BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Maine

Average Rating 3.5
( 333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Well written and true to life

I loved the detail and description of the character development. J. Courtney Sullivan weaves words seamlessly to paint a picture for her readers. The Maine property was both the protagonist and the antagonist in this story. I'm baffled the readers that panned this novel...
I loved the detail and description of the character development. J. Courtney Sullivan weaves words seamlessly to paint a picture for her readers. The Maine property was both the protagonist and the antagonist in this story. I'm baffled the readers that panned this novel did not catch that. The only thing constant and unchanging was the cottage. It was the cottage that brought forth the four women characters' personalities and baggage.

It as a shame that the characters could not recognize that life is too short and they should forgive each other. But that is exactly what true life is like. Real people go to their grave estranged from their blood relatives. People avoid what makes them feel uncomfortable or what is unpleasant. So Sullivan's characters were portrayed so realistically. Bravo for being so true to life and on target!

As for the ending that all other reviewers complained about. Where can a story go with such unforgiving characters. There is no ending, everyone continues on with their own life, hoping that the next time they have to interact won't be too soon in coming. And that is exactly what we all do, "life goes on." All the characters are just trying to do the best they could for the way they are. The ending could also be Alice's way of leaving this world. Maybe the voice she hears is her God's telling her "Alice? Alice. It's time."

Don't be swayed into not reading this story. It makes our own dysfunctional families look good, and makes us think that we can be better in redeeming ourselves in our own situations--always a favorable reason to read a good book. Enjoy!

posted by fi2Bme on August 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A disappointing end

I thought the author developed strong female characters with a lot of baggage. Unlike "Commencement" where the ending seemed rushed, "Maine" simply had no ending. I was so disappointed with a lack of closure, I am left assuming the author will continue with these charac...
I thought the author developed strong female characters with a lot of baggage. Unlike "Commencement" where the ending seemed rushed, "Maine" simply had no ending. I was so disappointed with a lack of closure, I am left assuming the author will continue with these characters in a sequel-otherwise I am to wonder, what was the point?

posted by Anonymous on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Well written and true to life

    I loved the detail and description of the character development. J. Courtney Sullivan weaves words seamlessly to paint a picture for her readers. The Maine property was both the protagonist and the antagonist in this story. I'm baffled the readers that panned this novel did not catch that. The only thing constant and unchanging was the cottage. It was the cottage that brought forth the four women characters' personalities and baggage.

    It as a shame that the characters could not recognize that life is too short and they should forgive each other. But that is exactly what true life is like. Real people go to their grave estranged from their blood relatives. People avoid what makes them feel uncomfortable or what is unpleasant. So Sullivan's characters were portrayed so realistically. Bravo for being so true to life and on target!

    As for the ending that all other reviewers complained about. Where can a story go with such unforgiving characters. There is no ending, everyone continues on with their own life, hoping that the next time they have to interact won't be too soon in coming. And that is exactly what we all do, "life goes on." All the characters are just trying to do the best they could for the way they are. The ending could also be Alice's way of leaving this world. Maybe the voice she hears is her God's telling her "Alice? Alice. It's time."

    Don't be swayed into not reading this story. It makes our own dysfunctional families look good, and makes us think that we can be better in redeeming ourselves in our own situations--always a favorable reason to read a good book. Enjoy!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Family Drama

    The Kelleher family is a close Irish Catholic family. Every summer they reunite at the family cottage off the coast of Maine. One particular summer four of the Kelleher women are privately battling issues. Some of these issues are between the adult Kelleher children, but some are within the Kelleher matriarch herself. Of course, there are many issues within the Kelleher family, as with all families.

    Family dysfunction is an old issue, a common issue in itself. In "Maine", J. Courtney Sullivan writes of this in a straightforward way, taking the Kelleher family and all of their problems head-on. Tradition and denial don't mix, or make for happiness on any level.
    There is sibling rivalry, unplanned pregnancy, religion, and alcoholism, among other personal and family dilemmas.

    Maine is a good depiction of a typical dysfunctional family who gets by year after year, by maintaining what they know of each other and themselves, holding on to the past and history because it works. The sorrow and pain in these characters is palpable. They are their own worst enemies, just as in real-life.

    J. Courtney Sullivan gets it right when it comes to family dysfunction and the family dynamics of it, like it or not.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Excellent read!

    I thought this book was great.
    I agree with one of the reviewers that the beginning was a little slow, but once I got started, I couldn't put it down. I think that the book was left wide open at the end and I hope that this means that there will be a sequel.
    Great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Memorable story about an IRISH CATHOLIC family

    Really enjoyed this book and all of the characters- author was great at developing each character and it was difficult to put down. If you are Irish Catholic, you must read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Enjoyed this book

    I really got into this book. I love reading about multi-generational family women. It gives me insight into how the minds of women work in relation to their mothers, grandmothers, and children. I think the more we can see things through the eyes of others, the more empathetic we can be. I always hope, when I read a book like this, that I will learn about and be able to apply that learning to my relationships with the generations of women in my own family. This was a good read; I could identify with the women--the grandmother is where I am right now. But, I could also relate to the relationship from the eyes of the daughter and of the granddaughter from when I was those ages. The younger generation longs for independence, the parents always want to be able to share their own experiences so as to spare some heartache and mistakes for their children. The only thing I didn't like was that it seemed to me that the ending was abrupt. Maybe it wasn't. It obviously, had to end somewhere, and it was obvious that the end was getting near.Don't know how else the author could have ended the book. Just seemed abrupt. But, YES, I would recommend this to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Loved it!!!!!!

    The story reminded me soooooo much of my extended family

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Had a clear picture of places and characters from the beginning.

    Had a clear picture of places and characters from the beginning. Seems we all know someone like these quirky, troubled characters, which made them feel somehow comfortable and familiar. Good story and uncomplicated writing made for easy reading . A little humor thrown in, too. This was a good book - try it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Enjoyable and easy read.

    Enjoyable and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Loved it!

    As one of a large family of Irish sisters a lot of it hit home. The fact that it was so local to where I live made it all the more fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Great read

    Families are complicated! I really enjoyed these flawed yet real characters especially Alice - her back story is spot on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book. It was so absorbing and the characters so rea

    I loved this book. It was so absorbing and the characters so real. The ending however was like you hit a brick wall and it was confusing. My sister and I both interpreted it differently. Very abrupt ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Good book

    I enjoyed the book & the characters. What a mama!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    nice!!!!!!!!!!!!

    nice!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Kev

    No, at Nathaniel Hawthorne i told them both that he was not allowed to bite her without my permission due to the vampire code. (Im second in command i the vamp rp. Logan is first, but when he isnt on, i take that responsibility) He still bit her anyway. I reported her cuz she called me a loser and wouldnt listen to me when i told her. Its not my fault. She asked to be bitten, but i told them not yet. I needed to ask Logan who isnt on. They disrespected me AND the vampire code. Im sorry if i disrespected you in any way shape or form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    A bg A good summer read w

    Vvgoo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4