Customer Reviews for

Maid for Love (McCarthys of Gansett Island Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 779 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(415)

4 Star

(213)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Sweet & Steamy

Maddie Chester is just living her life on Gansett Island on her way to work when she bumps into Mac McCarthy, literally and he begins to fall for her, figuratively. Mac is the kinda of guy who goes the extra mile and helps Maddie despite her repeated objections to take ...
Maddie Chester is just living her life on Gansett Island on her way to work when she bumps into Mac McCarthy, literally and he begins to fall for her, figuratively. Mac is the kinda of guy who goes the extra mile and helps Maddie despite her repeated objections to take care of her son. She has always done thing for herself and doesn't want any help, especially a McCarthy's, but can't deny her attraction for long. Just as Maddie starts to believe in Mac and a life she never allowed herself to dream, something from her past that still plagues her is thrust into the spotlight.

After reading an excerpt and finding where I could buy it (Thanks to Marie Force), I started it and before I knew it, had read it front to back. It's a sweet romance with steam and a terrific storyline. Her characters are real people you can connect with, living their lives and finding love when they're not expecting it.

If your looking for a contemporary romance that will make you sigh in delight and has unexpected turns, I'd recommend any book by Marie Force. One of my favourites is Love At First Flight.

posted by Safari_Poet on May 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Nice story

I enjoy reading these stories, but it there'77s way too much description of the sex acts.

posted by 7071377 on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 415 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet & Steamy

    Maddie Chester is just living her life on Gansett Island on her way to work when she bumps into Mac McCarthy, literally and he begins to fall for her, figuratively. Mac is the kinda of guy who goes the extra mile and helps Maddie despite her repeated objections to take care of her son. She has always done thing for herself and doesn't want any help, especially a McCarthy's, but can't deny her attraction for long. Just as Maddie starts to believe in Mac and a life she never allowed herself to dream, something from her past that still plagues her is thrust into the spotlight.

    After reading an excerpt and finding where I could buy it (Thanks to Marie Force), I started it and before I knew it, had read it front to back. It's a sweet romance with steam and a terrific storyline. Her characters are real people you can connect with, living their lives and finding love when they're not expecting it.

    If your looking for a contemporary romance that will make you sigh in delight and has unexpected turns, I'd recommend any book by Marie Force. One of my favourites is Love At First Flight.

    43 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This was a great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    TERRIFIC!

    I read this in 1/2 a day. I could not put it down. The characters and story was wonderful. Great romance novel. Can't wait to read the next one.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Great book!!! Couldn't put it down

    Well I must say that Marie Force has did it once again!! Although Maddie and Mac are attracted at first sight there love is not an easy one. Maddie has had to struggle all her life, while our hero Mac has been everyone's golden boy since he could remember.In while Maddie struggles to let mac inside despite past hurt they face hurdles around every corner. Including families that hate each other, Maddie's past, and Mac's need to try to fix everything, but in the end Maddie realizes maybe she does need mac.In Mac realizes that maybe there is more to life then just work and pleasing other people.Maybe it's what makes you happy that matters.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Great

    Would have enjoyed it more without the sex. A great author doesnt need to add smut. And this is a great author.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommened.

    Enjoyed this book very much. This is my first read by Marie Force but I will be reading more of her books.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Gansett Island Series Rocks

    This is the first of a great series! Its a wonderful, easy read that will keep you wondering what happens next!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Great Book!

    Love it. Couldn't put it down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Highly recommended

    the whole series is great!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Must read series

    The Gansett series is a must read for any Force fan. Love the story line!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Anonymous

    I read all books in this series and enjoyed every one. I totally recommend reading these books. Fun to read stories with happy endings. Can't wait for the 6th book to be available.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Great Read!

    I love modern romance novels and this one I couldn't put down! What a bargain!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Gt Grr Great book

    Great series highly recommend all four books

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Loved it

    Omg loved it so much.. I was laughing out loud with maddis sarcasim and crying along with their pain. . Newest obession cant wait to read them all

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    I LOVE IT

    IS A GREAT STORY I JUST LOVE THE WAY MAC TAKE CARE OF MADDIE AND HER SON THOMAS... LOVE IT;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Omg

    Wow i LOVE LOVE LOVE this book. It made me cry. So beautiful. Well written. Sooo recomended. If Mac knocked me off my bike and took care of me i would sooo die of pleasure. Even when they did it wow. Just read it. -K

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this series!! This is a must read -- I read

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE this series!! This is a must read -- I read Book 1 Maid for Love on a Friday and am already on book 8 !! Maid for Love is the intro to the McCarthy family and the romance of Mac and Maddie! Marie Force does an exceptional job of updating all characters with each book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Enjoyable!

    This was a good, 600+ page book! I did not want to put it down and was not ready for it to be over. Good thing it is a series!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    A MUST READ SERIES

    This series is absolutely fantastic. I read all 4 books in a 4 day period. I literally couldnt put it down. Of all the books so far, Mac and Maddie (this book) are my favorite characters. I thoroughly enjoyed the others as well, but there is something about them that just fascinates me. The 5th book "hoping for love" is coming out, and I wish I knew when, I'm not ready for this to be over. This is the first book I've read by Marie Force, and I will definitely be reading more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    AWESOME!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 415 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 21