Customer Reviews for

Magyk (Septimus Heap Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 982 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(632)

4 Star

(174)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

A GREAT MUST-READ-PAGE-TURNER!

This was just one of those books that I could not put down! The story was very complex. I loved all the spells, characters and the story! I think readers will love to read about Jenna, Boy 412, Nicko and all the other fabulous characters in this book as they go on wonde...
This was just one of those books that I could not put down! The story was very complex. I loved all the spells, characters and the story! I think readers will love to read about Jenna, Boy 412, Nicko and all the other fabulous characters in this book as they go on wonderful adventures in the land of Magyk!

posted by Bookreviewer74 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

Hahaha... Ha.

This was very disappointing to read. After borrowing it from my sister, I started it right away, thinking it would be a great book (according to the summary). I was horribly wrong. The discription is bland, and it goes way too fast for me, even moreso than the Warriors ...
This was very disappointing to read. After borrowing it from my sister, I started it right away, thinking it would be a great book (according to the summary). I was horribly wrong. The discription is bland, and it goes way too fast for me, even moreso than the Warriors series. Sorry, all of you this-book-is-a-five-star-book people.

posted by Sharubii on March 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fun series

    This series is often compared to Harry Potter, but I think in many ways it's much different. The only parallels that I see are that it involves a boy, who at one point is an orphan, and magic. Definitely written for a younger audience, the Septimus books have a tendency to be a little silly sometimes and the endings easily resolved. However, in contrast, Sage deftly creates an interesting world with often odd and humorous characters who have the ability to surprise the reader.The plot structures of each story vary, and, to any fantasy reader's great joy, she doesn't use the same antagonist throughout every single book. Some of the characters switch sides, and other, new bad guys emerge as the series progresses. Also, unlike many series writers, Sage will start a chain of events that last throughout several books, continuing to hook readers from book to book. She does not wrap everything up neatly, but is still able to finish a book in a way that makes the story seem complete. Then, the reader has the anticipation of discovering how some of the issues that arise in earlier books will unravel in later additions.

    One of the things that I love specifically about this book in particular is that it's about a boy, Septimus Heap, who has no idea that he is, in fact Septimus Heap, nor does he understand that he's the hero or protagonist of the story. In fact, nearly the entire story he spends thinking he's someone else entirely. This was a new and interesting twist on the typical boy with magic powers story, and Sage does an excellent job of creating interesting scenarios that surprise and delight, especially for readers who explore this genre a lot. She seems to break many of the typical fantasy tropes and creates what is a unique and enjoyable story. I recommend this to all readers 9+, skewing more toward boys.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good.

    I liked it. Especially for the first book in a series. There were a few things about the writing that bugged me, but thankfully it's fixed in the second book. I love the characters and the scenery. This whole series is worth the read. Septimus is awesome (again, especially in the second one!)

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this series!  At first I wasn't sure if I would like it,

    I loved this series! 
    At first I wasn't sure if I would like it, but I loved the whole series! This is nothing like Harry Potter, 
    but in my opinion much better! I loved the idea of a girl being found in the snow (I won't spoil who she is)
    and a boy being  pronounced "dead". The questions that had me reading this book, were
    who is this mysterious girl and what happened to Septimus Heap. So I decided to read the book. You will not be disappointed
    at all. Trust me!
    The only reason I gave it 4 stars, is because this book didn't keep my interest at the beginning, but it is still an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    A great new series

    I teach reading and am always looking for a series that will interest young adults. I found one in this series. The characters have flaws that they must overcome, challenges that are believable, relationships that students can identify with.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Great book! Loved it!

    This book was a great book, even though it sometimes confused you.it was such a heartfelt beginning that was so beautiful. once you read the beginning,i promise you won't be able to put it down! i reccomend the age to start reading this... around 10 or 11. You will love it just as much as i did... i hope!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Magyk was wonderful!

    Magyk was magyk! It was very captivating and kept me on my toes! I couldn't stop reading it! It was very close related to Harry Potter!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Magyk trycks?

    As far as a first of a series goes, it is a nice tale but fails to cast a complete spell upon the reader. Certain words are, as you can guess, creatively spelled and they, along with others are also printed in bold to denote they have some significance. After a while though, it gets annoying and sometimes leaves one wondering what the significance was. The names of spells are not unique like in the Harry Potter books but they can have a dead-pan humor slant to them. The writing is lite and flowing for the most part and carries a noticeable undertone of humor in it. Therefore, the danger really doesn't come across as very threatening which should appeal to parents who have young readers. The main character, Septimus Heap, is the seventh son of a seventh son but only Septimus and his father are really fleshed out, along with two other wizards not in the Heap family. The antigonist, a wizard gone to the Darke side, is not much more than a shadow but it seems appropriate considering the plot elements, especially what appears to be coming in the following books. Delightful and edging toward whimsical, Magyk is a better than average read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Magyk-al Journey

    It starts with a death of Septimus Heap, seventh son of the seventh son, at the same day Silas Heap found a baby girl in the snow, who they named Jenna. Ten years after that fateful day, they found out that Jenna is actually the Princess of their kingdom, not only that but she is also in danger. Jenna has to be hidden from evil characters such as the Assassin, The Supreme Custodian and Wizard-turned-Necromancer, Dom Daniel, who needs her dead to be able to get to her crown. So Silas, Nicko (his son), Jenna and the extra Ordinary Wizard Marcia fled towards the Marshes with a sentry from the Young Army named Boy 412, to seek refuge at Aunt Zelda's place and the adventure began..

    Took me a while to read this book. The first five chapters were not as engaging as the following one, so patience is needed. Sage over did her descriptions a little bit which is a benefit in a way but unnecessary. The story was complex and I needed time to adjust in Septimus' world. I got really into it when Chapter 27 hits. I found myself asking a one question over and over, until I found the answer. What is the deal with Boy 412?

    A good start of a new series. Magyk is filled with advernture, quirky enthralling characters, funny scenes, mysterious events, clever spells, charms and potions. It also leads into a fantastic journey with thing like Boggarts, Brownies, a cat but a duck named Bert, a Message Rat, etc.

    Recommended to fans of magic theme fantasy genre if you think that this is a Harry Potter wanna be I am telling you now this is nothing like the story of The Boy who lives and his world. Septimus Heap's have his own magical system and adventure.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2008

    Opinion of an Avid Reader

    well I would deffinately recommend this book to anyone who asked. it holds your attention and you just don't want to put it down. I read this book when it first came out and am now reading the Queste. it's deffinately not the first type of book I would have picked out with out knowing what it was but I just have to know what happens!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    reading Magyk was an awsome time for me. It was a magical tale of a boy...spoken to be dead... but when this book gets moving we readers wonder and predict. 'It's just natural!' But what is suprising is the whole end of this marvelous book!Read and find out what happens to the boy Septimus and the little Queenling in this amazing book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Excellent

    I found this book very enjoyable, the plot moved along at a steady pace and while it was predictable in some places I would definately recommend it. If you like fantasy novels, you will definately find this book very appealing. It was very witty and it kept me interested. A good read, to say the least.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Magyk

    In this thrilling adventure, Silas Heap gets a new born baby. That baby is also the seventh son of the seventh son. His name is Septimus. This book is a truly good book, so good that you won't be able to put it down. Join Septimus in this amazing adventure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    Good Read

    As I have said in many other of my reviews, this book was good, but I have read better. One thing I did not like about this book is that it is called the septimus heap series, but in this book you don't really find out who he is until the very end. But I still enjoyed this book a great deal and I recommend this book to others. I bought the second book, but haven't started it yet. I hope to soon. Happy Reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2007

    This is the start

    this is the start of a great series. I mean how could Jenna be a princess Whoa, I need a breather! Its pretty good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was pretty good. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoyed reading Harry Potter or books similar to that. I would say Harry Potter was better than Magyk, but this book is not far behind. I enjoy the humor and adventure that Sage takes you through in this book. Family and friends are tested throughout the story. The descriptions are clear and easy to imagine. There are many surprises along the way 'although some predictable', this book is still worth picking up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    loved it, BUT!

    I really loved this book, well I couldn't put it down¿BUT I was reminded of the Harry potter books while I was reading it..somehow the author managed to give me the feeling that I read this book before... Still I would recommend it cuz I love magic in any case, so if you¿re a Magyk lover, enjoy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Couldn't Put it Down

    This was such a wonderful book, especially if you're a fan of fantasy like me. Everyone keeps saying how much this book resembles the Harry Potter books, but if you put that aside, it is a book all of it's own. I love the characters, especially Marcia Overstrand: ExtraOrdinary Wizard. She was by far my favorite! It does have a bit of humor, if you look through it with a child's mind. If you like Princesses, Queens, Wizards, Dragons, and mystery. Then this is the book for you. It may be a children's book, but it can be for all ages. This is a good book to read when you are looking for something fun and light to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    Magykal!

    Magyk may not be at par with Harry Potter but it IS quite an absorbing page-turner and more lighthearted than most fantasy books. It is a delightful read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    A reviewer

    JK (just jokin)!!! I loved this book. OK, so I've read a few books that are better, (but thats saying somthing because I read a TON). If you havn't already, I would totaly read this book:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    A book that helps you escape to another world!

    This book is great and I couldn't put it down. I remember spending the entire night (from 9PM to 5AM)! This book took me to a totally different world. The ending was surprising and I loved it. If you're fatasy reader, this book is the right one for you! The second book Flyte is another great book that you should check out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5