Customer Reviews for

Mail Order Millie

Average Rating 3.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This is a good book and I would recommend to friends

This is a good book and I would recommend to friends

posted by 6786002 on May 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Worst book ever.................................................

Worst book
ever.....................................................................................................................................................
George is sanctamonius and self righteous. He has no feeling of
compassion for a girl coming from an or...
Worst book
ever.....................................................................................................................................................
George is sanctamonius and self righteous. He has no feeling of
compassion for a girl coming from an orphanage who is forced to become a
mail order bride because at 18 she is aging out of the institution.
Instead he explains to her she is a sinner because she lied about her
age in her letters. He makes no effort to meet her before the wedding
or make her feel welcome when they arrive at his home. Which is a
filthy hovel. What a total jerk. The story makes no attempt to try
and make them a partnership but keeps trying to bring home the man is
boss message. Deduct a star if you think a husband should treat his
wife with respect or tenderness. On the bright side its only 44 pages

posted by kronan1 on August 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    This is a good book and I would recommend to friends

    This is a good book and I would recommend to friends

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Avery good quick read

    A pleasant and enjoyable read. I personally think the author could put a little more depth in the story however as a short story it was very enjoyable.

    I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good, clean romance. Am looking forward to reading some more of her books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Nice story

    It was a nice story to read. It left me with a nice feeling. I recommend it as a relaxing read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Back in the day

    The story was ok. The main thing was it showed how hard it was to live and raise a family all on your own. Women had it the hardest with no regrets it was a normal life. Could the men and women of today survive? I know some could and not think anything about it. The others?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    Recommended

    Millie's positive attitude in her negative situation opens hearts and paves the way for love.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Good, enjoyable read - would recommend

    Good book, nice read. Kept my attention to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Enjoyed

    Good short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    Enjoyable mail order bride story

    This had a clear Christian message (more than some of this genre).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Good

    I thought I had already read this story when I started reading it. Probably a couple of years ago. I didn't realize it but enjoyed reading it twice now. A good sweet story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Anon

    I really enjoyed this short story. Although it has mixed reviews, not all positive, I think readers may have missed the point the writer was trying and succeeded to make. This is a Christian story set in the 1800's when times were different and so much harder...yet things back then were also very simple when it came to what life is all about. Happiness and love grow and become strong when taken slowly and when their lives are based on faith and family. When you stop and think about it, what else really matters. Jp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Good

    Enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Good reading

    Funny western

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Good book

    I enjoyed reading this story, it was short and sweet. Just the perfect length for my busy life. I like the fact that it was a sweet romance without sex scenes. I will read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Good read T

    Sweet story about an orphan who needs to find a home and becomes a mail order bride. The children she acquired through this union were almost perfect (cute and quite lucky for her). Interesting novel with details concerning life in the late 19 th century that I enjoy reading about. I am looking forward to reading the sequel tomorrow. I'm hoping it is longer but that probably won't happen. So here's to another "good read". tomorrow:-) .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    This is a must read. I really enjoyed it.

    This is a must read. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Awww...

    Fast story. Love his patience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2