Customer Reviews for

Maine

Average Rating 3.5
( 333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Well written and true to life

I loved the detail and description of the character development. J. Courtney Sullivan weaves words seamlessly to paint a picture for her readers. The Maine property was both the protagonist and the antagonist in this story. I'm baffled the readers that panned this novel...
I loved the detail and description of the character development. J. Courtney Sullivan weaves words seamlessly to paint a picture for her readers. The Maine property was both the protagonist and the antagonist in this story. I'm baffled the readers that panned this novel did not catch that. The only thing constant and unchanging was the cottage. It was the cottage that brought forth the four women characters' personalities and baggage.

It as a shame that the characters could not recognize that life is too short and they should forgive each other. But that is exactly what true life is like. Real people go to their grave estranged from their blood relatives. People avoid what makes them feel uncomfortable or what is unpleasant. So Sullivan's characters were portrayed so realistically. Bravo for being so true to life and on target!

As for the ending that all other reviewers complained about. Where can a story go with such unforgiving characters. There is no ending, everyone continues on with their own life, hoping that the next time they have to interact won't be too soon in coming. And that is exactly what we all do, "life goes on." All the characters are just trying to do the best they could for the way they are. The ending could also be Alice's way of leaving this world. Maybe the voice she hears is her God's telling her "Alice? Alice. It's time."

Don't be swayed into not reading this story. It makes our own dysfunctional families look good, and makes us think that we can be better in redeeming ourselves in our own situations--always a favorable reason to read a good book. Enjoy!

posted by fi2Bme on August 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A disappointing end

I thought the author developed strong female characters with a lot of baggage. Unlike "Commencement" where the ending seemed rushed, "Maine" simply had no ending. I was so disappointed with a lack of closure, I am left assuming the author will continue with these charac...
I thought the author developed strong female characters with a lot of baggage. Unlike "Commencement" where the ending seemed rushed, "Maine" simply had no ending. I was so disappointed with a lack of closure, I am left assuming the author will continue with these characters in a sequel-otherwise I am to wonder, what was the point?

posted by Anonymous on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Don't Waste Your Time!

    I just spent a week of my life reading this book and waiting for one of these characters to mature or learn a lesson. Each one was more horrible than the next and they were not believable in the least. As I got closer to the end I kept thinking to myself, OK it's got to be coming soon and before I knew it the book was finished. It reminds me why I don't read fiction that often. Pass this one up and read something written by Geraldine Brooks!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Depressing and too much family drama

    Who wants to read about family drama that takes place in most families? Don't waste your time reading this book. The characters are selfish and immature. There was no story behind this book...The ending was pathetic.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Waste Of Time

    If youre looking for a good beach book...dont waste your time with this one! The kindest thing I can say is that the characters are well developed, but that being said are mostly unlikeable...move on!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Not for me!

    I was intriqued by the title as I live in Maine part of the year. But I found this very boring and the ending was a let down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    So boring with characters that are incredibly unlikable. By the

    So boring with characters that are incredibly unlikable. By the end, I didn't care what happened to them which is a good thing since the book just stopped with no real ending. Don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    nook sample

    jac2848 - did not like nook sample

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was disappointed after reading this book...very anticlimactic

    I was disappointed after reading this book...very anticlimactic for all the hype it got.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Could barely make it through rhe first two chapters!

    Slow moving and wordy without reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    not one likable character

    Although I agree with those who said the book was well written--Sullivan's ability to weave the character's history into the present story telling was well done. That being said, this book was never "hilarious" as one reviewer wrote. The women were not likeable at all, in fact they were spiteful, mean spirited women. This is not a beach read or a book that would give you that "summertime feel" during a New England November (when I read it). The ending was a non issue. Even if she continues the story, I won't pick up the sequel. Glad I took it out of the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Boring

    Did not like this book. The characters were uninteresting and trite. I normally read a book of this size in one or two days....I had to force myself to finish this book in over a week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    This book is not good!

    Don't waste your time or money on this book. I was very disappointed. I think the author got bored too and just decided to end the book mid thought!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    A no go! Don't waste your time or money!

    First I will state the positives...good character development and I like her writing style (ie...easy to read, characters were interesting).

    Now what I really thought...I was 200 pages in before the family even made it to Maine. Up until this point, the story was disjointed to say the least. In retrospect, I can see the making of a couple of decent novels about the different characters in this book. The problem was they were are pretty much independent of each other until page 197 ish. I only held on to finish the book because I spent $12.97 on it. The author made me cringe with some of the ways this family treated each other. The characters learned nothing from their actions. And NOTHING was resolved during or at the end of the book. The end was a sad attempt at a cliff hanger.

    I might read another J. Courtney Sullivan's novels in the future, but one thing I know for sure...I will get the book from the library so I don't have to waste money or feel guilty if I don't like it and decide to put it down. (BTW-I am Catholic and my guilt for the money I spent is why I read the whole thing).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    disappointed

    expected some big pro-family beachy read and instead got a story of a bitter woman who resented her life never reached any heights and therefore could not see what she did have. Her disappoints mess her kids lives and in the end resolves nothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    A Colossal disappointment and a giant waste of time.

    I truly thought that I this was a great, meaty summer read. I started it and liked it right away. The character development was quite good and the story was engrossing. That is why 1 star is appropriate.

    However, things are supposed to happen in books. There should be some pivotal moment, some resolution, something that tells you that these people have gone through the events in the boodk for some reason. But nothing of the sort happens. The lack of resolution wasn't sad or troubling, which may have been the author's intent. It was just hugely disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    Bad Book!!!

    Boring, Boring!! Waste of time. Should not even be titled for such a beautiful State.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Dont bother

    This book was only a little bit interesting. I almost quit reading it three seperate times. First book in a long time that I was happy to finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3