Customer Reviews for

Maid Marian: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Good but not great

    I don't know why I liked this book as much as I did. It was definitely really good. I gave it 3 stars only because this book really was all about Marian. It was from her perspective and we knew everything about her by the end of the book but there was very little sense for any of the other characters. Even Robin. If the author had found a good way to delve more deeply into the other characters I probably would have given this book 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    Not worth the $$ or time......

    Shallow, superficial..... absolutely no plot exposition, no character buildup. I felt like I went to a five-star restaurant, ordered a gourmet meal.... and was served cold McDonald's fries. Would not recommend to any serious reader over the age of 14.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not the Kevin Costner Movie... But Good!

    I grew up in LOVE with Kevin Costner in Robin Hood Prince of Thieves. It is my all time favorite movie. Thus, I thought it would be fun to read a book on Maid Marian... honestly thinking it would be just like the movie... It wasn't, and this actually pleased me. The story was a new twist on the story of Robin Hood, one I hadn't heard of before. It was a very tame book in terms of sexuality and I'll agree with other reviews that it is a teen-appropriate book. Marian was likable enough and had good character development. She takes on many identities throughout her adventures, introducing many characters of interest. Her relationships read genuine, and her love with Robin is mild and sweet. Nothing steamy, nothing jump out of your seat exciting... but a strong plot with some pleasing twists. Worth reading if you like the Robin Hood fairy tales - but I'll stick with my Kevin Costner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    Excellent Retelling of the Legend

    This is a character-driven version of the Robin Hood-Maid Marian story, and very well written. Marian is a naive girl who comes into her own, discovers her own strength, and grows into a strong woman. Robin's character follows the sunny, charismatic tradition of the "bold outlaw" - it's easy to see why he would be a leader. An excellent retelling of the legend, definitely one of the best I have read. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    Sappy but worthy

    To quickly summarize the story without giving the ending away, Lady Marian, a beatiful and clever 17-year-old, is saved from an unwanted marriage and an greedy plot to seize her lands by the legendary Robin Hood, and takes on a new life in Sherwood Forest. As the story proceeds, the two fall in love. 'Maid Marian' was enjoyable. And that's saying a lot for me, for I'm very picky about romance novels. It was very historically accurate, which is a good thing if you're doing a Robin Hood flick. There's nothing tackier than a genre flick that isn't even accurate with its settings. Another good thing Elsa Watson did, was not just focus on Marian and Robin Hood, but she zoomed in on what was going on with King Richard, described the peasant life, etc. That made it more believable. The one drawback was the romance. It was actually sort of interesting at first watching them fall in love, but in the blink of an eye, their relationship becomes very syrupy ('We were as close as a pair of stock doves, cooing and loving from dawn to dusk.' and stuff like 'Perhaps,' Robin said with a spark in his eye, 'Now that Robin has Marian to himself and alone, she might allow him to sit beside her on the bed?') and the whole second half of the book became centered around them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2004

    Maid Marian: A Novel

    Great read for all ages. I recently gave this to a 15 year old girl who's so-so about reading, and she devoured it and asked for more. There's nothing sleazy in it, and while there is enough political intrigue and historical information to make it interesting to a grown-up, it's accessible to a teenager.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    Maid Marian: A Novel

    So much historical fiction is heavy and slow, but this reads very well without being fluffy. Good characters, women are not just caricatures or tag-alongs, they make the story happen. Smart, funny, real. Nice plot, good story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    A charming work of historical fiction

    Born an orphan and a ward of King Richard the Lionhearted, wealthy Lady Marian Fitzwater is married to Hugh of Sencaster when she is five. When she turns seventeen, he dies under mysterious circumstances turning her into a widowed virgin as they never consummated their marriage. Richard's mother Queen Eleanor and Marian's mother-in-law Lady Pernelle agree the lass must marry the latter¿s second son Sir Stephen as her valuable lands and wealth is up for grabs............................................ However, Marian is no longer a preadolescent so she decides to take her fate into her own hands rather than another ill-conceived marriage forged by plotting females who care not one iota about her. She procures the help of Robin Hood and his band of merry outlaws. Marian realizes that once Stephen gains her estates her life is forfeit. As they fall in love, Robin abets Marian¿s escape from a deadly trek down the aisle of matrimony, but the royals are coming as she is too valuable of a property to allow outlaws to stand in the way...................................... MAID MARIAN is an exciting rendition of the legendary tale starring two fabulous protagonists and several fascinating antagonists. The story line is at its best surprisingly in the royal courts as plotting and scheming by designing women showcase an era of court intrigue that would make Machiavelli proud. The Sherwood scenes are also interesting, but do turn a bit syrupy (I kept hearing Jane Froman singing). Still this medieval saga is a terrific rendition of the classic Marian-Robin romantic suspense............................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    Maid Marian: A Novel

    Robin Hood and Maid Marian are part of our collective folk-tale consciousness. But her story has not been told-until now. This is a wonderfully enjoyable read, with humor, romance, political intrigue, and well-developed characters that show us who is beside and behind the heroic outlaw. Maid Marian is a strong figure, lacking the simpering timidity that makes so many female leads seem diminished by their companions. Best of all, this book could be given to a teenager without giving pause to their adults. Great introduction to this period and story for all readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1