Customer Reviews for

Magyk (Septimus Heap Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1012 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(655)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(61)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

A GREAT MUST-READ-PAGE-TURNER!

This was just one of those books that I could not put down! The story was very complex. I loved all the spells, characters and the story! I think readers will love to read about Jenna, Boy 412, Nicko and all the other fabulous characters in this book as they go on wonde...
This was just one of those books that I could not put down! The story was very complex. I loved all the spells, characters and the story! I think readers will love to read about Jenna, Boy 412, Nicko and all the other fabulous characters in this book as they go on wonderful adventures in the land of Magyk!

posted by Bookreviewer74 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

Hahaha... Ha.

This was very disappointing to read. After borrowing it from my sister, I started it right away, thinking it would be a great book (according to the summary). I was horribly wrong. The discription is bland, and it goes way too fast for me, even moreso than the Warriors ...
This was very disappointing to read. After borrowing it from my sister, I started it right away, thinking it would be a great book (according to the summary). I was horribly wrong. The discription is bland, and it goes way too fast for me, even moreso than the Warriors series. Sorry, all of you this-book-is-a-five-star-book people.

posted by Sharubii on March 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 505 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    from a six grader

    This book is pretty good.I highly recommend this to you deciding to read this book.The only thing is that it's long.If you don't like long books this book is not for you.If you can stick with it then you will love it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Watch out, Harry! There's a new wizard working his way up!

    This book was magical, enchanting, and action-packed. I enjoyed it as much as i liked Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. The author [Angie Sage] does an excellent job combining humor, adventure, action, and darkness in one book. Magyk rocks! Bring on the next book!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this series!  At first I wasn't sure if I would like it,

    I loved this series! 
    At first I wasn't sure if I would like it, but I loved the whole series! This is nothing like Harry Potter, 
    but in my opinion much better! I loved the idea of a girl being found in the snow (I won't spoil who she is)
    and a boy being  pronounced "dead". The questions that had me reading this book, were
    who is this mysterious girl and what happened to Septimus Heap. So I decided to read the book. You will not be disappointed
    at all. Trust me!
    The only reason I gave it 4 stars, is because this book didn't keep my interest at the beginning, but it is still an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Good book

    Ok, I really want to give 3 and a half stars but bumbped it up to a 4 star instead. I really like the cover, if that counts. I do plan to read the next one in the series and see if it gets any better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    A great new series

    I teach reading and am always looking for a series that will interest young adults. I found one in this series. The characters have flaws that they must overcome, challenges that are believable, relationships that students can identify with.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Magyk tries to go after the Harry Potter's popularity and fails miserably

    Inside or on the cover of Magyk there are comments like, "watch out, Harry, there's a new wizard" or "magical and unforgettable", etc. Cutting through the hype, Magyk is like that tent at the circus that admits you if you pay $$ to see a live unicorn but all you get is a horse with a goat's horn glued to its forehead. Everything about this book is unimpressive - the story from start to finish, the characters that populate it, even the illustrations suck. I could only recommend this to children between ages 6 to 9. Everyone else should skip this title over.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    A Heap of Magyk Adventure

    The Heap family might just be ordinary wizards, but Angie Sage makes their lives ExtraOrdinarily intriguing. When ExtraOrdinary Wizard, Marcia Overstrand, thrusts a violet-eyed infant into their care and keeping, the Heaps are thrown into a dangerous web of politics, espionage and assassins . They barely escape with their lives, but what they gain is more than they ever could have hoped for.

    Sage creates memorable characters that teach children excellent lessons about the importance of family, friendship, courage, and acceptance. Children ages nine through twelve will love adventures shared by Jenna, Nicko and Boy 412. Though the book might not be appropriate for younger children due to the more scary passages about the assassins.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nope

    I really wanted to like this book, but I just don't. It is extremely confusing and just boring.. I kept asking myself.. Do I really Care? No. I kept thinking about all the other good books out there.. In the first chapter there are like 4 people who die and about 20 different characters named, but you don't know who they are, so you don't know who they are talking about and I was just disappointed... I would recommend this book. I think the plot could have been good (like it was a good idea) it just needed to be written differently and thought out better.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    Great book

    A fascinating First Novel for a spellbinding series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Where the Magyk begins! A wonderful, detailed and well-written f

    Where the Magyk begins! A wonderful, detailed and well-written first book to the 7 book, smash hit Septimus Heap series. Magyk starts the reader off with brilliant and lovable characters who grow in length as the series  progresses. A great introduction with an exciting plot, detailed settings and characters, and full of just plain Magyk, this book is a must read. It will change your life. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan. These books are definitely on the

    I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan. These books are definitely on the same level. It would be a tough decision to decide which I liked best.
    Read the series. You will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    This book is certainly a mystery and interesting you will see a

    This book is certainly a mystery and interesting you will see a lot of clues if you keep your eyes open the whole time . I love this book so much i could not put it down unless it was dinner theni had too :) but you see my point this book is full of secrets 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pure Magyk

    For my full review look for Paperback Goddess on Blogger

    Magyk is a colorful read, full of fantasy and whimsy. The author describes everything in such a detailed manner that you could almost see the tiny room that the Heaps spend their days in, or close your eyes and navigate your way along the city walls.

    With the lore, it reminded me, in a way, of Harry Potter. Now, I am not saying that Magyk is just like Harry Potter - it is, by far, a different story, and one with it's own merits. However, if you are a fan of such works as the Harry Potter series, you will most likely enjoy this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book I read this summer

    This was the best book I read this summer. I have also started to read the rest of the series, and it's turning out to be a wonderfully penned series by author Angie Sage. It is breakthrough in the traditional fantasy genre, mainly because it incorporates quirky facts that's relevant to the book, while being humorous at the same time. The cover is very mesmerizing to me personally, and the story itself develops an extremely wonderful plot but at the same is still understandable for students who go to middle and high school. The clever twist on some of the words is also a great pro of this book, exposing the readers to the world of Septimus Heap, which is full of betrayal, evil plots, and nefarious Necromancers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    An Intriguing Read!

    Magyk's plot is just the right pace, with an storyline that pulls you in and makes you want to delve deeper into Septimus Heap's world. Her fantasy world is extremely detailed and original, and is continued throughout the series, right up to her latest release, Darke, which is also a good read. This is definitely one of my favorite books and I would recommended the series to book worms of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Great book! Loved it!

    This book was a great book, even though it sometimes confused you.it was such a heartfelt beginning that was so beautiful. once you read the beginning,i promise you won't be able to put it down! i reccomend the age to start reading this... around 10 or 11. You will love it just as much as i did... i hope!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    The best!

    This series is a must for anyone who enjoys an easy-read fantasy. The story lines are captivating, the descriptions are brilliant and clever, and the danger level is highly intriguing but not overpowering. It is the perfect balance of everything I enjoy in a fantasy story. Some wit, some faerie-folk creatures, magic, mystery, you name it, this series has it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    awesome

    it's a great read for kids and even adults. it's just good entertainment and the characters are quirky. i love this series. i'm a huge fan. and i'm rereading them again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended for Ages 9-12 ONLY!

    This book was just okay. It's definitely written for children ages 9-12. In my opinion, it's not like the 'Harry Potter' series were it's easily captivating and loved by readers of all ages. As a middle-aged adult it only barely kept my interest. A few of the characters were interesting, (Marcia Overstrand and Stanley also known as Rat 101), but there did seem to be too much set-up going on in just one book for the series. Angie Sage's head had to be crowded of swarming ideas. I do not recommend this book and/or series to anyone over the age of 13. If it were not for Barnes & Noble offering it as one of its Free Friday's ebooks, I would have never bought it. And I'm so very thankful that I didn't pay any of my money for it. Book One is the mystery of the seventh son of the seventh son, who is prophesized to be the most powerful wizard they have ever seen in their time so far. This is mixed with the dark times of the necromancer and ex-ExtraOrdinary wizard DomDaniel taking over after the Queen's murder. A little girl will come to learn of her destiny too. Filled from cover to cover with all kinds of humorous spells, mystical creatures, and magical objects, children who can't get enough of 'Harry Potter' are going to love this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Awesome Book

    I usually have something bad to say about the books I critize on the Nook, but I got nothing on this book! I loved the way it is writen, how she describes the characters, and it filled my fantasy crave! Truly Brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 505 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26