Customer Reviews for

Maid to Match

Average Rating 4.5
( 370 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing in Every Way

    I was so completely enchanted by this novel that I was sad when I finished. In fact, I didn't even know that I was close to the end until I turned the page and there wasn't any more text. When I requested this novel from Goodread's book swap, I didn't expect to love it so much. I'm not a fan of Christian novels, but I didn't even know that it was such until I looked up more about the author. There were numerous references to the Christian god, and the character's relying on him for strength and guidance. However, the story was more about the characters and their relationships rather than their god.

    I immediately fell in love with the characters. Tillie was so simple in her ambitions that I couldn't help but envy her. All she wanted in the entire world was to be a lady's maid and help those less fortunate than her. Then there is Mack, whose only concern is getting his sister out of a horrible orphanage and returning to his home in the mountains. Both Mack and Tillie have their own agendas and they don't plan on letting anything ruin those plans. In fact, in the beginning when Tillie discovers she is up to lady's maid, she tells her own brother that not even someone in love with her is going to stop her from attaining the position.

    Things don't exactly happen that way. Through determination and some sacrifice both end up getting what they wish, but by then, they aren't sure it is what they really want.

    Gist delighted me in so many ways. The characters were simple in their aspirations yet had such much....well character. The world as we know it wasn't threaten by anything more than man's selfishness. The heroine wasn't some great hero who had amazing powers or was the only one who could save the world. I loved Gist's style. She really knew how to say something so perfectly to give it a certain feel or to come across a certain way.

    I was surprised I loved this book as much as I did, but it was a treasure I couldn't believe I found. An instant favorite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    High Praise!

    First off, I have been to the Biltmore...and I aboslutely love it!! It is any Hopless Romantic's dream, and when I saw that this novel took place in it I just could not resist it. Filled with pent up emotion you will find yourself talking to the two main characters and living in the beautiful mansion that they reside in. I didn't want it to end, and I thank the author for allowing me to visit the Biltmore even from states away!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Deeanne Gist Does It Again!

    I don't like to fly but was en route from Orlando to Sacramento. My flight was delayed due to severe weather, and I didn't have a book with me. When I found Gist's latest title, MAID TO MATCH, in the airport bookstore, I was thrilled. Her tale transported me to the turn of the century at the breathtaking Biltmore Estate, and I forgot all else as I devoured her captivating story. I loved her characters. Neither the Vanderbilts' parlor maid, Tillie, nor their newest footman, Mack, are perfect people, but both endeared themselves to me from the start, and I enjoyed watching them learn important life lessons. Gist is a gifted storyteller, and I savored her rich descriptions, her historical details so accurately portrayed, and her clever dialogue. I highly recommend this wonderfully written romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Rich in history, romance and strength of character.

    Maid to Match is a competely enjoyable book from the first page to the last. The history of the Vanderbilt's life style and home 'Biltmore' provides a excellent contrast to the hopelessness and struggles of the less fortunate. As always, Deeanne Gist creates strong characters that bring the story to life and make you want more. I'm hoping she writes a sequel to this book, since the end of this story is the beginning of another. I have read several of Ms. Gist's books and have loved them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Test room 3.

    Are you ready to take the test?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Ivylwaf

    First result sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Great read!

    Thought I would try something out of my normal genre and loved this book. Nice story, easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    Having visited Biltmore 3 times and taken an "extra cost&qu

    Having visited Biltmore 3 times and taken an "extra cost" tour the last time too, I LOVED reading about places in and around the home in this book.  I  could just "see" the settings as I read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    A good summer read.

    Deeanne Gist is an author worth reading. I have read other works of hers and have enjoyed them all. This is no exception. It is worth the read and compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    So sweet!

    I love this book! The history is fascinating and the story compelling. Two thumbs, way up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    New favorite!

    I picked up this book when visiting Asheville a few days ago. I honestly couldn't put it down! Such a good read! It makes me want to go back to the Biltmore already! I would recommend this book to anybody. I look forward to reading more from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Wonderful show of self sacrificing for love

    Wonderful show of self sacrificing for love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Maid to Match by Deanne Gist

    I loved this book! I wanted to live a day of the Vanderbilts after visiting Biltmore. This book was just that! I think it would make a great movie...or better yet a tvseries. I envision a family-friendly similar to Little House. I love the historical facts at the end also. I did not want it to end! A+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    THIS WAS A WELL WRITTEN BOOK. THIS IS A GREAT READ, KEEPS YOU SP

    THIS WAS A WELL WRITTEN BOOK. THIS IS A GREAT READ, KEEPS YOU SPELL BOUND. I WOULD READ MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR. KEEP THE GREAT WORK UP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Great read

    Liked the book alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    GREAT

    This was the first book I had ever read from Gist, and I loved it so much I bought two of her others and counting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book!

    I have been wary of historical fiction, having had more than my fill in the past. Although this book fell into the historical fiction genre, I found the plot and characters refreshing and believable. I thoroughly enjoyed the read and was sad to have the book end! I definitely recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Excellent

    My expectations for this book were low but l was pleasantly surprised. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Great book

    Its simple but beautiful story. I really enjoyed it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Wow!

    This book was excellent. I would recommen it to anyone =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10