Customer Reviews for

Maid for Love (McCarthys of Gansett Island Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 752 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(404)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(93)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Sweet & Steamy

Maddie Chester is just living her life on Gansett Island on her way to work when she bumps into Mac McCarthy, literally and he begins to fall for her, figuratively. Mac is the kinda of guy who goes the extra mile and helps Maddie despite her repeated objections to take ...
Maddie Chester is just living her life on Gansett Island on her way to work when she bumps into Mac McCarthy, literally and he begins to fall for her, figuratively. Mac is the kinda of guy who goes the extra mile and helps Maddie despite her repeated objections to take care of her son. She has always done thing for herself and doesn't want any help, especially a McCarthy's, but can't deny her attraction for long. Just as Maddie starts to believe in Mac and a life she never allowed herself to dream, something from her past that still plagues her is thrust into the spotlight.

After reading an excerpt and finding where I could buy it (Thanks to Marie Force), I started it and before I knew it, had read it front to back. It's a sweet romance with steam and a terrific storyline. Her characters are real people you can connect with, living their lives and finding love when they're not expecting it.

If your looking for a contemporary romance that will make you sigh in delight and has unexpected turns, I'd recommend any book by Marie Force. One of my favourites is Love At First Flight.

posted by Safari_Poet on May 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Nice story

I enjoy reading these stories, but it there'77s way too much description of the sex acts.

posted by 7071377 on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 753 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 38
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No depth

    While this book has an interesting premise, quickly the reader discoveries there is no depth....even though the hero has no experience with children, he does not have any trouble bathing or changing diapers, etc.... the entire story is like that -- the hero is perfect, the heroine completely wronged and misunderstood by the entire town....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    Not worth the time.

    Predictable and almost irritating. No uniqueness.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Anonymous

    I read all books in this series and enjoyed every one. I totally recommend reading these books. Fun to read stories with happy endings. Can't wait for the 6th book to be available.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Great Read!

    I love modern romance novels and this one I couldn't put down! What a bargain!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Gt Grr Great book

    Great series highly recommend all four books

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Good Book

    I really liked the story line in this book. It was good from start to finish! Would recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Fun easy rea Fun easy read!

    Read in one lazy afternoon

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Good book

    I really enjoyed this book. When mac asked his sister for a favor...hilareous. will definitly check out other books from this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    Ms Force is a talented writer. This book has a believable plot, the characters are well-drawn and also believable. I'm delighted to find this author and have purchased the other two in this series. I'm looking forward to more of Ms Force's writings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Loved it

    Omg loved it so much.. I was laughing out loud with maddis sarcasim and crying along with their pain. . Newest obession cant wait to read them all

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    I LOVE IT

    IS A GREAT STORY I JUST LOVE THE WAY MAC TAKE CARE OF MADDIE AND HER SON THOMAS... LOVE IT;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Omg

    Wow i LOVE LOVE LOVE this book. It made me cry. So beautiful. Well written. Sooo recomended. If Mac knocked me off my bike and took care of me i would sooo die of pleasure. Even when they did it wow. Just read it. -K

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Cute, not exceptional

    This was a cute story. It was not exceptional, I wasn't dying to turn the page to see what happened next, but I enjoyed it. The plot was predictable, the characters somewhat shallow. It passed the time, though, and it was enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this series!! This is a must read -- I read

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this series!! This is a must read -- I read Book 1 Maid for Love on a Friday and am already on book 8 !! Maid for Love is the intro to the McCarthy family and the romance of Mac and Maddie! Marie Force does an exceptional job of updating all characters with each book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Enjoyable!

    This was a good, 600+ page book! I did not want to put it down and was not ready for it to be over. Good thing it is a series!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    A MUST READ SERIES

    This series is absolutely fantastic. I read all 4 books in a 4 day period. I literally couldnt put it down. Of all the books so far, Mac and Maddie (this book) are my favorite characters. I thoroughly enjoyed the others as well, but there is something about them that just fascinates me. The 5th book "hoping for love" is coming out, and I wish I knew when, I'm not ready for this to be over. This is the first book I've read by Marie Force, and I will definitely be reading more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    AWESOME!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Good read

    This was a great escape for me. I enjoyed the book from beginning to end. Now on to book 2 .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Amazing!

    All of her books are the best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Great First Book Of A Series

    I had never read this author before but found this book while browsing on my Nook. Of course it is a romance story, otherwise why would it be listed under romance. I love the different twist that brought this couple together. I also think the characters are very intense with their personalties. The setting for this story is even romantic! I can't wait to read the next book. I hope there are many more! I really like the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 753 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 38