Customer Reviews for

Maid for Love: McCarthys of Gansett Island

Average Rating 4.5
( 751 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(403)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(93)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Sweet & Steamy

Maddie Chester is just living her life on Gansett Island on her way to work when she bumps into Mac McCarthy, literally and he begins to fall for her, figuratively. Mac is the kinda of guy who goes the extra mile and helps Maddie despite her repeated objections to take ...
Maddie Chester is just living her life on Gansett Island on her way to work when she bumps into Mac McCarthy, literally and he begins to fall for her, figuratively. Mac is the kinda of guy who goes the extra mile and helps Maddie despite her repeated objections to take care of her son. She has always done thing for herself and doesn't want any help, especially a McCarthy's, but can't deny her attraction for long. Just as Maddie starts to believe in Mac and a life she never allowed herself to dream, something from her past that still plagues her is thrust into the spotlight.

After reading an excerpt and finding where I could buy it (Thanks to Marie Force), I started it and before I knew it, had read it front to back. It's a sweet romance with steam and a terrific storyline. Her characters are real people you can connect with, living their lives and finding love when they're not expecting it.

If your looking for a contemporary romance that will make you sigh in delight and has unexpected turns, I'd recommend any book by Marie Force. One of my favourites is Love At First Flight.

posted by Safari_Poet on May 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Nice story

I enjoy reading these stories, but it there'77s way too much description of the sex acts.

posted by 7071377 on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 752 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet & Steamy

    Maddie Chester is just living her life on Gansett Island on her way to work when she bumps into Mac McCarthy, literally and he begins to fall for her, figuratively. Mac is the kinda of guy who goes the extra mile and helps Maddie despite her repeated objections to take care of her son. She has always done thing for herself and doesn't want any help, especially a McCarthy's, but can't deny her attraction for long. Just as Maddie starts to believe in Mac and a life she never allowed herself to dream, something from her past that still plagues her is thrust into the spotlight.

    After reading an excerpt and finding where I could buy it (Thanks to Marie Force), I started it and before I knew it, had read it front to back. It's a sweet romance with steam and a terrific storyline. Her characters are real people you can connect with, living their lives and finding love when they're not expecting it.

    If your looking for a contemporary romance that will make you sigh in delight and has unexpected turns, I'd recommend any book by Marie Force. One of my favourites is Love At First Flight.

    43 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Nice story

    I enjoy reading these stories, but it there'77s way too much description of the sex acts.

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This was a great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    TERRIFIC!

    I read this in 1/2 a day. I could not put it down. The characters and story was wonderful. Great romance novel. Can't wait to read the next one.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Fairytale Romance...

    If you like romance, this is a decent romantic fairytale. Completely improbable but cute and the character dichotomy is well constructed. For an easy afternoon read thats uncomplicated and reads quickly, this would be the right story. Enjoyed the book however fantastic and unrealistic the story appears.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    a silly bodice ripper

    My first Nook purchase, and it was a total accident! However, I started it on a boring all day car trip with hopes that it wouldn't be too terrible. Well, what can I say- a typical heavy breathing bodice ripper. I think I got over this genre in 9th grade. Gee- there are apparantly 5 more books in this series on their way.

    12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Nice read

    It is a little unrealistic but still not a good read. Who falls in love in oone day and proposes and offers the perfect life. I did like it enough to purchase the book in the series.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    nice light reading

    l have read all the books in this series and l did enjoy them. They are not award-winning books. I would use the term "romance books" to describe them. Hence my headline "nice light reading". One of the things L liked about the series is that each book includes characters from the other books so there is a sense of continuity. In the first book, the reader gets to know the other members of the family before another book comes along to tell their story. Fun, light, easy, entertaining books to read.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Great book!!! Couldn't put it down

    Well I must say that Marie Force has did it once again!! Although Maddie and Mac are attracted at first sight there love is not an easy one. Maddie has had to struggle all her life, while our hero Mac has been everyone's golden boy since he could remember.In while Maddie struggles to let mac inside despite past hurt they face hurdles around every corner. Including families that hate each other, Maddie's past, and Mac's need to try to fix everything, but in the end Maddie realizes maybe she does need mac.In Mac realizes that maybe there is more to life then just work and pleasing other people.Maybe it's what makes you happy that matters.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Good

    Good bodice-ripper. As for those who didn't like the sex....umm...have you ever read books in this genre before?! That's what it is! If you don't like the genre, don't read it! At least it wasn't a typical free "romance" book with preachy biblical overtones...there's been too many of those lately.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Great

    Would have enjoyed it more without the sex. A great author doesnt need to add smut. And this is a great author.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Too much bedroom graphics!

    1st of series pretty good. Story line on this one was just ok.... Way too many detailed steamy bedroom scenes!
    My original review was blocked when I suggested it should have adult type ratings and warn about the "s--ual" content!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Gansett Island Series Rocks

    This is the first of a great series! Its a wonderful, easy read that will keep you wondering what happens next!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    A lovely love story

    I really enjoyed this book. So much emotion packed in to one story!! Mattie is so strong and has a backbone made of titanium. Mac is such a softy and only wants what is best for Mattie and Thomas and does his best knight-in-shinning-armor thing. Mattie is so used to everything going wrong and people believing the worst in her, she isn't sure how to take Mac, but when they finally do come together, it is pure chemistry. This is a quick read with great humor and lots of great banter. A very lovely love story. I honestly can't wait to meet the rest of the McCarthy clan. Janey, the baby sister is up next, and I am anxiously awaiting June 1st.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Reader 101

    While the book was NOT fantastic or great, it was a decent to good read for the most part. A predictable storyline with twists and turns, I do believe in love at first sight, but the writer's weak transitions left me disappointed. Some of her word choices had me scratching my head. The ending was stronger than I anticipated. I will read the next one in the series though.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Good but predictable.

    Good but predictable. I will read more of her books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommened.

    Enjoyed this book very much. This is my first read by Marie Force but I will be reading more of her books.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Great Book!

    Love it. Couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Must read series

    The Gansett series is a must read for any Force fan. Love the story line!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Highly recommended

    the whole series is great!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 752 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38