Customer Reviews for

Mahjong Butterfly

Average Rating 3.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

79 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Game!

I love traditional Mahjong, so I had to try this version, and am I glad that I did! The game board and tiles are beautiful, the animations are adorable, and you learn about butterfly species while enjoying the game. The tutorial is very helpful, and there's enough stra...
I love traditional Mahjong, so I had to try this version, and am I glad that I did! The game board and tiles are beautiful, the animations are adorable, and you learn about butterfly species while enjoying the game. The tutorial is very helpful, and there's enough strategy to keep even the most die-hard Mahjong plater intrigued. This is a Five Star game from start to finish! (Note: takes awhile to load, but does load perfectly.)

posted by 10557369 on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Awful!!!!!

Just bought this game played two games then screen turned black and now it will not open like so many of these npok apps they are not worth the money there is always something wrong with them i am beginning to think buying this nook color was the biggest mistake too g...
Just bought this game played two games then screen turned black and now it will not open like so many of these npok apps they are not worth the money there is always something wrong with them i am beginning to think buying this nook color was the biggest mistake too game was looking like fun too please be careful think before you buy

posted by 10082522 on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Beautiful Game!

    I love traditional Mahjong, so I had to try this version, and am I glad that I did! The game board and tiles are beautiful, the animations are adorable, and you learn about butterfly species while enjoying the game. The tutorial is very helpful, and there's enough strategy to keep even the most die-hard Mahjong plater intrigued. This is a Five Star game from start to finish! (Note: takes awhile to load, but does load perfectly.)

    79 out of 88 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Beautiful tiles and background. Mahjong with a twist that is fun and creative. Really love this version!

    53 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Buy it

    Bought based on other reviews. Beautiful game. You will not regret it.

    45 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Awful!!!!!

    Just bought this game played two games then screen turned black and now it will not open like so many of these npok apps they are not worth the money there is always something wrong with them i am beginning to think buying this nook color was the biggest mistake too game was looking like fun too please be careful think before you buy

    42 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Addicting

    Loved this game. Played for hours then all of a sudden the screen went black and i can't play it anymore. So sad.

    36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Black out!!!!!

    Ok this is getting sooooooo irritating. This really is a fun game but if my screen goes black for no reason again, i think I'm going to scream! I have read more reviews like this onr and you would think that whoever created this would read reviews and do something about it.

    27 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Anonymous

    Really enjoyed.....played a few times. Screen went black....no longer plays :( Gave only two stars because of this....
    Would like to have given five stars.....

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Fun

    Fun and worth the money. The only thing I can fault is that it uses up battery power fast. If I go below 40% power when I am playing it sometimes shuts off. I just keep recharging. It is still worth the money, I love it!

    26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    FIX PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!

    Great game,when it works and keeps track of your progress. I gave this game 5 stars because as soon as the bugs are worked out it will be a great game. JUST BE WARNED! IT HAS A FEW PROBLEMS? For example I was in the middle of a game when all of a sudden the screen went blank and my nook started to reload itself (does that sound right?) When I went back to check my progress I had lost a few levels and butterflies. I hope it gets fixed soon. Please and THANKS!

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Wonderful

    After reading the first couple of reviews I decided to give this a try. The game doesn't disappoint. I would give it more stars if I could.

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Blackout

    I have the nook tablet and I love it. However this Butterfly Mahjong app/game obviously needs to be updated or patched. After playing for an hour, it goes to blackout. Users should make a comment on the game/app creator website to fix it and update the game. The more the comments/complaints, the faster this issue will be fixed.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Love this app!!

    This game is both entertaining and educational. I love finding the new butterflys and learning about them. Only problem with the game is that you need a wi-fi connection each time. I took a star away for that inconvenience. I like to turn my internet off to save on my battery.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Fun at first

    Then one day the screen went black while I was playing and it will not play anymore. I would recommend purchasing a different Mahjong game.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Not as good as it seems

    This was a lot off fun at first and then it just stopped working and wont open anymore. Now I wish I hadn't bought it. Don't waste your money!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    DISAPOINTED

    I love this game but get upset because the screen gets black in the middke og games and to turn it back on you have to keep powering off and on. This is very time consuming and frustrating. Please fix this error.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Hate this game

    Every time I start to play this game the nook shuts down?????? And it is hard to get nook to turn on again. I LIKE THE GAME WHEN NOOK DOES NOT GO GRAZY? HELP??????

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Broken! Black screen!

    Like some of the reviews before me, I also bought this game and played it only once. Then on my second time tring to play it the screen went black. Each time I try to open it I still get a black screen. It would be nice if themakersof this game would fix the problem, especially given the fact multiple people have reported it. Please send a solution. It was a fun game until it became a total waste of money.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Blackout!!!!

    Very disapointed. Loved the game for about two weeks. Now the screen just turns black. Thinking about taking the nook back!!! Web is also stuck on updates from a week and half ago.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Having the same problem... I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!!!!

    I just bought this Nook and not too long ago this game.... played for a while then goes to a black screen ... if i cannot enjoy the game i want my money back....

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Its ok.

    I'm enjoying the game a lot. The graphics are pretty, the sounds are nice, and the goal is a new spin on the old classic. However, the big complaint is that you HAVE to have WIFI to play. Im going on a trip and won't have access to the internet all the time. It renders the game totally useless. Also the touch interface is really slow! It lags so bad!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8