Customer Reviews for

Magyk (Septimus Heap Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 979 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(631)

4 Star

(172)

3 Star

(82)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

A GREAT MUST-READ-PAGE-TURNER!

This was just one of those books that I could not put down! The story was very complex. I loved all the spells, characters and the story! I think readers will love to read about Jenna, Boy 412, Nicko and all the other fabulous characters in this book as they go on wonde...
This was just one of those books that I could not put down! The story was very complex. I loved all the spells, characters and the story! I think readers will love to read about Jenna, Boy 412, Nicko and all the other fabulous characters in this book as they go on wonderful adventures in the land of Magyk!

posted by Bookreviewer74 on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

Hahaha... Ha.

This was very disappointing to read. After borrowing it from my sister, I started it right away, thinking it would be a great book (according to the summary). I was horribly wrong. The discription is bland, and it goes way too fast for me, even moreso than the Warriors ...
This was very disappointing to read. After borrowing it from my sister, I started it right away, thinking it would be a great book (according to the summary). I was horribly wrong. The discription is bland, and it goes way too fast for me, even moreso than the Warriors series. Sorry, all of you this-book-is-a-five-star-book people.

posted by Sharubii on March 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 631 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A GREAT MUST-READ-PAGE-TURNER!

    This was just one of those books that I could not put down! The story was very complex. I loved all the spells, characters and the story! I think readers will love to read about Jenna, Boy 412, Nicko and all the other fabulous characters in this book as they go on wonderful adventures in the land of Magyk!

    60 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Fantastic Fantasy

    Looking for a fresh, new, fantasy? Then the Septimus Heap series is the series for you. I know that most people are fantasy lovers, and it's hard to find another series to read, other than Harry Potter. I myself couldn't stop reading Harry Potter, even after I'd read the entire series dozens of times. Finally, I made myself look for new books to try, and my hand happened to brush the spine of this wonderful book. I opened it's pages, and practically got sucked into it. I visited this awesome world of Septimus Heap, laughing at his joys, and despairing at his losses. I never got bored or tired of this book, and kept on reading it to the end. After reading through this series, I looked for more and more books, exporing through the world of possibilities. This book showed me that there are other great books out there, though I had thought not. I really would recommend this inspiring book to readers of all ages, so they can experience the magical world of this young boy. Go ahead; try something new.

    46 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing book for anyone who enjoys well written fantasy !!!!

    I coordinate a reading program at a school and am a parent of a pre-teen. I bought this book for my son and ended up enjoying it so much that I added it, and the subsequent books in the series, to my personal book library.

    Septimus Heap is from a large and poor magical family. He is the seventh son of a seventh son, which makes him desirable to both good and evil.

    This entertaining story of how this young man develops into a hero is a must read.

    31 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    Magyk

    The book Magyk, by Angie Sage, and the first in the Septimus Heap series, truly is magical! This story introduces you to a new world, where magic isn¿t wizards waving wands. Anybody who wants to study and learn magyk can do so, using spell books and charms. In the whirlwind of action, you grow to love each character, and get to feel you know them personally through their well-developed personalities. Jenna, the princess who was unknowingly adopted by the Heap family when her mother was assassinated right after she was born. Septimus, the seventh son of the seventh son, who was kidnapped at birth and accidentally brought to the Young Army as Boy 412. The Apprentice, who was accidentally switched with Septimus when they were babies, and now believes himself to be Septimus Heap, is apprentice to the evil Necromancer and ex-ExtraOrdinary Wizard, DomDaniel. Other colorful characters are Marcia Overstrand, the current ExtraOrdinary Wizard; the ghost of her mentor, former ExtraOrdinary Wizard, Alther Mella; Nikko, Septimus¿s and Jenna¿s boat-crazy older brother; Aunt Zelda, the White Witch and Dragon Keeper who lives in Marram Marshes; Sarah and Silas, the Heap parents; and, of course, Maxie, the Heap family wolfhound! <BR/> <BR/> When DomDaniel returns and renews his efforts to kill Princess Jenna and ExtraOrdinary Wizard Marcia, and to take over both the Wizard Tower and the Castle, the Heap crew knows there¿s trouble. They go with Marcia and the unwilling Boy 412 to hide out in Marram Marshes with Silas¿s Aunt Zelda, who is notorious for her disgusting cabbage recipes. While there they encounter many amusing creatures, like the Boggart, the huge swamp snake, the fishing boat occupied by chickens, and, of course, the feisty little Shield Bugs. After Marcia is tricked and kidnapped by DomDaniel, Nikko, Jenna, and Boy 412 have to risk the perils of his personal barge to try and save her. After an enchanted storm buries the barge deep in the mud pits, it¿s time for the Heap family, and Boy 412, to find out some surprises about their pasts. Of course, that¿s not until after the kidney and cabbage casserole!<BR/> <BR/> This book is fast-paced and full of surprises and mysteries. I think an obviously strong point of Angie Sage¿s writing is imagery and description. You truly think you¿re tromping through the Marram Marshes, sailing the enchanted Dragon Boat of Hotep-Ra, navigating the halls of the Ramblings, or riding the moving staircase up to the Wizard Tower. Even in the darkest situations the tone stays cheerful, and the characters keep senses of humor, making this book a light-hearted adventure, perfect for a reader of any age.

    27 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    Awesome

    This book is amazing i thought it was going to be another harry potter imitaiton but it is so much better and is worth the 3 days you may spend reading it in my case it was less

    22 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    Best Book Ever

    This book is one that should not touch the inside of your bookbag or the top of your desk until you are finished reading every last page of it. Angie Sage and Mark Zug are amazing people and I wish that they would write more. This book captured me on the first page and did not lose me until the series was over. I will reread it until I die. This book is amazing. I can't wait to see what they do next.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Right up there with Harry Potter

    This was as good a read as the first Potter book. It me laugh, cry and want to find out what comes next form the first page to the very end. I can hardly wait to read the second book in the series.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You have to read this!

    This is a magical, funny book that's full of hope. I can't wait to read the 2nd book of the series. I was afraid that this book was going to be a copycat of Harry Potter. Boy, was I ever wrong. Move over Harry, Septimus Heap is in town!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Extremely clever and great story line.

    My dad gave this book to me. At first I was reluctant to read it. I forced myself to read two chapters. It was hard to understand at first but got more interesting. I decided to read more. After several chapters I thought it was great. Now I'm reading the whole series and am waiting for the next book to come out. There will be seven books in all. I'd recommend this book to just about everyone who could understand at least part of it. Overall it is great. I am ten years old.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Real Page Turner!

    "Magyk", the first book in a truly fantastic fantasy series, called "Septimus Heap", by Angie Sage is a book that will most certainly not have readers bored for even a millisecond. A wonderful author, Angie Sage puts just the right characters, scenes, and places in the book to make the reader just want to keep reading and reading and reading, without putting the book down. "Magyk" is a real page turner that anyone of any age will surely enjoy completely!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Anonymous

    I am only on the third chapter and i am totally in love with this book. You should totally read this book! Its awesome. I am sorry for the people who dont like this book.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    Dissing Harry Potter

    Please tell me your not dissing Harry Potter!!!! I love those books so much and nothing can ever compare.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    REALLY good book

    Loved it.........i have read the entire series.....they are awesome

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Magykal!

    This absorbing story of the young Septimus Heap will keep you in suspense and wanting more the whole time. Once it is over you will not be able to wait for the next book and good news, you don't have to! Angie Sage has written four books to this series as of now and she may write more.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Rgrrgr

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!! I read it once, and didn't finish it all the way though, so i found it again and i finished it and i LOVE IT!!!!!!!! THIS IS SO AWESOME!!!! You will fall in love with this book. Then you will read the one after this and the one after that and so on. Don't over look this book again, get it NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!









    (:













    <3

















    :9

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    I loved it

    A book you can never put down. This is WAY better than Harry Potter. Never get enough of MaGyK

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awsome!

    I remeber reading this book a couple of years ago and finding it very funny. To me it was like a fairytale with some twist. Its very good but may be boring at times. Now that Iv found it again I have to finish the series.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Jonny Rob

    Its so good, i cant describe.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Entertaining and fun!! ;)

    Magyk is a great book. Really and truly. It's great for dreamers and a page turner! I mean yes there are some "boring" parts in the story but every book has 'em. :D One time whn i was in B&N bookstore i was looking for a book to take to camp for a week i couldn't find any that fit my liking so i asked te sales lady i told her i was looking for another series to read besides percy jackson and the olympians and harry potter which i had already read. She pointed me in the direction of magic and said to me a lot of hp and pjo lovers are now reading this series it is also about a wizard. I decided to buy it and i loved it! I'm 11 yrs old the book was rlly suspenseful and was definitely a marvelous book. Angie sage did a wonderful job in my opinion. Go ahead and buy the book what exactly is the wordt tht can happen whag u didnt like it well at lst u tried it out. I jst started physic tonight. So stoked. MEEEP.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    awesome

    really great book, amazing read

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 631 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32