Customer Reviews for

The Magicians and Mrs. Quent

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I greatly urge fans of Austin, Bronte, or period mysteries to try this book. I truly believe you will enjoy it.

This reads like a Victorian novel and a portion of it is like a Gothic mystery. It is very easy to forget it is technically a fantasy novel because Beckett adopts so many facets of a Victorian England. The city and township names are similar in sound and the rules of so...
This reads like a Victorian novel and a portion of it is like a Gothic mystery. It is very easy to forget it is technically a fantasy novel because Beckett adopts so many facets of a Victorian England. The city and township names are similar in sound and the rules of society are similar as well. For hardcore fantasy readers there is enough magick and mystery to keep you enthralled as well even if the characters aren't traipsing through a wood full of orcs and elves. Well written with characters that are tied together by the tiniest twists of fate, The Magicians and Mrs. Quent is a truly enjoyable and engrossing tale.

posted by Jilseponie on November 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not Austen, not worth reading

First, this is not the first book by this writer. The copyright is held by Mark Anthony, who appears to have written several fantasy novels. This book is poorly organized, has too many plot threads that never really connect, and never really conclude, and could stand ...
First, this is not the first book by this writer. The copyright is held by Mark Anthony, who appears to have written several fantasy novels. This book is poorly organized, has too many plot threads that never really connect, and never really conclude, and could stand substantial editing to clear out far too many pointless scenes that appear to be derived from Jane Austen's work simply to make the Austen connection. I think this book was written to try to catch the Jane Austen and Zombies fad. I've not read that, and I don't plan to read any more Mrs Quent novels.

posted by arethusa on July 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I greatly urge fans of Austin, Bronte, or period mysteries to try this book. I truly believe you will enjoy it.

    This reads like a Victorian novel and a portion of it is like a Gothic mystery. It is very easy to forget it is technically a fantasy novel because Beckett adopts so many facets of a Victorian England. The city and township names are similar in sound and the rules of society are similar as well. For hardcore fantasy readers there is enough magick and mystery to keep you enthralled as well even if the characters aren't traipsing through a wood full of orcs and elves. Well written with characters that are tied together by the tiniest twists of fate, The Magicians and Mrs. Quent is a truly enjoyable and engrossing tale.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    Not Austen, not worth reading

    First, this is not the first book by this writer. The copyright is held by Mark Anthony, who appears to have written several fantasy novels. This book is poorly organized, has too many plot threads that never really connect, and never really conclude, and could stand substantial editing to clear out far too many pointless scenes that appear to be derived from Jane Austen's work simply to make the Austen connection. I think this book was written to try to catch the Jane Austen and Zombies fad. I've not read that, and I don't plan to read any more Mrs Quent novels.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fascinating ¿Regency¿ fantasy

    The Lockwell family went from reasonably well off to poverty when the patriarch, a talented magickian, went insane a prisoner in his own home. As a result of his decline, the family never hosted parties and the three Miss Lockwells rarely socialize with their former equals. Instead suddenly poor, unmarried oldest daughter Ivy the bookworm leaves her home in Invarel and her beloved sisters Rose and Lily to become a governess at a country estate of Heathcrest.----------------- Being female, Ivy is unable to practice the science of magick as that is against the law. As such, she has turned her interest into the history of magic. When she comes across a frightening ancient tome she turns to Mr. Quent for guidance. Apparently a spell from a long forgotten distant past is slowly but successfully performing magic to take control of the world.---------------- This is a fascinating ¿Regency¿ fantasy that pays homage to the great female authors of the nineteenth century like Austen and the Bronte sisters. The tale is especially super when the plot focuses on Invarel and the magick malady of Mr. Lockwell with its impact on his family. At Heathcrest on the other hand the story line is filled with much more action as schemes abound but loses some of its freshness as the story crosses to deep into Charlotte Bronte territory. Still Ivy makes for a fine fantasy as she tries to save the world from a deadly spell but magickians and the law ban her from using magick to prevent the disaster from happening.----------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    If you loved Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series and Sharon Shinn's angels, you will love Galen Beckett's debut!

    If you love Regency or Gothic romance, but are continually disappointed by the literary quality of the genre, this is the book you've been waiting for. If you're looking for a little magic, but despair of the gore and excess so common to fantasy, this is the book you've been waiting for. I'm not one to gush, but I can't wait for the next one!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

     

     

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this! It read like a Jane Austen book...if Jane

    I really enjoyed this! It read like a Jane Austen book...if Jane Austen wrote fanatasy. The world was nicely realized and the characters...wow the characters were great. Each struggled with their own place in society and it's expectations just like any novel written about such a heavily soiclally regulated society...but they each find their own form of freedom in magic. Very subtle and complex and it made me anticipate more books in this world. Excellent book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    D

    Dawnlilly pads in with her three kits.
    <br>

    <br>

    Cinderkit , Whitekit , and Stripekit padded in behind their mother. They all looked wide - eyed at the new camp.
    <br>

    <br>

    Clearclaw padded after his sister and her kits. He sat beside her and curled his tail around her. "Hello , i am Clearclaw and this my sister Dawnlilly and these are her kits. May we join?" He meowed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    To all

    Join my kirby rp at 'golden by kirby' second res

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    7 cats... to clan

    7 cats paded up... "may we join?" one up front asked

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Just an FYI for your own good....

    Next time theres a lag youve just gotta wait it out. The longest there was a lag was about two weeks. If snother lag does happen dont freak out. Keep calm and try and post each day.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Aspenpelt

    Yup

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Dragonwing

    He sits in the corner, watching the small Clan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Nightclaw

    Thx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Lunaring

    Ate a mouse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Sunblazes bio

    This will disapeer soon so read it now! Im a golden she cat with ginger tabby markings. I have forest green eyes. I am 15 moons old. fun, crazy and detemened in battle all dedcripe me. If im aloud to, ill start a derp party where we eat muffens and say derp. Mate: none. Crush: WHY WOULD I TELL U MY CRUSH!!!!??????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Rosetail

    *rushes over to lightningstar*hold still this might hurt a bit*puts some herb pulp on lightningstar body*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Darkness

    He barred his teeth and looked away. "Leave me alone!" He growled and started backing away slowly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Moonshine

    A silver tabby walks in. She has gentle green ees and a long tail. "Hello"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Luxray

    What's been going on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Lightningstar

    "Nothing much I missed you though."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3