Customer Reviews for

Maid to Match

Average Rating 4.5
( 367 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 367 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Maid to Match Review

    Maid to Match is a historical romance novel written by Deeane Gist. Set in the late 1800's, Maid to Match is a story about Tillie Reese, a maid at the Biltmore mansion. Coming from a lower-class family, Tillie has been working her way up the ladder of success since childhood. She is on the verge of getting everything she ever dreamed of, a position of lady's maid to the lady of the house. A life of adventure, prestige, wearing fancy clothes, traveling, reading, a life that is everything she has ever wanted. Or so she thought. When Tillie is enlisted to help tame Mack Danvers, a mountain man turned footman, she finds that her heart has opened up to new dreams. Torn between the world she has always wanted and the world she has never known, Tillie must choose which path she will follow.

    As with all historical romance novels, competition is fierce and originality nearly impossible. Love is the universal language, and therefore will always carry a semblance of cliche. It has happened a million times before :) This book is no exception. However, despite it's general failings as a genre, I enjoyed reading this book. It was interesting, moving, and even inspiring. I liked the reality of Tillie's mother. Her human failings, her hopes and dreams she has placed in her daughter, and her attitude towards Tillie's end choice. They gave the book a ring of authenticity. Based on historical facts, Maid to Match was a great book for a rainy day.

    Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoy's this genre, or as a gift for any woman aged 14 and up. A message of following your heart, it promises to uplift you and leave you smiling at the end.

    **I received a free copy of this book through Graf-Martin Publishers

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing in Every Way

    I was so completely enchanted by this novel that I was sad when I finished. In fact, I didn't even know that I was close to the end until I turned the page and there wasn't any more text. When I requested this novel from Goodread's book swap, I didn't expect to love it so much. I'm not a fan of Christian novels, but I didn't even know that it was such until I looked up more about the author. There were numerous references to the Christian god, and the character's relying on him for strength and guidance. However, the story was more about the characters and their relationships rather than their god.

    I immediately fell in love with the characters. Tillie was so simple in her ambitions that I couldn't help but envy her. All she wanted in the entire world was to be a lady's maid and help those less fortunate than her. Then there is Mack, whose only concern is getting his sister out of a horrible orphanage and returning to his home in the mountains. Both Mack and Tillie have their own agendas and they don't plan on letting anything ruin those plans. In fact, in the beginning when Tillie discovers she is up to lady's maid, she tells her own brother that not even someone in love with her is going to stop her from attaining the position.

    Things don't exactly happen that way. Through determination and some sacrifice both end up getting what they wish, but by then, they aren't sure it is what they really want.

    Gist delighted me in so many ways. The characters were simple in their aspirations yet had such much....well character. The world as we know it wasn't threaten by anything more than man's selfishness. The heroine wasn't some great hero who had amazing powers or was the only one who could save the world. I loved Gist's style. She really knew how to say something so perfectly to give it a certain feel or to come across a certain way.

    I was surprised I loved this book as much as I did, but it was a treasure I couldn't believe I found. An instant favorite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Great Read

    This book was really good. I loved the story line and found it very difficult to put down after I started it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    High Praise!

    First off, I have been to the Biltmore...and I aboslutely love it!! It is any Hopless Romantic's dream, and when I saw that this novel took place in it I just could not resist it. Filled with pent up emotion you will find yourself talking to the two main characters and living in the beautiful mansion that they reside in. I didn't want it to end, and I thank the author for allowing me to visit the Biltmore even from states away!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Deeanne Gist Does It Again!

    I don't like to fly but was en route from Orlando to Sacramento. My flight was delayed due to severe weather, and I didn't have a book with me. When I found Gist's latest title, MAID TO MATCH, in the airport bookstore, I was thrilled. Her tale transported me to the turn of the century at the breathtaking Biltmore Estate, and I forgot all else as I devoured her captivating story. I loved her characters. Neither the Vanderbilts' parlor maid, Tillie, nor their newest footman, Mack, are perfect people, but both endeared themselves to me from the start, and I enjoyed watching them learn important life lessons. Gist is a gifted storyteller, and I savored her rich descriptions, her historical details so accurately portrayed, and her clever dialogue. I highly recommend this wonderfully written romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Rich in history, romance and strength of character.

    Maid to Match is a competely enjoyable book from the first page to the last. The history of the Vanderbilt's life style and home 'Biltmore' provides a excellent contrast to the hopelessness and struggles of the less fortunate. As always, Deeanne Gist creates strong characters that bring the story to life and make you want more. I'm hoping she writes a sequel to this book, since the end of this story is the beginning of another. I have read several of Ms. Gist's books and have loved them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Great read!

    Thought I would try something out of my normal genre and loved this book. Nice story, easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting *clean* Romance

    This book is set at one of my favorite places on earth: the Biltmore in Asheville, North Carolina. Having been there several times, I can attest to the accuracy of Mrs. Gist's description. She is not lying about the opulence and grandeur of the family's living quarters. She is not lying about the servants quarters either. Each room was furnished with a wrought iron framed bed. Their servants looked to be treated very well. The descriptions used throughout the book really make you feel like you're standing in the house or the mountains of Asheville.

    Tillie Reese is in the running for the coveted lady's maid position. She gives her all to her job. After all, she's been training for it her whole life. She is kind, compassionate, and a little (ok, a lot) stubborn. She is a Christian, as well, and believes she is following God's will for her life. That is, until Mack Danver shows up. Mack is a ruggedly handsome mountain of a man (hehe) who falls in love with Tillie the moment he sees her. He is a smart, well-educated, God fearing (and did I say handsome) man. So, of course, Tillie is also attracted to him. But does he jeopardize the very thing Tillie wants the most?

    The plot, along with the romance, is expertly written. Deeanne Gist knows how to build a story that sucks the reader in from the beginning and doesn't let them go until the end. In the midst of the romance (there are some "steamy" PG scenes), is a well-thought out and developed plot about the town orphanage. Her description of the orphanage makes you cringe along with Mack and Tillie. The Sloop's attitudes and actions make you angry, right along with Mack and Tillie. The story is not preachy; Mrs. Gist weaves in the spiritual element seamlessly and effortlessly. You root for Mack and Tillie in their struggles to do discern God's will for their lives and overcome their own desires and dreams.

    Overall, I can't say enough good things about this book! I absolutely loved it! FIVE out of FIVE stars! Go read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    Having visited Biltmore 3 times and taken an "extra cost&qu

    Having visited Biltmore 3 times and taken an "extra cost" tour the last time too, I LOVED reading about places in and around the home in this book.  I  could just "see" the settings as I read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Well written

    I found this book to be well written, but there were many parts where I got bored with the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    A good summer read.

    Deeanne Gist is an author worth reading. I have read other works of hers and have enjoyed them all. This is no exception. It is worth the read and compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    good historical fiction/romance

    good historical fiction/romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    So sweet!

    I love this book! The history is fascinating and the story compelling. Two thumbs, way up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    New favorite!

    I picked up this book when visiting Asheville a few days ago. I honestly couldn't put it down! Such a good read! It makes me want to go back to the Biltmore already! I would recommend this book to anybody. I look forward to reading more from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Wonderful show of self sacrificing for love

    Wonderful show of self sacrificing for love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    I am from the Asheville area & I really enjoyed reading this

    I am from the Asheville area & I really enjoyed reading this book based at Biltmore. Readers should enjoy the book for its ease of reading & very nice imagery. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Maid to Match by Deanne Gist

    I loved this book! I wanted to live a day of the Vanderbilts after visiting Biltmore. This book was just that! I think it would make a great movie...or better yet a tvseries. I envision a family-friendly similar to Little House. I love the historical facts at the end also. I did not want it to end! A+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    THIS WAS A WELL WRITTEN BOOK. THIS IS A GREAT READ, KEEPS YOU SP

    THIS WAS A WELL WRITTEN BOOK. THIS IS A GREAT READ, KEEPS YOU SPELL BOUND. I WOULD READ MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR. KEEP THE GREAT WORK UP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Great read

    Liked the book alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Hard to put down. Enjoyed the tidbits of history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 367 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19