Customer Reviews for

Magyk (Septimus Heap Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 988 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(637)

4 Star

(174)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

A GREAT MUST-READ-PAGE-TURNER!

This was just one of those books that I could not put down! The story was very complex. I loved all the spells, characters and the story! I think readers will love to read about Jenna, Boy 412, Nicko and all the other fabulous characters in this book as they go on wonde...
This was just one of those books that I could not put down! The story was very complex. I loved all the spells, characters and the story! I think readers will love to read about Jenna, Boy 412, Nicko and all the other fabulous characters in this book as they go on wonderful adventures in the land of Magyk!

posted by Bookreviewer74 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

Hahaha... Ha.

This was very disappointing to read. After borrowing it from my sister, I started it right away, thinking it would be a great book (according to the summary). I was horribly wrong. The discription is bland, and it goes way too fast for me, even moreso than the Warriors ...
This was very disappointing to read. After borrowing it from my sister, I started it right away, thinking it would be a great book (according to the summary). I was horribly wrong. The discription is bland, and it goes way too fast for me, even moreso than the Warriors series. Sorry, all of you this-book-is-a-five-star-book people.

posted by Sharubii on March 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A fun series

    This series is often compared to Harry Potter, but I think in many ways it's much different. The only parallels that I see are that it involves a boy, who at one point is an orphan, and magic. Definitely written for a younger audience, the Septimus books have a tendency to be a little silly sometimes and the endings easily resolved. However, in contrast, Sage deftly creates an interesting world with often odd and humorous characters who have the ability to surprise the reader.The plot structures of each story vary, and, to any fantasy reader's great joy, she doesn't use the same antagonist throughout every single book. Some of the characters switch sides, and other, new bad guys emerge as the series progresses. Also, unlike many series writers, Sage will start a chain of events that last throughout several books, continuing to hook readers from book to book. She does not wrap everything up neatly, but is still able to finish a book in a way that makes the story seem complete. Then, the reader has the anticipation of discovering how some of the issues that arise in earlier books will unravel in later additions.

    One of the things that I love specifically about this book in particular is that it's about a boy, Septimus Heap, who has no idea that he is, in fact Septimus Heap, nor does he understand that he's the hero or protagonist of the story. In fact, nearly the entire story he spends thinking he's someone else entirely. This was a new and interesting twist on the typical boy with magic powers story, and Sage does an excellent job of creating interesting scenarios that surprise and delight, especially for readers who explore this genre a lot. She seems to break many of the typical fantasy tropes and creates what is a unique and enjoyable story. I recommend this to all readers 9+, skewing more toward boys.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Good read for teens and dreamers

    If you like wizards, princesses and dragons then this is a good book for you. Fast story line, good charactors and an easy read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good.

    I liked it. Especially for the first book in a series. There were a few things about the writing that bugged me, but thankfully it's fixed in the second book. I love the characters and the scenery. This whole series is worth the read. Septimus is awesome (again, especially in the second one!)

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Super cute

    People should know that it is a kids book, but its way adorable and so fun! I loved this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this series!  At first I wasn't sure if I would like it,

    I loved this series! 
    At first I wasn't sure if I would like it, but I loved the whole series! This is nothing like Harry Potter, 
    but in my opinion much better! I loved the idea of a girl being found in the snow (I won't spoil who she is)
    and a boy being  pronounced "dead". The questions that had me reading this book, were
    who is this mysterious girl and what happened to Septimus Heap. So I decided to read the book. You will not be disappointed
    at all. Trust me!
    The only reason I gave it 4 stars, is because this book didn't keep my interest at the beginning, but it is still an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    A great new series

    I teach reading and am always looking for a series that will interest young adults. I found one in this series. The characters have flaws that they must overcome, challenges that are believable, relationships that students can identify with.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    This is great

    I like this series very much! I couldn't stop reading them(the books)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    To below :-|

    No this book is not better than harry pottter wat u talking about ?????!!!!!! I might have liked this book but no way is it better than harry potter!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    A great start to the series!!

    A great start to the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Pretty good

    This book can be enjoyed by most high schoolers and middle schoolers.

    It's a well written book and rather unique story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    TO BOO

    PERCY JACKSON SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Who can hate Harry Potter?

    Seriously

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Ok

    The book is only ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Amazing.

    I thought this book was truly brilliant! I dont like how people compare it because u cant expect it to be the exact same as harry potter! Its a different series and is actually really good. I was entertained with it the whole book and plan on reading the rest of the series, the only thing i disliked was all of the forshadowing! It was easy to guess the end for me after a while but there were still a few twists in there. Anyway, you should read it! I woyld think that was for about ages 10 and up the older age is just so that they could follow the plot line easily and also because its a 560 page book when its in hardback form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Good soso far

    I haven't finished it yet but luv it. Harry Potter fans, u have some competion for favorites. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Is this book good?

    My friend says this book is good, but it looks really long. I dont know if I should get it! Do you think I should ge it?
    Is it good? It looks really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    On septimus heap magyk

    This shouuld be cool i give it 4 1/2stars. Never read it before...should be interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Amazing Book

    Amazing book and the storyline was absolutly the best i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Love it!

    The begining of a fun fantasy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Great read

    I can hardly wait to start the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9