repetitive and do not catch attention. the story is dry and drags on. i am truly sadden especially after reading a ...
i truly loved her tales of despereaux how ever this does not compare. the book has words too difficult for children and some adults. the sentences are too repetitive and do not catch attention. the story is dry and drags on. i am truly sadden especially after reading a book as great as despereaux. :(

posted by slaydon on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pulling a winner out of the hat

    A heartfelt, timeless fable about the power of wonder and the magic of "What if?". DiCamillo's been working in the style of faux fairytale since Desperaux, and the lessons she's learned in her previous books help here: she keeps it short, sweet, and to the point. I feel, as the people of Baltese say, as though I were in the presence of the elephant.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Weird but I enjoyed it.

    It's kind of a old world, classic story that wraps around several charactors. I liked it, thought it charming. It was a quick read. I liked it, but I don't think my 11-yr-old would stay interested in the story.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Liked this book...

    This book was entertaining, but at first, I thought I might not like it - there was no introduction to the characters - they just came alive with a big bang. Not as good as The Tale of Despereaux", but still good reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    Absolutely awesome

    I bought two copies of this book and liked almost as much as the nine year old I bought it for. This book is not only good to help bridge learning vocabulary and reading vocabulary, but the story in itself is great for everyone in the family. I've actually recommended this book to my adult friends to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    The magicians elephant is a great read for 6th graders

    I read this book when i was in 5th grade and it was a good read. Although i think that a 6th grader would enjoy the book more. It can be a little slow at first but once one gets into the story it is difficult to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    I have to say it was pretty good!

    I loved the magician's elephant when my teacher read it as a read aloud in second grade. It was confusing so I bought it in paperback and read it again. It made a little bit more sense but it was still a smidge confusing

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    :)

    This book was great & hard to put down. I liked it a lot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    G

    Ya pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Review

    Good and sweet story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    How many pages are there?

    I want to get long books not short . It sounds good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Nice book

    I read this a long time ago and cant wait to read it again!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Katelyn

    I like it so far and im only on chapter two haha

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Hmmm

    Should i fourth grade me

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    From an 11-year-old who read it

    My favorite part was the adventure that Peter has. My least favorite was when the magician got put in jail because it is sad. The middle part was the time where Peter convinces Madam Lavonne to go to the magicians cell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    The only way to live life is you

    He couldnt feel worse. How would you feel if no one was listening to you. Then on day an elephant comes along. You will have to read the book to find out more. The nook is waiting for you to pick it up. So remember never give up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    a ten year old boy

    this book shows passion and magic ad everyone will like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    Feels magical

    We enjoyed reading this book with our 7 year old twins. they both felt the magic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful story

    I love this book so much I'm gonna read it one more time and then write my full review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Good book, but the lesson may be lost on younger children.

    I enjoyed the book and purchased for my 10 year old who loves Kate DiCamillo's other works. While I love the sentiment of this book, it may be lost on younger children. Would be a great book for discussion with children about "Just believe!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Children Read and Learn

    Through books like the Magician's Elephant and Malia and Teacup Awesome African Adventure, children learn to believe in themselves.
    It is the enduring characters that make books like Harry Potter and Malia and Teacup help children gain self esteem according to psychologist and author Gerald Amada. A wholesome book series, Malia and Teacup features a young girl and a tiny poodle deep in Kenya Africa. As she gains self esteem through her wild adventures like animal stampedes and pirates, children can identify with the characters. Children learn to love themselves vicariously and to do the right thing as in Ms. DiCamilo's books. If you enjoy adventure, you will love Malia, too.


    The Reading Tub: "Recommended for Reluctant Readers"


    Christian Children's Book Club: "Recommended"

    Children and Libraries Journal: Spring 2010 issue Malia and Teacup Self -esteem and Librarians

    Sunshine State Young Readers Award 2010 nominee (both Malia and Teacup books)

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDMlltshhdE&feature=channel_page

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4