Customer Reviews for

Mailbox

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

If yiu If you dont mind crying...

I read r
This book


I read this book because I was intrigued by the mystery it seemed to hold. It holds more than that.

This is a book about: fostering, adoption, pet fostering, death and life, trust, and facing your fears.

Gabe is used to veing shuttled from foster...
I read r
This book


I read this book because I was intrigued by the mystery it seemed to hold. It holds more than that.

This is a book about: fostering, adoption, pet fostering, death and life, trust, and facing your fears.

Gabe is used to veing shuttled from foster home to foster home when a caring caseworker is finally able to locate his uncle who agrees to take him in. Death strikes unexpectedly and Gabe finds himself alone and unsure of what to do. When this happens he also finds a curious correspondence has begun between him and a stranger, via Uncle Vernon's mailbox.

This is a book written for juveniles but it explores some very mature themes. There is some discussion about a Vietnam vet who mistakenly fired upon a Vietnamese child who was firing on him. This tragedy haunted the vet who eventually fited upon himself due to thd guilt for which he couldn't forgive himself...
This same veteran, though mentally unstable, reaches iut to Gabe, via the mailbox, and the two become friends from afar. Each helps the other in his own way, to face a world without Vernon.

This story also portrays teachers, caseworkers, and law officials as being human beings with feelings and with the ability and need to reach out to others. In the end, the story line is nicely tidied up with everyone moving appropriately forward.

I strongly caution a pre-read by parents and teachers prior to allowing or encouraging children to read this book. While it is well-written and thought-provoking, in my opinion, it should probably only be read by kids ages 10 or 12 and older. And then only if they will not be tormented by a man shooting half his head off in an attempt to expunge himself of guilt... This story has its place but it isn't for everyone. It certainly isn't something I'd have chosen to read if I'd known the subject matter more fully. If our boys choose to read it I'll be glad I've already read it.

posted by TogetherForGood on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

I recommend this book because there is some really good detail but the one thing I could suggest was have a little bit more because in parts of the story, I got lost. I didn't know what was going on in the middle because to me there wasn't much detail.

posted by BrookGabrielle on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    If yiu If you dont mind crying...

    I read r
    This book


    I read this book because I was intrigued by the mystery it seemed to hold. It holds more than that.

    This is a book about: fostering, adoption, pet fostering, death and life, trust, and facing your fears.

    Gabe is used to veing shuttled from foster home to foster home when a caring caseworker is finally able to locate his uncle who agrees to take him in. Death strikes unexpectedly and Gabe finds himself alone and unsure of what to do. When this happens he also finds a curious correspondence has begun between him and a stranger, via Uncle Vernon's mailbox.

    This is a book written for juveniles but it explores some very mature themes. There is some discussion about a Vietnam vet who mistakenly fired upon a Vietnamese child who was firing on him. This tragedy haunted the vet who eventually fited upon himself due to thd guilt for which he couldn't forgive himself...
    This same veteran, though mentally unstable, reaches iut to Gabe, via the mailbox, and the two become friends from afar. Each helps the other in his own way, to face a world without Vernon.

    This story also portrays teachers, caseworkers, and law officials as being human beings with feelings and with the ability and need to reach out to others. In the end, the story line is nicely tidied up with everyone moving appropriately forward.

    I strongly caution a pre-read by parents and teachers prior to allowing or encouraging children to read this book. While it is well-written and thought-provoking, in my opinion, it should probably only be read by kids ages 10 or 12 and older. And then only if they will not be tormented by a man shooting half his head off in an attempt to expunge himself of guilt... This story has its place but it isn't for everyone. It certainly isn't something I'd have chosen to read if I'd known the subject matter more fully. If our boys choose to read it I'll be glad I've already read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Recommended

    I recommend this book because there is some really good detail but the one thing I could suggest was have a little bit more because in parts of the story, I got lost. I didn't know what was going on in the middle because to me there wasn't much detail.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully written.

    This should become a classic-a gentle book with a powerful story. I will look forward to more from this writer. The Vietnam War left many scars and young people of today can see some of that through the characters of this story. There is no heavy-handed moralizing, just the recognition of what was and hope for what can be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Life's lesson

    This is a powerul story on many levels. It demonstrates how powerful the past is and how one must live eith consequences. I don't want to say much more. Just read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    must read

    the best book i ever read kept me reading it the whole book u feel sad for the main carecter i love the book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Iloved this book

    This book is very good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Excellent Book

    This book captured and held my attention from the first page to the last. I wondered how a dead body could disappear and why someone would leave mysterious notes in the mailbox. The characters were well-developed and evoked a deep sense of compassion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    It was an okay book..

    This book was okay.. I never really understood the beginning until the middle of the book. Although, I have got to say, this book was pretty good. I love how the author describes the story thoroughly..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    The Mailbox

    I think The Mailbox is very well written and described. It was very exciting finding the message in the mailbox.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    &# 26487

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    H

    H

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Xelinia

    To: Tigressa<br>
    Where: 'call of the wild' res one<br>
    When: ASAP<br>
    Message: 'Let me go you daemonic lunatic!'<br>
    From: Xelinia<br>
    ((To Ink: Please send this. She is holding me hostage! She is a daemonic lunatic)))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Silverstar of Jayclan

    Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    A message from Starclan to Jayclan

    The flock of Jays is dwindling near, many have left many have gone. If danger nears there be no more birds. Numbers too small they fall. Lost they are but not unfound. They star of silver shows the way. But helpless for now until the light shines within again. The flighting moon shall not lead astray. It helps guide the star of silver which the jay birds follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Annonymous starclan cat

    To: Cinderstar of Sandclan. From: an annonymous Starclan cat. Message: you must chose a deputy soon. All your cats have been loyal, but Thistlepath shows respect and he passes on skills to younger cats. I have been watching him and decided that he would be a good deputy, but the choice is yours. When: asap. Deliver to: sandy place THIRD result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Someone

    To:harazzah from?? Messegae i eeally like you. Atachment. A rose and box of choclates. At oliver twist res one. When ASaP

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Charm

    To:kevin message: i love ya! Add on: a card that pops out and kisses him o the cheek to:'evi' res one when:twomarrow at 4:30

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4