BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Maine

Average Rating 3.5
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Well written and true to life

I loved the detail and description of the character development. J. Courtney Sullivan weaves words seamlessly to paint a picture for her readers. The Maine property was both the protagonist and the antagonist in this story. I'm baffled the readers that panned this novel...
I loved the detail and description of the character development. J. Courtney Sullivan weaves words seamlessly to paint a picture for her readers. The Maine property was both the protagonist and the antagonist in this story. I'm baffled the readers that panned this novel did not catch that. The only thing constant and unchanging was the cottage. It was the cottage that brought forth the four women characters' personalities and baggage.

It as a shame that the characters could not recognize that life is too short and they should forgive each other. But that is exactly what true life is like. Real people go to their grave estranged from their blood relatives. People avoid what makes them feel uncomfortable or what is unpleasant. So Sullivan's characters were portrayed so realistically. Bravo for being so true to life and on target!

As for the ending that all other reviewers complained about. Where can a story go with such unforgiving characters. There is no ending, everyone continues on with their own life, hoping that the next time they have to interact won't be too soon in coming. And that is exactly what we all do, "life goes on." All the characters are just trying to do the best they could for the way they are. The ending could also be Alice's way of leaving this world. Maybe the voice she hears is her God's telling her "Alice? Alice. It's time."

Don't be swayed into not reading this story. It makes our own dysfunctional families look good, and makes us think that we can be better in redeeming ourselves in our own situations--always a favorable reason to read a good book. Enjoy!

posted by fi2Bme on August 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A disappointing end

I thought the author developed strong female characters with a lot of baggage. Unlike "Commencement" where the ending seemed rushed, "Maine" simply had no ending. I was so disappointed with a lack of closure, I am left assuming the author will continue with these charac...
I thought the author developed strong female characters with a lot of baggage. Unlike "Commencement" where the ending seemed rushed, "Maine" simply had no ending. I was so disappointed with a lack of closure, I am left assuming the author will continue with these characters in a sequel-otherwise I am to wonder, what was the point?

posted by Anonymous on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Maine

    Why do so many people feel that they have to give a synopsis of the story? All I want to know is if you liked it and why. Or if you did not like it and why. I have not read the book yet, but like to read the reviews to determine if I want to purchase it. The only thing I've learned from the reviews is that they are subjective. What one person considers a great book is another person's worst nightmare. From now on I'm going to ignore the reviews and make my own decisions.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Family

    A novel highlighting family and the assumptions and misunderstandings that divide and unite us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    good

    Family beach house in Maine where over the years the family members
    have assembled. Three generations of females descent upon the house
    one summer. Story starts out with how they were first married, and he
    had won the land when another couldn't pay their card debt.
    Alice remained and Daniel had passed away. Each of the kids and their
    families would come to the house a different month for each child and
    their family.
    Very confusing as each person gets their own chapter and you struggle to figure out who it is they are even talking about. Goes from the present to the past.
    It is a very good book, the setting especially.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    Good until the end

    Great story until the last paragraph. Shame of an ending for such a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Good but not great

    Felt like characters werent fully developed and story not finished

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Family Drama but intersting reading at times...

    Quite honestly, I read this book because I love Maine and gravitate to books that take place there. This one didn't disappoint me in that way. I love the Ogonquit/Perkins Cove/Cape Neddick area and know it well, as we have a summer place there and for once I could relate to the area a book was about. The story line was another issue...the family got along as well as oil and water, with underlying issues that went back years and seem never to be forgotten or forgiven. A few times I wanted to shout out loud to them and say GET OVER IT! But, I kept on reading, hoping for some monumental turn of events...I was surprised when I turned the last page and knew I was at the end of the story... disappointing to say the least.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Maine

    The book was engrossing. I got wrapped up in the characters and their stories. The ending was disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    I read this book because it was a pick for our book club. I str

    I read this book because it was a pick for our book club. I struggled through the first hundred plus pages. I felt the writing was poor in that we were being told about characters and not meeting them. The author gave us a lot of information about the characters, but it was relayed as information that was confusing with talking about so many characters and very little interaction between them. Once the characters began arriving at the beach house it was considerably more interesting and made me want to finish the book. I don't think I would attempt another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    This was not the "easy and enjoyable" read I was hopin

    This was not the "easy and enjoyable" read I was hoping for. The other created three wonderful characters, but from beginning to end, nothing seemed to go in their favor. This book was very engaging the entire way through, but I only kept reading because I hoped the plot would take a turn. It didn't....each character just unveiled more and more hardships as the book continued. I wouldn't recommend this book to someone looking for a light read about Maine in the summertime. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Good Read

    it was a little too angry for me, but a good story anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Loved the character development. But very disappointed with the

    Loved the character development. But very disappointed with the sudden ending that left no closure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Ok

    Good character studies but not a great ending....sequel coming
    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    xsa

    xsa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Zez

    Hello

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Hard to like characters, disappointing resolution

    I did read Sullivan's "Commencement" and liked it enough. I read "Maine" after it was recommended in the BN Weekly Review. This book just didn't do enough for me. The characters were all too flawed, emotionally crippled, and none likable enough. The story wound slowly through familial conversations and remembered histories. Not an exciting plot. Not a good resolution in the end. An unhappy family sharing a summer home in Maine. The happy times were long ago, if ever. The matriarch is carrying lots of baggage and cannot relate well to her children and grandchildren. The only character who seemed to at least attempt to hold it together was the long dead grandfather. Secrets come out when too many family members show up at the beach house at the same time. And there is no real catharsis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    So good but .......

    I really enjoyed this book and it was a quick read, but the ending was really bad. No closure, in fact I searched to make sure my version was complete! Bummer .........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    ?

    Cccc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4