Customer Reviews for

Maiden Bride

Average Rating 3.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Exciting medieval romance

In 1351 England, Lady Eleanor Bayard learns she is a widow even though she never met her spouse, having married him by proxy. Eleanor thinks her husband died in Calais. Needing a place to live, Eleanor travels to the Faulkhurst Castle, former home of her late spouse. ...
In 1351 England, Lady Eleanor Bayard learns she is a widow even though she never met her spouse, having married him by proxy. Eleanor thinks her husband died in Calais. Needing a place to live, Eleanor travels to the Faulkhurst Castle, former home of her late spouse.

Lord Nicholas Bayard feels guilt over never meeting his wife, let alone sharing a wedding night with her. He believes died due to the plague. He is wandering all over his rundown castle when Eleanor arrives. She thinks he is an unemployed knight and offers the angst-laden Nicholas a job as her steward. He is shocked by her positive, uplifting attitude, but hides his identity from her because he feels he has no time for a wife in his present circumstances. However, as Nicholas and Eleanor fall in love, he wonders what will happen to his heart when she learns his deception.

Medieval romance readers will long relish Linda Needham¿s touching tale, THE MAIDEN BRIDE. The story line is fast-paced and filled with the nuances of mid fourteenth century English life. The lead couple is a delightful compassionate pair whose droll repartees will give much pleasure to sub-genre fans.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Does Consummation Define an Arranged Marriage?

This book satisfied three distinct "what if" curiosities of mine: 1) What if you married someone you never met before? 2) What if your husband, whom you barely knew, died overseas and left you alone? 3) What if you never consummated your marriage--is it still considered...
This book satisfied three distinct "what if" curiosities of mine: 1) What if you married someone you never met before? 2) What if your husband, whom you barely knew, died overseas and left you alone? 3) What if you never consummated your marriage--is it still considered legitimate and valid?

Main Storyline:
A woman has an arranged marriage to a notorious wartime commander, but he never comes to get her and bring her home with him. Years after he has been proclaimed dead, the woman takes her three travelmates and her notions of how anyone can change if given the opportunity, and journeys to her dead husband's abandoned run-down castle to start a sort of utopian society. The man who actually LIVES in said castle, however, far from agrees. The mysterious man turns out to be the woman's husband, whom she never met. Wanting desperately to get to know his unknown wife, who he finds himself helplessly possessive of, he decides to look after her as she pursues her crazy ideals--at least until he finishes his last important project and leaves the world forever. This is a story of redemption from a life of black sins, loose-ended promises and answered prayers, hypocrisy and the nature of ambition. You want both characters to win, but the one who needs to win is too broken to step forward, and in order for either one to win they must depend upon the other. The morality theme is one of undeserved second chances, and the underlying reasons why mistakes are made in the first place.

SLIGHT SPOILER:
To be honest, I was a bit disappointed when they finally DID consummate the marriage. Some of the phrases used just seemed...cheesy. And after waiting the entire book length to see what would change in their relationship after they finally had sex...I discovered that I wouldn't find out. I mean, it's implied that they'll live "happily ever after," but after a story about happy NEVER afters, it felt a bit...counterproductive.

posted by SeriahBlack on June 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting medieval romance

    In 1351 England, Lady Eleanor Bayard learns she is a widow even though she never met her spouse, having married him by proxy. Eleanor thinks her husband died in Calais. Needing a place to live, Eleanor travels to the Faulkhurst Castle, former home of her late spouse. <P>Lord Nicholas Bayard feels guilt over never meeting his wife, let alone sharing a wedding night with her. He believes died due to the plague. He is wandering all over his rundown castle when Eleanor arrives. She thinks he is an unemployed knight and offers the angst-laden Nicholas a job as her steward. He is shocked by her positive, uplifting attitude, but hides his identity from her because he feels he has no time for a wife in his present circumstances. However, as Nicholas and Eleanor fall in love, he wonders what will happen to his heart when she learns his deception. <P>Medieval romance readers will long relish Linda Needham¿s touching tale, THE MAIDEN BRIDE. The story line is fast-paced and filled with the nuances of mid fourteenth century English life. The lead couple is a delightful compassionate pair whose droll repartees will give much pleasure to sub-genre fans. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    So-so

    I got it for free. Glad I didn't pay for it. It made a flight cross country go faster.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Does Consummation Define an Arranged Marriage?

    This book satisfied three distinct "what if" curiosities of mine: 1) What if you married someone you never met before? 2) What if your husband, whom you barely knew, died overseas and left you alone? 3) What if you never consummated your marriage--is it still considered legitimate and valid?

    Main Storyline:
    A woman has an arranged marriage to a notorious wartime commander, but he never comes to get her and bring her home with him. Years after he has been proclaimed dead, the woman takes her three travelmates and her notions of how anyone can change if given the opportunity, and journeys to her dead husband's abandoned run-down castle to start a sort of utopian society. The man who actually LIVES in said castle, however, far from agrees. The mysterious man turns out to be the woman's husband, whom she never met. Wanting desperately to get to know his unknown wife, who he finds himself helplessly possessive of, he decides to look after her as she pursues her crazy ideals--at least until he finishes his last important project and leaves the world forever. This is a story of redemption from a life of black sins, loose-ended promises and answered prayers, hypocrisy and the nature of ambition. You want both characters to win, but the one who needs to win is too broken to step forward, and in order for either one to win they must depend upon the other. The morality theme is one of undeserved second chances, and the underlying reasons why mistakes are made in the first place.

    SLIGHT SPOILER:
    To be honest, I was a bit disappointed when they finally DID consummate the marriage. Some of the phrases used just seemed...cheesy. And after waiting the entire book length to see what would change in their relationship after they finally had sex...I discovered that I wouldn't find out. I mean, it's implied that they'll live "happily ever after," but after a story about happy NEVER afters, it felt a bit...counterproductive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Different.......................................................

    Different..................................................................................
     This writer really puts a refreshing spin on historical romance novels.  She really fills in the background of  the era she is writing about.  It gives you a better feel for the characters she  is writing about.   This is the second book I've read by LN.  My Wicked Earl being the other-- and have the same small criticism on both. The ending is a little rushed.  Plus since the last chapter in both  takes place while they are having sex the dialogue is choppy an sporadic.  Hard to have a meaningful conversation when your having the best orgasm of your life.   Could have used a good epilogue.  These were men and women that were movers and shakers.  Would have been nice to have a small glimpse at their future happily ever after.   But it is a small criticism.  Overall a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Sweet romance.

    This is my first book by this author. I loved the premise of the story and it could have been great but, very little romance. The book is about 400 pages although it says 211, the page number does not change each time. The female was kind and helpful. The male was an alpha male, but this book is not for readers that want lots of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    GREAT GREAT GREAT GREAT

    AMAZING LOVE STORY WITH SOME FUNNY PARTS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    Unbelievable characters

    While the story was good, the characters were not. Sobbing one minute and ready to jump eachother the next, arguing heately one moment and gazing lovingly at each other the next, the moodswings made an otherwise good story awful. The heroine was stubborn to the point where even when good common sense was presented she refused to even acknowledge it and somehow everyone end up in love with her even as I wanted to throttle her myself and they get a happy ending with virtually no resistance.
    Frustrating and unsatisfying to say the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Surprisingly interesting

    I got the gist of the "simple" story right away and thought I would be bored reading the rest but the depth of the history/story and pleasantness of how it made me feel kept me reading. It was about an interesting era/problem which I had never read many novels about but had wondered how it "worked" in reality.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    Great book

    I found it very difficult to put this book down. I am an avid reader of Historical Romance and I thought that this was a great book. The leading characters were lively and had a wonderful sense of humor, they felt like real people. I wasn¿t able to put the book down and read it through without stopping, and found only one flaw. What happened to the story toward the end? I was waiting and hoping for a spectacular ending, something that the characters were striving for, but was left a little disheartened. Regardless of the ending, I would highly recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    SOMEONE FINALLY DID IT!

    THIS IS MY FIRST READ FOR THIS AUTHOR BUT NOT MY LAST. I HAVE READ HISTORICAL ROMANCES THAT MADE MADE ME LAUGH BUT NEVER ONE THAT MADE ME HAVE TO OPEN ANOTHER BOX OF TISSUES. WHILE THE HERO IS STRONG,VIRILE AND RIGHTEOUS IT IS IMPOSSIBLE NOT TO FEEL THE SORROW AND REGRET HE HAS HEAPED UPON HIMSELF.YOU KNOW EVERYTHING HAS TO TURN OUT FOR THE BEST BUT WHAT IS THE BEST? I FOUND IT DIFFICULT TO PUT THE BOOK DOWN UNTIL I REACHED THE END.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2000

    A page turner

    The Maiden Bride was so captivating that I could barely put it down. Eleanor is determined to to make castle into what it once was. She holds a grudge against her dead husband who is really the castles new steward. I highly recommned this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5