Customer Reviews for

The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 673 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(407)

4 Star

(149)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Even though the Magician's nephew is the "Sixth" installment it should be read First.

The Chronicles of Narnia is a series of seven fantasy novels for children written by C. S. Lewis. It is considered a classic of children's literature and is the author's best-known work, having sold over 120 million copies in 41 languages. Written by Lewis between 1949 ...
The Chronicles of Narnia is a series of seven fantasy novels for children written by C. S. Lewis. It is considered a classic of children's literature and is the author's best-known work, having sold over 120 million copies in 41 languages. Written by Lewis between 1949 and 1954 and illustrated by Pauline Baynes.

The books contain Christian ideas made easily accessible to young readers. They are not pedantic, however, and their richness of adventure, color, and ideas have made them favorites of children and adults, Christians and non-Christians. In addition to Christian themes, Lewis also borrows characters from Greek and Roman mythology as well as traditional British and Irish fairy tales.

Even though the Magician's nephew is the "Sixth" installment it should be read First.

Completed in the winter of 1954 and published in 1955, the prequel The Magician's Nephew brings the reader back to the very beginning of Narnia where we learn how Aslan created the world and how evil first entered it. Digory Kirke and his friend Polly Plummer stumble into different worlds by experimenting with magic rings made by Digory's uncle (the titular "magician"), encounter Jadis (The White Witch), and witness the creation of Narnia. Many long-standing questions about Narnia are answered in the adventure that follows.

Even though C. S. Lewis placed The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe as the first book in the series. Older editions of the book reflect this decision. Lweis grandson laterr changed the order so that the books were in chronological order. After all The Magicians Nephew is the story of how Narnia was created and correlates with the book of Genesis.

posted by carlosmock on May 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

"...While The Magician's Nephew is definitely one of the mo

"...While The Magician's Nephew is definitely one of the more understated of the series, I always enjoy reading it. It isn't lacking for adventure, though there are no battle scenes, and when the Talking Beasts of Narnia come about, there are a lot of funny moments...
"...While The Magician's Nephew is definitely one of the more understated of the series, I always enjoy reading it. It isn't lacking for adventure, though there are no battle scenes, and when the Talking Beasts of Narnia come about, there are a lot of funny moments involving them and Uncle Andrew. There are some nice morals for young readers, but not in a preachy kind of way. Again, it's not quite as action-packed as some of the others in the series, this book is very captivating, and you really get a sense of it building up to the others; having re-read it, I am eager to finish re-reading the rest of them!"

For full review, please visit me at Here Be Bookwyrms on Blogger:

herebebookwyrms dot blogspot dot com

posted by Here_Be_Bookwyrms on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 677 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Even though the Magician's nephew is the "Sixth" installment it should be read First.

    The Chronicles of Narnia is a series of seven fantasy novels for children written by C. S. Lewis. It is considered a classic of children's literature and is the author's best-known work, having sold over 120 million copies in 41 languages. Written by Lewis between 1949 and 1954 and illustrated by Pauline Baynes.

    The books contain Christian ideas made easily accessible to young readers. They are not pedantic, however, and their richness of adventure, color, and ideas have made them favorites of children and adults, Christians and non-Christians. In addition to Christian themes, Lewis also borrows characters from Greek and Roman mythology as well as traditional British and Irish fairy tales.

    Even though the Magician's nephew is the "Sixth" installment it should be read First.

    Completed in the winter of 1954 and published in 1955, the prequel The Magician's Nephew brings the reader back to the very beginning of Narnia where we learn how Aslan created the world and how evil first entered it. Digory Kirke and his friend Polly Plummer stumble into different worlds by experimenting with magic rings made by Digory's uncle (the titular "magician"), encounter Jadis (The White Witch), and witness the creation of Narnia. Many long-standing questions about Narnia are answered in the adventure that follows.

    Even though C. S. Lewis placed The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe as the first book in the series. Older editions of the book reflect this decision. Lweis grandson laterr changed the order so that the books were in chronological order. After all The Magicians Nephew is the story of how Narnia was created and correlates with the book of Genesis.

    25 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Narnia is awesome

    I read at a very early age, I read all the Narnia books at age 7. I love them and reread them every now and then. Now I'm 13, they are still some of my favorite books.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Great read

    Love the book.Very interesting at times.Amazing details almost like your really there.I recomend this book to anyone who loves a good fiction book.Haven't read rest of series but sure they will be good too.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Must-read to understand the Chroncles of Narnia

    This book is a great introduction into the intricate story of the chronicle s of Narnia. It is a must read for those who take a serious interest in reading the following books in the series. However, there is a slow beginning, but dont worry, the pace will begin to quicken. Overall, a great intro into one of the best series of books!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    AWESOME

    What a great read! I recomened to everyone! Totally worth 2 bucks :)

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Classic

    Great quick read and everything tied together pretty nicely.
    The only reason i gave it 4 stars is because some parts were just a little dull, for me.
    Overall, it had a wonderful ending and i recommend this book for any age group.
    Im gonna read the 2nd book and watch the movie.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "...While The Magician's Nephew is definitely one of the mo

    "...While The Magician's Nephew is definitely one of the more understated of the series, I always enjoy reading it. It isn't lacking for adventure, though there are no battle scenes, and when the Talking Beasts of Narnia come about, there are a lot of funny moments involving them and Uncle Andrew. There are some nice morals for young readers, but not in a preachy kind of way. Again, it's not quite as action-packed as some of the others in the series, this book is very captivating, and you really get a sense of it building up to the others; having re-read it, I am eager to finish re-reading the rest of them!"

    For full review, please visit me at Here Be Bookwyrms on Blogger:

    herebebookwyrms dot blogspot dot com

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Classic

    Beautiful creation story.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    LOOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I absolutly LOVE this book. LOOOOOOOOOVVVE IT. I highly recommend this book.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Good

    Over all it was good it got off to a slow start but it was good.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Cutepaws

    Hi. I wanted to share what I think of this book.... THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS EVER!!!!!! YOU SHOULD TOLDLY READ THIS IF YOU CAN READ!! IT IS ONE OF THE BEST BOOK!!! to me. one of my favs is Lord of the Rings. Bye!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great book, I personally think its the best book in the Chronicl

    Great book, I personally think its the best book in the Chronicle of Narnia Series. And it shows how evil (sin) came into the creation of Narnia.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    This wasok

    This is techniqually the first bbook in the narnia sersies but its very boring at some parts! It youre going to start with it just hang in there and read! I personally read the sersies in the order they were written: the lion witch and wordrobe, prince capspian the dawn trreader , the maicians nephew, the horse and his boy, the silver chair then the last battle! I SUGGGEST rhe wordrobe, then horse and his boy, then prince c, dawntreader, THEN the magicians nephew, the silver chair and last battle! So muxh more enjoyable! I love this seeies and think everyone should read it! But i do warn some parts are hard to get through and slow! But its worth it!, :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    THIS BOOK IS THE BOMB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is a book for kids ages 10-15.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    the magicians nephew The magicians nephew

    I thought this was a really good book. This book was about how digory and polly set on an adventure by digory's uncle's rings and how they come across the land called Narnia.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Aweasome

    Read this book it great but realy cheese

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Speachless......

    You can tell they put a thought into this story. it has amazing details and wonderful characters. I dont know how they wrote so many books based off of the main story. And i think that it is good to start of with 1-4 characters and then add on to the characters, and that is what this book did. When i started reading the first chapter i thought it was going to be the lamest book ever, but after i got passed the first chapter i was addicted to it!!

    FYI: just get passed the first chapter ( the main part of that chapter is just meeting the characters) and then ur good

    ENJOY THE BOOK!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Great Fantasy Book

    This book is a great, quick read. It lures you into a fantasy world and it makes you feel as if you are part of the story. Love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    Loved the movies. Kept hearing they skipped the 1st book explain

    Loved the movies. Kept hearing they skipped the 1st book explaining how Narnia was created. It was great to have the background knowledge. I just couldn't get into the writing style. Several times where the writing is actually talking to the reader. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Hi

    Is anyone there it is me amber anderson will someone pleases chat with me :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 677 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 34