Customer Reviews for

Magyk (Septimus Heap Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 985 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(634)

4 Star

(174)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

A GREAT MUST-READ-PAGE-TURNER!

This was just one of those books that I could not put down! The story was very complex. I loved all the spells, characters and the story! I think readers will love to read about Jenna, Boy 412, Nicko and all the other fabulous characters in this book as they go on wonde...
This was just one of those books that I could not put down! The story was very complex. I loved all the spells, characters and the story! I think readers will love to read about Jenna, Boy 412, Nicko and all the other fabulous characters in this book as they go on wonderful adventures in the land of Magyk!

posted by Bookreviewer74 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

Hahaha... Ha.

This was very disappointing to read. After borrowing it from my sister, I started it right away, thinking it would be a great book (according to the summary). I was horribly wrong. The discription is bland, and it goes way too fast for me, even moreso than the Warriors ...
This was very disappointing to read. After borrowing it from my sister, I started it right away, thinking it would be a great book (according to the summary). I was horribly wrong. The discription is bland, and it goes way too fast for me, even moreso than the Warriors series. Sorry, all of you this-book-is-a-five-star-book people.

posted by Sharubii on March 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 991 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 50
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    lame

    this book royaly SUCKED EGGS!it was just soo boring at first i couldent even stay with it. it just wasnt to my appeal. rangers apprintice is a WAY better series in this genre. so if you want real material rwad john flanagans rangers series.

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awsome!

    I remeber reading this book a couple of years ago and finding it very funny. To me it was like a fairytale with some twist. Its very good but may be boring at times. Now that Iv found it again I have to finish the series.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Jonny Rob

    Its so good, i cant describe.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Entertaining and fun!! ;)

    Magyk is a great book. Really and truly. It's great for dreamers and a page turner! I mean yes there are some "boring" parts in the story but every book has 'em. :D One time whn i was in B&N bookstore i was looking for a book to take to camp for a week i couldn't find any that fit my liking so i asked te sales lady i told her i was looking for another series to read besides percy jackson and the olympians and harry potter which i had already read. She pointed me in the direction of magic and said to me a lot of hp and pjo lovers are now reading this series it is also about a wizard. I decided to buy it and i loved it! I'm 11 yrs old the book was rlly suspenseful and was definitely a marvelous book. Angie sage did a wonderful job in my opinion. Go ahead and buy the book what exactly is the wordt tht can happen whag u didnt like it well at lst u tried it out. I jst started physic tonight. So stoked. MEEEP.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Good read for teens and dreamers

    If you like wizards, princesses and dragons then this is a good book for you. Fast story line, good charactors and an easy read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    awesome

    really great book, amazing read

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    sep ,jen,boy 409,boy 412, nick

    i love this book the best angie sage has ever done

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    best

    good to share to anyone

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good.

    I liked it. Especially for the first book in a series. There were a few things about the writing that bugged me, but thankfully it's fixed in the second book. I love the characters and the scenery. This whole series is worth the read. Septimus is awesome (again, especially in the second one!)

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    from a six grader

    This book is pretty good.I highly recommend this to you deciding to read this book.The only thing is that it's long.If you don't like long books this book is not for you.If you can stick with it then you will love it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Watch out, Harry! There's a new wizard working his way up!

    This book was magical, enchanting, and action-packed. I enjoyed it as much as i liked Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. The author [Angie Sage] does an excellent job combining humor, adventure, action, and darkness in one book. Magyk rocks! Bring on the next book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    S. M.

    Great book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    To: Angie Sage

    I'm reading magyk in school and I really enjoy it. I think that I am speaking for my 5th grade class and ,well every fan of septimus heap, I never want to put it down! It is just a downright epic,entriging,and amazing! It really caught my attention when in the very begining of the book, Septimus Heap dies. That is the right way to catch the reder's attention.Not only is that engaging,but it is a way to make the reader's jaw drop in awe. Sincerly,Dylan Steed of Truxton NY

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Fun234

    My friend read all of them and said that they so good he read them agen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Amazing

    Recently I finished the last book in this series. I practically cried... until I learned there would be a second series! If you are debating whether or not to read this book, the answer is: READ OR ELSE! I guarentee you'll love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Love it

    Im not finished but i wanted to say that i love witches, wolverines, wizards and little kids. I just love it. Omg..... its so good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    It was great!!

    I was at B&N and my mom came over with this book in her hand. She made me buy it and I was thinking it was terrible. I did not want it. So I went home and I read two sentences...and was hooked. So here I am now congradulating this awesome book on its awesome awesomness. -Isawesome1234

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Best series ever!!!!

    This is an all ages friendly book, very entertaining, and a series worth its money and time. I am a fast reader, and, at the age of 13, am usually bored and this is personally the best way for me to spend my free time. Iwould just like to.personally thank the author for taking the time to write such a great series. Thanks, Angie Sage!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Love it!

    I love this book! Its a page turner and its kinda like Harry Potter but not all focused on magic even though the story is called magyk but in the series it changes focus

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Amazing book!

    This is an awesome book! It is a most read book that i subscibe to everyone. You should read it. ANL

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 991 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 50