BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Magicians' Guild (Black Magician Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Exceptional Read

I'll be honest, I picked up this book mainly because I'm waiting for the next book in all of the other series I've been reading. I love Terry Goodkind, Raymond Feist, Terry Brooks, Robert Jordan, and a few others but since Goodkind's last release I have to wait for the...
I'll be honest, I picked up this book mainly because I'm waiting for the next book in all of the other series I've been reading. I love Terry Goodkind, Raymond Feist, Terry Brooks, Robert Jordan, and a few others but since Goodkind's last release I have to wait for the others. I love fantasy books, especially when they deal with magic and wizards. This book was a complete surprise for me. I read the dust jacket and it showed promise so I brought it home and I haven't been able to put it down. I finished it in 3 days and I'm running out to get the 2nd book right after I finish this review..! The main character, which everyone seems to make a big deal out of her being a girl, is down to earth and I think that both male and female will be able to relate to her. This is the 1st book I've read by Trudi Canavan but if this is what her writing is like, I'm sure I'll be adding her name to my list of authors.

posted by Anonymous on February 25, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Starts out good, but...

I thought this was going to be really good at the start, and book 1 is OK, but although written well enough, the plotting is very simple and predictable and as the series progresses, it just gets silly. The world isn't very well defined and feels rather amateurish. Ther...
I thought this was going to be really good at the start, and book 1 is OK, but although written well enough, the plotting is very simple and predictable and as the series progresses, it just gets silly. The world isn't very well defined and feels rather amateurish. There's a subplot about a gay magician that seems like it was added as a filler and ultimately has no bearing on the outcome of the main story. I wouldn't have minded so much, but the writer seems to afraid to follow through her own ideas and the gay character never so much as lays a hand on his one true love, or does more than hint at his feelings all through the books. I mean, if you're going to go there, at least have the courage of your convictions and follow it through. This isn't great fantasy, but it's okay for a rainy day when there's nothing on TV and you don't mind the odd no-brainer.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What happened after The Magician's Guild was formed

    The Magician's Guild takes place several centuries after the events in The Magician's Apprentice. Having read both, it is interesting to note the differences that have evolved after the formation of the guild. What history records and what actually happened are sometimes different things. Certain titles remain, but their meaning has changed. Knowledge which was sorely lacking in the past has now evolved beyond what was dreamed of then. What was revered is now taboo. And most interesting of all is the impact of the formation of the guild on their society. Whilst it may have proofed a boon to the magicians, the divide between the have and have-nots seems to have increased due to certain old practices like recruiting magicians from the rich turning into a kind of prerogative.

    Aside from this while Sonea is no wilting heroine, there is not much else to recommend her. At least, not in this book She is the product of her upbringing and soon realizes that prejudice works both ways. It takes her the entire book before she realizes this. This is a plus on Sonea's side. However, I disliked that Sonea did not put up more of an argument when Rothen explains that the reason the magicians do not help the slum dwellers is because the slum dwellers themselves would not accept it. Trust is earned. If they were willing to try with Sonea, why give up so easily on those who so obviously needs assistance. In fact, the magicians didn't even bother to make the attempt.

    The only reason to read on at this point is the mystery surrounding the High Lord. Is he truly the villain he appears or will there be more to the story ?

    For fans of Trudi Canavan only.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    Starts out good, but...

    I thought this was going to be really good at the start, and book 1 is OK, but although written well enough, the plotting is very simple and predictable and as the series progresses, it just gets silly. The world isn't very well defined and feels rather amateurish. There's a subplot about a gay magician that seems like it was added as a filler and ultimately has no bearing on the outcome of the main story. I wouldn't have minded so much, but the writer seems to afraid to follow through her own ideas and the gay character never so much as lays a hand on his one true love, or does more than hint at his feelings all through the books. I mean, if you're going to go there, at least have the courage of your convictions and follow it through. This isn't great fantasy, but it's okay for a rainy day when there's nothing on TV and you don't mind the odd no-brainer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Good read

    Very much enjoyed this book, I wouldn't put it in my top 10 (hence the 4 star review) but it was refreshingly unique with its character driven plotline. I am looking forward to reading the second book in the trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    Exceptional Read

    I'll be honest, I picked up this book mainly because I'm waiting for the next book in all of the other series I've been reading. I love Terry Goodkind, Raymond Feist, Terry Brooks, Robert Jordan, and a few others but since Goodkind's last release I have to wait for the others. I love fantasy books, especially when they deal with magic and wizards. This book was a complete surprise for me. I read the dust jacket and it showed promise so I brought it home and I haven't been able to put it down. I finished it in 3 days and I'm running out to get the 2nd book right after I finish this review..! The main character, which everyone seems to make a big deal out of her being a girl, is down to earth and I think that both male and female will be able to relate to her. This is the 1st book I've read by Trudi Canavan but if this is what her writing is like, I'm sure I'll be adding her name to my list of authors.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Terrible

    The book opens with a bunch of street trash gathered into a mob, stoning people for no good reason - and of course w're supposed to feel sorry for them. Typical fantasy crap, where the poor are always intrinsically virtuluous, government is always evil, and the street trash is suddenly imbued with more power than trained magicians, and - gasp! never knew it til right this minute. How many times are you idiots going to write this same tedious story?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Anonymus

    Super good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book. It was different from a lot of the b

    I really enjoyed this book. It was different from a lot of the books I read that have magic in them. I cannot wait to read the next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    Sonea is dwell or slum girl that grew up knowing the magician's

    Sonea is dwell or slum girl that grew up knowing the magician's and the magician's guild never did anything for the dwells. Sonea meets up with some old friends Harrin and Ceryni(Cery)on the day of The Purge. Sonea gets caught up in feelings of resentment and anger towards the magicians throwing a rock which hits it's mark much to Sonea and the magicians' surprise. Lord Rothen witnesses an act he never thought possible outside of the Guild~a rogue magician. Lord Rothen is the only person who can identify rogue magician who happens to be a young girl and a dwell. Cery helps Sonea hide from the magicians' and in turn creates a debt with The Thieves. Sonea is stunned that she can use magic and wants nothing to do with magic or The Guild. Can Sonea remain hidden? Will The Guild find Sonea? Will Sonea overcome her attitude about magicians' and The Guild? Your answers await you in Magicians' Guild.




    I read this book several years ago. I enjoyed it as much then as I do now. Sonea is anti-heroine forced into a position thru no fault of her own. Sonea has no respect or regard for magicians or The Guild. Her one comment "What has magician ever done for a dwell" is very poignant and insightful. Lords Rothen, Dannyl, and Loren were among my favorites. I truly despise Lord Fergun and his sneaky ways. I'm not sure what to make of High Lord at this point. I look forward to reading next books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    A Fun, Fast Fantasy Read

    The book is plot-driven with just enough suspense to keep the reader turning pages. The underlying premise is that "magic" is an energy/power within some people, and, that that energy must be controlled or its use wil destroy the person and everything around him or her. This is the story's justification for the plot line of a government hunting down a young woman, Sonea, who belatedly had become aware of her "magical" energy.

    In movie-style and "24" style of flashing from scene to scene without any transition, the author achieves a sense of intense and immediate concern and action by both Sonea and her pursuers.

    The ending was not unexpected. Although I enjoyed my time reading this book, I probably will not read another in this series. What I found lacking were: character development, insufficient descriptions, and absence of a moral code.

    Possibly, the story was a metaphor for the current socio-political status in the world, especially if one substitutes "money" for "magic/energy/power" monied political groups for the "Guild"!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Nice tight story line, well developed characters and a very quick read. Supportin characters are a story in their own right and I can see that spinoffs in those directions are quite possible. With the final book of the trilogy it would be difficult to develop a subsequent book that would mesh with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Dagger

    Dude, not Sunclan. They're inactive this time of day.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Poison

    Can we raid sunclan?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    TO FROST- URGANT!!!

    TIGERCLAW IS LOCKED OUT!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    To frost URGENT

    Frost we can dedtroy chillclan now they have like four members. I almost destroyed them once by myself plz their camp is at above the clouds res four.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Destructo to leader

    Meeting at dark council result 1

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    H

    D

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Arachne

    •Appearance• a sleek black she cat with piercing green eyes. She has a dark red marking on her back that looks like a black widows, she has very sharp teeth and claws and she has long legs •Personality• bloodthirsty, protective, strong, smart, determined, brave, and cheerful •Mate• none •Crush• nope. •Kits• i wonder... •Family• none, theyre all dead. •History• im not telling •Age• unknown

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Riverscreech

    **Name: Look up, dumb one. T.T But l usually just go by River, **Rank: Well, l'm a resigned warrior of EvilWith, l've been labled a drifter, and, yeah. Call me what you like. **Mate: l have a completely amazing mate. He's, like, totally awesome. But l won't put his name just in case one of ya gets a smart-ass idea. **Kits: Oh, geez. The one that survived was Ambleclaw/Cedarstar, but he quit. So, at the moment, l have no kits and l don't want any. **Description: Dark calico with menicing ice-blue eyes. Muzzle and shoulders are decorated with numerous scars. **History: Seriously, people. You honestly do not need to know.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Virus

    Hey Cobra. *Virus meows evenly*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Bloodhawk

    Gender"male"appearence"a sleek red tom with claws as long as a mouse and silver eyes. He is th king of hell"personality" he does not tolerate anycat harrasing hi mate. H is caring and loyal to his family and has a bad temper" mate"ginger"."bio: he gre up as a prince in hell hi mother and father died so he was place as th ne king. He became angry when the council wanted to hoose his queen, silentmist. So he left. The demons dispatched but still obey him. So watch out. He can drag you to hell himself.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9