Customer Reviews for

Magic's Price (Last Herald Mage Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    One of my favorites.

    One of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A tragic story. I loved it!

    I found this book to be far more tragic than the previous two, because we know from the beginning (especially if you read Arrows of the Queen first) that it will end tragically. Finally Vanyel finds happiness and peace in the arms of a new lover. The love story was beautifully written. This book had me in tears knowing that he would not survive his final sacrifice for Valdemar. This is my favorite of the Vanyel trilogy and nearly my favorite of the whole Valdemar saga (my absolute favorite one is By the Sword). I simply couldn't put it down, even knowing how the end would come out. It does leave more questions than it answers about the future of Valdemar, but that's okay, because there are plenty more books after this one to continue the story of the Heralds. Mercedes Lackey has a way of truly bringing the emotion of her characters across in her writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Strong Conclusion to Lackey's Most Moving Series

    This is the third and concluding book in the Herald Mage series that begins with Magic's Pawn. I love the Heralds of Valdemar series this novel is a part of. The Herald Mage trilogy was published after the first set of books that begins with Arrows of the Queen, but is set hundreds of years before, so this wouldn't act as a spoiler (and indeed in a way Arrows acts as a spoiler for this set, since by then Vanyel is a figure of more legend than history.) Because of Arrows of the Queen, I knew Vanyel's fate and more or less where his story would end up, and it's certainly foreshadowed in the other two books. I found it no less a journey worth taking for that; Vanyel is an appealing character and Valdemar with its "companions" (magical horse-shaped creatures) and rider-heralds is an appealing world to spend time in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    Spell-binding and heartbreaking...

    Absolutely the best book of the best series that I have ever read, and I am only 16! The characters just make you want to laugh and cry, and you feel their emotions as if they were your own. Ms. Lackey makes the characters seem very real, even if the setting is not. I strongly reccommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    Intriguing!

    Misty has done it again! If you have not done so already - if you are here, thinking about buying this book, I assume you have, but there it is - if you have not done so already, you must read the other two books in this trilogy (in order): Magic's Pawn and Magic's Promise. The series combines a beautiful and unique love story that is only beautiful and never gratuitous, with a great tale of magic, adventure, and mystery. I rarely cry when I read, but the ending of every book brought at least a few tears, but often times, more. Ms. Lackey uses her awesome talents as a writer of fiction to make an imaginary world seem as though it had existed, and addresses one of today's most sensitive issues with great skill and care. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    Excellent book

    This is a fabulous book and series. It is what truly got me interested in Mercedes Lackey's writings. The writing is well done and it's not all angst and sadness, there's some humor, too. Made me cry.... a lot, but I won't tell you why because then I'd be giving away the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    One of the greatest books ever written. A must read!

    This book has broken so many bounds. I reccomend this book to anyone that can read. Mercedes Lackey is a genius. She really puts a face to 'Saych'/Gay people. I cannot imagine how anyone could harbor any hate for someone after reading this. Many thanks to Mercedes Lackey. It is books like this that changes the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2003

    You can't put the book down!

    I love how Lackey writes her books, building up even to the last pages! They are all awesome and this one particularly was very emotionally powerful. You just get sucked into the book until you are Vanyel, going through all his troubles and turmoil. The ending is excellent! By this point the readed is so attached to the charactors that it makes you cry! Only a few other books have made me shed tears like this book has!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    Wonderful!

    I loved this series. The first one was my favorite, but all three are fantastic! It's wonderfully written, and you can't help becoming emotionally attached. I also enjoyed the songs at the back of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2003

    There are not enough stars to rate this book.

    I must of read the first two books a dozen times before I bought the third one. I just couldn¿t bring myself to read it, because I could tell where the story was developing. After I finally did I can tell you that I cried, freely. I have yet to see a companion with the dedication of Yfandes. The last part of the book was so emotionally powerful I almost couldn¿t take it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2002

    Wow.... just left in shock by how good it was....WOW!!!!!!

    This was an outstanding way to end the series. At the end, I had to go back and read it over because it was...many things at once. I have no complaints about this book. Misty really did a good job on it. A question that probably pops up is why the battle between Vanyel and Lereath wasn't written in. I thought that this was because in order for the readers to be pleased, she would have to write the battle exactally right, which would be very, very hard to do. Overall, the ending was awesome, and the whole book was outstanding (Yfandes' tail!!) Before reading this book, I recommmend reading the other books in The Last Herald-Mage series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2002

    the best of the last herald mage series

    It was fantastic I have read all three books this series and this is by far the most exciting and the saddest. It offers a good deal of surprise with twists that you were not expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    Great way to end a series!

    Wow! That's all I have to say about this book. The things poor Vanyel has to go through as the last Herald-Mage... And unlike how some writers would do it, Van doesn't find his love only to lose him in the next page. Stefan sticks around until the end, and then he goes out with a bittersweet fading away. This is a great book, and one of her best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2001

    A Great Series

    A great series. I couldn't stop reading. I read it in the morning, during school, and even staying up very late. This series was the first of Lackey's that I've read and I look foward to more. It really made you feel that you were in the book instead of just reading it and it had a great effect on my emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2001

    WOW!!

    This is one of my absolute favourite books. I love the whole trilogy, but the third is the best. Van's heartbreaking situation is just extremely intense, and don't forget to get a box of tissues for the end! I won't give away the rest of the series, but lets just say we haven't heard the last of Van!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2001

    GOOD

    I have read the whole series, and I am very pleased with it. I won't spoil the secret about the bard, though. Vanyel's ultimate enemy must be destroyed because he has destoryed all the other mages, including Savil. Seeking revenge, and needing to destroy Master Dark or he will take over Valdemar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2000

    Magic's Price- Best of the Three

    This is absolutely my favorite book ever! She does a wonderful job of let you feel like you know him. When I haven't read this book for awhile, I feel like I'm missing my best friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2000

    Best Fantasy Series Ever!!!!

    I had not read Ms Lackeys work until I found this series in a used book store. I am a huge reader of Fantasy and I must say this is the best on going series I have ever read. Since that time I have read evey book on Valdemar and I have Never been transported to another place like this series has done for me. The bards and maps that are included make you feel as though this was real history and to see the bond that the companions have with their chosen herelds is truely moving. This series has moved me to tears more than once and I would have given anything to have saved Vanyel life. This is a must read if you truely enjoy escaping to another realm. Keep up the good work Ms Lackey!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2000

    Read this book!

    Great book! I loved way it moved, I almost couldn't put it down! I know that sounds like a cliche, but it's true. I almost got into trouble reading it during school and supper! I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2000

    BEST BOOK EVER

    I have read the other two Last Herald-Mage books, and I think that this is the best one. Misty goes deeper in this one than in the other two (or that's what I think) or maybe it's just that this is more sad than the others and I have this thing for tragedy. You have to admit, it's pretty sad that Van--oops, I almost leaked out the ending! If you want to know what I almost wrote--READ THE BOOK!! You won't regret it--trust me, I'm always right about books. =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6