Customer Reviews for

Maid to Match

Average Rating 4.5
( 367 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Maid to Match Review

    Maid to Match is a historical romance novel written by Deeane Gist. Set in the late 1800's, Maid to Match is a story about Tillie Reese, a maid at the Biltmore mansion. Coming from a lower-class family, Tillie has been working her way up the ladder of success since childhood. She is on the verge of getting everything she ever dreamed of, a position of lady's maid to the lady of the house. A life of adventure, prestige, wearing fancy clothes, traveling, reading, a life that is everything she has ever wanted. Or so she thought. When Tillie is enlisted to help tame Mack Danvers, a mountain man turned footman, she finds that her heart has opened up to new dreams. Torn between the world she has always wanted and the world she has never known, Tillie must choose which path she will follow.

    As with all historical romance novels, competition is fierce and originality nearly impossible. Love is the universal language, and therefore will always carry a semblance of cliche. It has happened a million times before :) This book is no exception. However, despite it's general failings as a genre, I enjoyed reading this book. It was interesting, moving, and even inspiring. I liked the reality of Tillie's mother. Her human failings, her hopes and dreams she has placed in her daughter, and her attitude towards Tillie's end choice. They gave the book a ring of authenticity. Based on historical facts, Maid to Match was a great book for a rainy day.

    Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoy's this genre, or as a gift for any woman aged 14 and up. A message of following your heart, it promises to uplift you and leave you smiling at the end.

    **I received a free copy of this book through Graf-Martin Publishers

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Great Read

    This book was really good. I loved the story line and found it very difficult to put down after I started it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    good historical fiction/romance

    good historical fiction/romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    I am from the Asheville area & I really enjoyed reading this

    I am from the Asheville area & I really enjoyed reading this book based at Biltmore. Readers should enjoy the book for its ease of reading & very nice imagery. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Hard to put down. Enjoyed the tidbits of history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Great book!

    Really cute, worth the read:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    nice

    good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    They 'maid' it work.

    It was a pretty decent story, the characters were sweet. I wish it were longer, I'd love to see what happened to the characters, had a bit of an abrupt ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Some Substance to Be Had

    I went looking for a Christian romance as light reading that wouldn't challenge me, and I knew Deeanne Gist was the author to go to. The scenes that I remember most in Gist's Christian writing are the passionately restrained romance scenes, not the scenes of transformation by God. Maid to Match is, like all of Gist's books, squeaky clean (hurrah!) and offers a pleasant, feel-good story about the supremacy of God's plans, but if you're looking for a life-changing novel, you'd best look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    it was good

    it was

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Dreamreader

    Wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Enjoyable look into the past

    Liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Great read.

    I have been to the BIltmore. The descriptions are acurate. Its a lovely place especially at CHristmas. The story is a young woman who wants to see the world and if she becomes mrs.vanderbilts ladies maid she will get what she has dreamed. Until she meets him and then some things arent that simple anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Good read

    I liked this book. It was a little drawn out and wordy in places, but I liked the love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Must check it out!!!

    great book...love this kind of book, good wholesome and very easy
    read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Good Read

    Overall, I thought this was a very good book. I used to live in Asheville and visited Biltmore often, so I found it especially interesting to see the author's take on what life was like for the servants and Vanderbilt family during the time period. As with other Historical Fiction titles I've read, I found myself wondering how true to fact the story really was, but Deeanne Gist has a segment at the end of the book outlining where she got all her information from, and with few exceptions, the story does seem to be true to fact. As for the plot, I found it pretty enjoyable. My one main complaint is that the ending struck me as somewhat anti-climatic given the events throughout the book, but it was still a good story. I would be interested to read her other books to see how they compare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Well Written - Great Story

    Refreshing romance story where the main characters have very strong opinions and goals set forth for themselves, only to find that life sometimes has a way of changing what we hold most dear. I truly enjoyed the Biltmore House setting and all of the detail that the Author: Deeanne Gist incorporated into the story line. Well written and well researched. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Very Good Story

    Very good story. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    I liked it very much

    I will read more of her books. Good!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    Very Good Plot keep me reading till te end one moment i had to cry alittle but well worth it in the end must check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7